We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 481: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights this weekend with family from Australia. Staff friendly and very relaxed with the kids in the bar area both evenings. Food good, rooms nice, overall an enjoyable stay by all 8 of us. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Alison, great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We hope the rest of your holiday in the area was just as good.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was my second visit here and I was not disappointed still as good as first time. Great just a relax and have some very good food. Will be back again next year. Great base for walking and short drive to Keswick for some shopping of a few drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynholgate
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kathryn, We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again! We hope the rest of your visit to the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

spent last Saturday night here ... I couldn't fault it at all ... room more than adequate with tea and coffee available ... booked a table in restaurant lovely meal for 2 of us and wine £60!!! ... breakfast included in price and very good indeed. Thanks to all concerned

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Phil, It was a pleasure having you here and we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stopping at the inn in the valley, and they recommend the kings head for our evening meal. Lovely place as you go in all olde world decorations very pleasant. Staff very friendly and polite good food choice as well. I had the homemade steak & kidney pudding, wow what flavours with the meat so tender accompanied with boiled potatoes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review John, It's great to hear you have enjoyed your meals, atmosphere and service at our Inn! We hope you've had a great time in the Lake District and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

I spent a lovely Saturday night here in a single room. The staff were polite and the rooms quant and cosy. Plenty of room for me, although the bathroom was cramped. Nice big car parking area, good breakfast and the food served in the evening was good too. Huge portions. The wifi signal was poor throughout the hotel and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JakeT1992
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's great to hear you have enjoyed your stay and would recommend us in the future, thank you for your kind comments on our staff, rooms and meals. Due to the age and location of the property, we are at the moment unable to install double glazed windows but I hope this...

Longridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

My wife and I booked the Kings Head for one night on a last minute cheapie. The welcome was efficient and friendly and the first impression was of a cosy and warm country pub and so it proved. Apart from the bedroom. I won't dwell on this because the price really was very cheap but it did feel a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us Simon, It's great to hear you have enjoyed a warm welcome and delicious food at our inn. I'm sorry the room you were in was a little on a small side, we do tend to give the bigger rooms out on the first come first served basis so the smaller rooms are...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Husband booked a one night stay in this old coaching inn for a treat as we hadn't been to the Lakes in sometime. We couldn't book in until 3:00 PM so we did a bit of shopping first. Reception staff were friendly and took us up to our room. Four poster bed and roll top bath. Beautiful view from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Judy, It sounds like you've had a perfect little break in the Lakes! Thank you for your kind comments on our food and accommodation (and views!). I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your time in the area and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Called in here for food on Thursday 10th November 2016 as we were staying nearby. The kings head hotel is part hotel and part public house and we had a lovely 2 course meal here..not overly priced for the quality of the food served. I had a salmon and mackerel terrine starter and my girlfriend had melon with sorbet, both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much John, It's great to hear you've enjoyed your meals with us, thank you for kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Just returned from a nights stay at this beautiful hotel. Food was excellent evening meals good selection reason.ably priced. Breakfast was fantastic. Staff couldn't be friendly or more helpful. Lively co.for table lounge areas that big log fire heaven after a long walk. Will definitely return. Well worth a visit good value. Ace dry is breathtakingly. Only fault while the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianeandgordon
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much guys! We're really happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments on our staff, meals and atmosphere of our Inn. I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Small single room ( old building ) with very small bathroom. Hairdryer not kept in room due to them going walkabouts I was told which seems a shame. Clean and comfortable Very hot water radiator and fantastic log fire in an evening.in downstairs lunge.. Very friendly staff, hardworking bar staff. Good service and polite and friendly Enjoyed the good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisstng
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us chrisstng, I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us and made most of the log fires and delicious home cooked food! Please note our rating is awarded by VisitEngland, it is not self rated. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, breakfast and location - we certainly hope...

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
165 reviews
7.7 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
416 reviews
7.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
647 reviews
1.4 km away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
254 reviews
7.4 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#44 of 177 in Keswick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 4,096 - ₹ 9,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
19 days ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 day ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask the lovely waitress for orange if you need marmalade...she brought marmite !”
 of 5 bubbles lizziejane119, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as far as I could see all rooms were on the same floor so not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles 92philn, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just relax and enjoy.”
 of 5 bubbles Dianeandgordon, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Expect rooms to be on small side.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisstng, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms, as far as I am aware, have views of the surrounding fells”
 of 5 bubbles supersleuthEngland, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay