We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Inn on the Square

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn on the Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 520: English reviews
Start your review of Inn on the Square
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back. Hotel and rooms are really modern and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Food top class, and there's not a better place to have the hotel in Keswick. Parking £2 a night..in local ( 2mins away) car park ; you get a permit from the hotel. Beds comfy, Large TV. Our room looked out onto the mountains. Woke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Oxhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited on a one night stay. First ipressions good, smart looking hotel, definitely not your average Lake District/hill walkers stopover. Easy to find, and parking available in a couple of local car parks for £2 per night. You have to pay to park in the short stay first though, then check-in, sort out a parking voucher then move your car...it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGH1970
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We got a discounted room as we were attending a Xmas meal at the hotel . The room was outstanding with everything you could possibly think you needed in it. All mod cons and very comfy beds. Breakfast was very good and staff friendly. Only downside is the parking or lack of it, parking in Keswick is limited and expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katep74
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Your feedback is much appreciated. Next time you book, we also have parking permits available at reception. Hope to see you soon.

Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here on a Friday night as an early valentines treat. Great service , beautiful food ...especially the scotch egg starter !! The drink was a little expensive but slightly cheaper wine if bought by the bottle!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GaylenMark
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Brilliant comments. We're also very fond of the scotch egg!!! hope it won't be long before your back.

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

So in the Lakes most people have to decide which of my best dirtiest fleece will I wear for dinner tonight - not here this venue would be posh if you had landed in the Smoke. What a pleasure to find great cocktails, a sophisticated venue and great food in a Cumbrian town. Jonny met us and he runs a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CatherineTh0mps0n
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. I will pass them onto the team. See you again soon. Best wishes

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 1 night midweek just as a break away for my wife and I. The hotel is fantastically located right in the centre of Keswick with private parking at the back (£8 supplement). The room was spotlessly clean and is done to a very high standard in a contemporary style. We didn't have an evening meal here as it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al_and_Gill_Booth
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Great feedback. You will be pleased to know the breakfast supplements will be removed from 1st March. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just home from an amazing stay at the inn on the square! Not a single fault! The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings were stunning and the food was out of this world! Cannot wait to return 😍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarahsmith159
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

What a lovely review. we'll be sure to keep up the hard work. Can't wait till your next visit.

Wark, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was fantastic ,great staff excellent food . The only thing that spoiled our stay was the bedroom was at the back of the hotel Facing a car park and a pathway and the noise was terrible at night.The bedroom its self was beautiful .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda B
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. Please call the hotel directly when you wish to book again, the team will be delighted to discuss all bedroom options with you. We have some rooms overlooking the town at the top of the hotel that are much quieter.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for cocktails and drinks on 16 February - we hadn't been for a few years, since this was The Queens hotel. Wow, what a difference - greatly refurbished to an extremely high standard. Our cocktails were wonderful as was the round of beers. We had a couple of snacks with hand cut chips too. A special mention to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison A
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Always great to hear of the team going the extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your comments. Thanks again.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for a morning coffee with a friend. Sat in window seat in bar area , one other person in at the time. There were coffee cups and spills on the table, the cups were removed but not the spills. Ordered two coffees and waited ages for their arrival. Eventually they arrived and we asked, politely, if the table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 43S
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your visit was not to the standard you expected and what we strive for. I will be sure to speak to the bar team to improve their service and standards. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further. gm.innonthesquare@lakedistricthotels.net I hope you will return again.

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.3 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
566 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
702 reviews
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
420 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,970 reviews
4.3 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA 4 star awarded Inn on the Square is designed for laid-back luxury escapes in the middle of the Lake District. Imagine modern Scandinavian design mixed with a love for all things Cumbrian - our family-owned hotel simply oozes comfortable indulgence. The handy central Keswick location means that everything is just outside your door - from shops to bars, restaurants to typical Keswick sweet shops. Derwentwater lake is only a 10 minute wander through the town if you feel like having a paddle, taking a boat ride or simply enjoying the views. With 34 modern bedrooms, a chic lounge bar and our very own Brossen Steakhouse - it's perfect for romantic weekenders, fresh-air seeking walkers or people who simply love the Lake District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Address: Market Square, Keswick CA12 5JF, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 9,028 - ₹ 17,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn on the Square staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
3 months ago
St Albans, United Kingdom
over a year ago
10 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Inn on the Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a bedroom facing onto that car park and that path .”
 of 5 bubbles 47lyndab, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'd choose one of the higher rooms to ensure a good view”
 of 5 bubbles RhianL607, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms lovely herd wick ..”
 of 5 bubbles 437debbie, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Herdwick room if you have a dog”
 of 5 bubbles currygirl2014, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in a Herdwick room, watched over by a sheep 😊”
 of 5 bubbles DaveT280, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5