We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Keswick

TravelocityUS$ 34*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 36*
US$ 34*
US$ 36*
US$ 36*
US$ 34*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived not sure what to expect after reading about the building work going on and apart from the noise sometimes had a pleasant 2 night stay although I overdid the walking and found the climb to the room on top floor a struggle. Found the staff pleasant and breakfast and lunch were good value for money and hopefully I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback Mike; all the staff empathise with you about the climb up to the top floor - it keeps us in good shape though and the views from the third floor out onto Skiddaw and Causey Pike are worth the effort! We're glad you found the breakfast to be of good value - we do believe...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Great location in the centre of Keswick. It has a brand new self catering kitchen. Friendly staff. The place was kept clean. There is still a lot of building work going on, which is a bit disruptive. There is some building noise during the day. But the builders/decorators etc. seemed friendly and the site manager was asking me what I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachorse
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your recent stay with us. We're doing all we can to minimise any disturbance caused by our on-going repairs and refurbishment following Storm Desmond and we do apologise if they negatively impacted on your time here. Still, they should be finished any week now and the hostel is...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

It been a long time since I was last in a youth hostel. (Something over 30) Some things have not changed others have. No jobs to do is good. Beds are clean and comfortable bedding supplied all good. I had forgotten just how loud some people can snore. But still had a reasonable nights sleep. Breakfast was one the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Titchynob
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Alex and best of luck on your upcoming Bob Graham Round - we'll be rooting for you! :)

York
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I have stayed here a few times before and it's a good hostel in a good location. However, it was badly damaged in the December 2015 floods, was closed for much of last year and it still really isn't in a functional state. Only the top 2 floors are currently usable. The good news is that it has a Reception,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the hostel. As you correctly state, we have been undergoing refurbishment following the recent devastating floods and this has turned out to be a huge project. During these works the hostel staff, contractors and YHA have been doing everything they can to...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Friendly staff and great location in the heart of Keswick. Once the refurbishment is completed i'm sure this will be a great hostel as it looks like a lot of work is being done. In the meantime the reception space is obviously a bit crowded but this is not anyone's fault and i wouldn't let this deter anyone from staying...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate c
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Kate, and for bearing with us through the refurbishment process. The refurbishments are now complete and I'm pleased to inform you that you were absolutely correct - it is indeed nice! :)

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Great hostel with a great backdrop of Skiddaw, right by the river too. Love how I can run straight out the door and be on top of Latrigg in 30 mins. It's very peacefully located yet only a couple of minutes walk from a lively town centre with lots of choice. The hostel staff are extremely personable and knowledgeable -...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Cheers for the feedback Alex and best of luck with all your future adventures.

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Our stay was ok, facilities are clean and it is in a good location. This hostel will be great when it is up and running, but it is currently a construction site. We were there for mountain biking and needed somewhere to store our bikes, however this facility is currently unavailable even though it is detailed on their website. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davoss155
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's nice to hear that you found our cleanliness and location to be of a good standard. We are indeed currently undergoing some refurbishment work following the devastating effects of Storm Desmond in 2015. These are scheduled to be complete in March and we're doing everything to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Really lovely staff and the rooms are nice and clean, I was happy to see the bathroom and toilets was very clean and well stocked. They are doing very well even though their whole bottom floor was flooded last year and they are now cleaning up and renovating, really good position can easily walk into the village and next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meggy285
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Such kind words! Thank you Meggy, we're pleased to hear our room was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent town centre position. Keswick is notorious for it's lack of free-parking but the spot you've mentioned is a good one; it's a good idea to chat to our crafty local receptionists if you're...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Only a 1 night stop over for a photography workshop in the Lakes....never stayed in a YHA before and was pleasantly surprised! Although work is still being undertaken following the floods, the room was clean, warm and a gave a good nights sleep, the shower was powerful and a good morning wake up and I was impressed by the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebb
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words Ruthie, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay here at YHA Keswick. Works are progressing nicely and should be finished any day now - the hostel is looking great! We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I came to do some volunteering and stayed for another couple of days because I loved it so much. It's a really busy hostel and there were so many interesting conversations to be had. I didn't bring much food with me but happily all the short stayers left tidbits like butter and cereal, enabling me to buy basics like bread...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H-M-Krish
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, Krishna - we'd be very happy to see you again at the next volunteering event! Best wishes from all the staff here at YHA Keswick.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
5.0 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
172 reviews
5.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
721 reviews
12.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
195 reviews
22.6 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 2,004 - ₹ 12,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Keswick Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
jasontonymorris, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 34* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 36
Orbitz.comUS$ 34
Expedia.comUS$ 34
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates