We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Looked forward to revisiting the lakes so we booked the rumdoodle for the two night offer. As pointed out in another review we were met by the neighbour as arranged by the owners. Our room was a small double with a kingsize bed which left little room to move around and a small round table in the corner getting in...

3Thank ian r
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Two poor reviews from guests on special deals makes me wonder whether we should keep doing theses offers. It seems on chatting to guests that they are looking for a Premier Inn type experience and the individual character of Rum Doodle means nothing to them. As mentioned below Emma and I had to leave the business in the hands of...

Reviewed 25 October 2014

Stayed here for one night with husband and baby. The room was lovely (Room 8) and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was faultless and the location is great with ample parking at the property. All in all, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

Thank Sarah T
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We're delighted you appreciated the unique charm of Rum Doodle - it's a pleasure to welcome such discerning, happy, guests - and so pleased baby enjoyed the visit too! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Was really looking forward to visiting rum doodle especially after reading the reviews. We were met on arrival by the neighbour Steve which we had arranged with Emma the day before, lovely man showed us our room and made us a coffee and piece of cake,. The room - ground floor king size which was in fact 2 singles pushed...

1Thank Ronnaze
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We're so sorry you found Rum Doodle below par. We had very pressing personal reasons to be away from the business for a week, hence we were not on hand to welcome you - and Steve kindly held the fort for us. Apologies that our staff omitted to put petals on your bed - we realise that for those on...

Reviewed 21 October 2014

Well, where to start is the question?? Ok so the location is great, it's about 5 minute walk to Windermere and about 10 minutes walk to Bowness. The Rum Doodle is set off the main road on a lovely quiet street, perfect and very easy to find. We stayed in room 4, this is a lovely room with a double...

2Thank tracey a
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

...and what a fantastic review! Thank you so much - we're really delighted you loved your autumn stay with us at Rum Doodle.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

My husband and I booked this by chance. We like to try and have a nice break just the two of us at least once a year. it was a Joint anniversary/bday get away. What can I say? We booked room 3 at first which is a small double. It was lovely but my husband is over 6ft and kept...

1Thank karen B
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for that lovely review, we're delighted the room change worked better for you and that you enjoyed Rum Doodle so much!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Stayed for two nights in Constant ( hope I've got the name right! ) room 7, the accomodation was lovely and themed to the book, The Rum Doodle of which a copy is left in your room for your enjoyment. We were welcomed on arrival with tea & cake, which was delicious. The property is well situated for both Bowness...

2Thank loopy058
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for that lovely review! We're so glad you appreciated Rum Doodle's quirky and quaint traits so much. Yes, this hot weather has been a real surprise and we've been busy switching down the room radiators - long may the warm autumn continue!

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We stayed for 2 nights mid-week and found everything very pleasurable. The owners, Emma and Gregor were both lovely (though only spoke to Gregor on the phone) and it seemed to me like nothing would have been too much trouble had we asked for anything. The rest of the staff were really friendly too. Upon our arrival we were shown...

3Thank Lisa W
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It's a blessing that the little moans are few and very infrequent! We do work hard to make Rum Doodle extra special and feel really grateful when the positive differences we offer are truly appreciated.

Reviewed 6 October 2014

We stayed two nights at the end of last week in room 5. We found it well positioned between Bowness and Windermere and could walk between the two which meant we could leave the car which was great. Breakfast was great although the room in which it was served was a bit cramped and hot when full. The bedroom was...

1Thank Yvette D
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Interesting review. We run the Living Social deal through the winter to cover costs and keep our staff in employment, so it really is an exeptional offer and not one we can afford to do all of the time. Our dining room windows do open, so if you'd mentioned you were too warm we could have opened a window for...

Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. We were well looked after. Breakfasts set us up well for the day - banana porridge is to die for! Was on the ground floor and one night some of the other guests were rather noisy, but this was hardly the Rum Doodle's fault and wasn't repeated after a note was left by them the following...

1Thank tripperjohns
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed it - apologies for any unusual noise. Apparently, on the night in question one couple of a group staying with us had lost their key and were trying to get their friends to help! Usually our Rum Doodle guests are very considerate of each other.

High Wycombe
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely long weekend there. Warm and friendly greeting. Within easy walking distance for Bowness and Windermere. Loved the themed room. Room very clean and the service was good. Had the choice of breakfast in our room as well as the main dining room. Excellent breakfasts. Definitely would recommend to my family and friends.

3Thank Chiefbottlewasher
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi right back! Thank you so much and hope to welcome your friends and family to stay with us here at Rum Doodle.

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (280)
Dining (24)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Room/Suite (97)
View from Room (7)
Bathroom (6)
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (34)
Room/Suite (26)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,316 reviews
1.1 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
672 reviews
0.2 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
291 reviews
1.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 7,326 - ₹ 10,948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in The Summit”
  • Bedroom - The Summit
  • Sitting Room - The Summit
RedSoda, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stopped in the 'Summit' room, which is located on the top floor which was excellent.”
500stephl, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for one of the superior rooms if you can.”
KatyL102, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger/better bathroom”
edinburgh103, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 9.....Deep roll edge bath.....centre taps.......Brilliant....!!!”
783nickp, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates