We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Oak at Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak at Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak at Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 536: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

After walking out of the pretentious Lodore Falls Hotel restaurant for their poor attitude, we decided to drive into Keswick and came across this Inn. We felt totally soothed from our bad experience at the Lodore by the fantastic service we received. The food portions are huge, the service fast, the staff very friendly and helpful and they clean the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4explorers
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review, very much appreciated. I so glad that you ended up with us and that you had a pleasant experience after a day of exploring the North Lakes. Next time you're up this way we hope to see you again. Mark

kendal
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Although there are many good points about this hotel we had a very disturbed night which spoiled the whole experience. This was not because of noise in the hotel but outside in the main square which our room overlooked. Around 2am the local nightclub evidently emptied to the square followed by a sustained period of very loud and offensive language...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank martinwilbur
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Martin I appreciate your comments and I can understand your frustration. I too get frustrated with the seemingly oblivious ignorance of some of the service vehicle operators but gratifyingly it is more the exception rather than the rule, and it is, as you said, outside of our control but we should have supplied you with the earplugs, apologies...

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

This place is worth 5 stars, if you're in Keswick this is the place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights and would happily stay there again for a pub it's like a hotel we was really impressed. The staff are so pleasant and helpful and really do make you feel welcome. The room was spacious, modern and clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahnfranky
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Sarahnfranky What can I say.....your review has just put a huge smile on everyone's faces and Chris is made up that you remembered his name. Hope we see you again soon Mark

Ibiza Town, Spain
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Arrived mid afternoon greeted by helpful and friendly staff .First time we have taken our dog to a hotel and we could not have been made to feel more at home .Room although small ,was clean and comfortable .We ate in the restaurant and I must admit could not fault a single thing food ,service ,ambience, excellent .Breakfast ,we both...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lou w
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you Lou I really appreciate your lovely review of our hotel, makes it all worthwhile. Mark

Ewloe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Good food in a pleasant atmosphere at the Royal Oak, with a good selection of real ales on tap. Staff are friendly and attentive. We all had the steak, which were cooked to our various liking from well done to rare. It can get busy in Keswick, especially at weekends, so I would recommend booking at least a day in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cestrian71
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Cestrian thank you for the nice comments in your review, they are very much appreciated. I very glad to hear that you all enjoyed your steaks and ales. Mark

Allithwaite, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The best thing about this hotel is it's staff...they deserve five stars. Good central location,lots of attention to detail and a superb full Cumbrian Breakfast. The only reason we have not given 5 stars is that the room we were in (room 5) we found a little bit small,but all fine otherwise

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric L
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks Eric for the lovely comments about the staff. Next time you're coming, ring us directly and we'll go through the room options with you, as we have some rooms that'll have you wanting to give us 6 stars. Mark

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Went to the royal on wednesdayhad a lovely meal with top rate service.staff really helpful and polite. Also sells real ales which is a big plus for me. Lovely setting for a quiet break .Will recommend to my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james j
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you James I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit and that you like our range of ales. I'm a bit of a real ale fan myself so I get the importance it can have on venue choice. Mark

Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stopped here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay we had a very comfortable stay and a very good breakfast, we had a drink or two in the bar in the evening and met some very friendly and interesting locals, we also had a delicious meal at very reasonable prices. Very old world and full of character, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aub_uk
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words in your review, very much appreciated. Mark

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

We weren't expecting the ritz when we booked this hotel.However the staff here made us feel like royalty.Rooms spotlessly clean and a breakfast to die for.This hotel is first on our list when we next visit the lakes.this hotel is bang in the centre of Keswick so is near to all the good bars and restaurants.If we had stayed another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john-and-mandy
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you John and Mandy, for the fantastic comments in your review. Sorry it's taken me a while to respond, but I've been on hols myself. I certainly hope we see you again soon and that you try our restaurant next time too Mark

Newcastle
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

We had two meals here - steak and ale pie and prawn pasta. Steak and Ale pie was nice and around £12 for a decent plateful, I had prawn pasta which was nice but for £13 Id expect a decent plateful and I didn't get that so was disappointed. The meal was tasty but nothing amazing. Also the waitress asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TB1971
TheRoyalOak_Manager, Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review

Hi TB Thank you for the review. Apologies that the seafood linguini did not appear as generouly portioned as the steak pie, which is a hearty meal. And, I must apologise for the comment made by the waitress regarding your change. I do hope you come back and try some of our special fish dishes. Mark

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
472 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
685 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.2 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
453 reviews
7.5 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 6,640 - ₹ 10,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick
The Royal Oak At Keswick Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak at Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't eat here”
 of 5 bubbles danieltT9558ZH, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only here for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles Scrubber077, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the acorn room”
 of 5 bubbles lambchops2015, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles ourshez68, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a slightly bigger room if staying for a while as small are tiny.”
 of 5 bubbles angry_customer844515, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay