We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grange Country House

TripAdvisorUS$ 141*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 141*
US$ 141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Grange Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Grange Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a short break here in October. The room was large, well furnished and had a wonderfully comfortable bed. It was a corner room and gave great views of the hills around Keswick. The whole house is very well maintained and furnished to a very high standard. The dining room has a large panoramic window and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fogg62c
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A great place to stay and very reasonable price for what you get. Large rooms with stunning views of the hills and gorgeous comfy bed. There is a wonderful breakfast room with very large windows to admire the view. Clean, warm and cosy. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Very disappointed as we had booked the best room in the house but it was not as described in the the web site. The towels were dirty. The plumbing only provided very luke warm water. Host was stilted in their welcome. Had better stays in much cheaper places. Will not be going there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cginko
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this review

Are you sure this is us?? I cant believe your description but would certainly like to find out more. Could you get in touch please. Sally and Mark

uk
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Really friendly, we'll run and clean comfortable guest house. The breakfast is delicious with a great choice. They're excellent if you have any allergies - gluten free etc. The fruit salad at breakfast was delicious. They have free coffe and cake in the afternoon which is a nice touch, especially if you have been walking. The only downside was our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmct
Derbyshire, UK
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Couldn't fault our stay here, a warm welcome, room with great views and lovely breakfast. Nice walk down the hill to town, plenty of car parking and easy to find from main road/motorway. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zipzo-uk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Completely amazing stay... welcomed by name after a long drive (really lovely touch and made us feel very welcome), Really helpful hosts with a lot of information to help us. Short walk into town (big hill on the way back! But can drive if you have had enough of walking!), Lots of places to eat in town, but will need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Affy280
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed in room 6 for 3 nights in August. It was a very pleasant experience. The owners were helpful and welcoming and the girls in the dining room were delightful. Our room was lovely, it had a spacious en suite and lovely views. The breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was plentiful. The location is fabulous, only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarie1708
UK
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Grange is very nice hotel in a quiet location about 15 walk from the town centre. The breakfasts are first class and the room was large and comfortable. The en-suite was small but adequate. The guests lounge is attractive. The reception on arrival was friendly with cake and tea.. The views from some bedrooms and the dining room are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brinuk
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The house is beautiful just like the photos, the room is very clean and pleasant with lovely views. The house is quiet and peaceful tucked away from the centre of Keswick (10 minute walk but hilly). The owners aren't always there but very friendly and helpful. Would go back and visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia B
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments, we cant stay in 24/7 but we do have two lovely ladies Ania and Rika who have worked here for six years and can help customers with anything you need to know. (within reason!)

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We arrived about a hour before check in time. All doors were locked, ringing the bell achieved nothing. We noticed a small sign in the porch saying, we was permitted to leave our car there, if we wanted a walk in to town. The road in to Keswick is VERY steep (so steep that the pavement is actually stepped). When...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ronnie57L
grangemanager, Owner at The Grange Country House, responded to this review

Mmmmm, I really think you were looking for a buzzy town centre, branded hotel with a bar and restaurant etc. What we offer a lovely quiet and friendly family-run Bed and Breakfast, so I guess it depends what you are looking for and that it pays to read all the comments and constructive advice on Tripadvisor before you book!! The...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.2 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
591 reviews
1.1 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.8 km away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 175 in Keswick
582 reviews
1.1 km away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Address: Ambleside Rd | Manor Brow, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 8,157 - ₹ 9,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Grange Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick
The Grange Country House Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grange Country House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Grange Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The website makes clear which rooms have the best views”
SMayes, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5. This has a good view from the side of the hotel. Good sized bedroom and bathroom.”
495celested, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 9 has a lovely velux window with views of the hills!”
chloexox195, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room three has an amzing view.”
paul7880083, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms that myself and my friends stayed in were excellent”
lou4406, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 141* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$ 141
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates