We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avondale Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avondale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Start your review of Avondale Guest House
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Avondale for 2 nights in March. The service was excellent, the room was clean and the breakfast was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners who were very knowledgeable about the local area. We felt very welcomed. We are planning a return visit, when hopefully it won't rain as much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstymac99
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty, thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sadly the weather has been a little drab for a week now, but the lakes did need filling. The forecast ahead is much better and in fact we are hoping to get out soon. We do feel lucky in that we have...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Avondale is in a great location close to the town centre. The breakfasts were plentiful and the couple very welcoming and helpful. Gave us a couple of tickets for half price. distillery tour. The twin bedroom had plenty of room and the whole place is well kept. ...liked our sheep called Barry!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, thank you for this lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you both. We try and support the local community, in the same way they help us, we are glad you enjoyed the Distillery Tour. Avondale Guest House is blessed with its location, close to town but on a quiet street, taking advantage of all that Keswick...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accompanied by two of my sisters, I was visiting the marvellous 'Words by the Water' Literary Festival at Keswick and Avondale Guest House was our base for three nights. The location is extremely central with the shops, pubs and restaurants of Keswick within a short walk as well as our destination of the Theatre on the Lake, however, the road...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teresa t
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

HI Teresa, What a start to our day! thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was a pleasure hosting you, it was great to meet you all and feel we have made some lovely friends. We do try hard to make all our guests experiences one to remember, starting with the basics of cleanliness and hospitality. Adding the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at Avondale midweek in February, and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. Pearl and Tony were very welcoming and full of helpful advice to a couple of Keswick novices. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and cosy, the location is great and breakfast was amazing. The little flasks of fresh milk were one of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

HI Stuart, thank you so much for your kind review. We are blessed at Avondale Guest House and its location. Being so close to town is a huge bonus, and as we are on one of the quieter streets in Keswick our Guests can be assured of a good nights sleep. Providing the basics to our Guests is important to...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

From start to finish our stay at Avondale Guest House was fantastic. We had a wonderful time in Keswick and Tony and Pearl were the perfect hosts. Their warm welcome, friendly manner and knowledge of the area helped make our long weekend a great success. Breakfast was plentiful, great choice, very tasty. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferbrow
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed Avondale Guest House, we have tried to build on the reputation we inherited and hopefully we are developing our own regular visitors as a result. As regular visitors to Keswick ourselves prior to moving here we like to think we can share some of...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Stayed at Avondale towards the end of December , it was my second visit thoroughly enjoyed. Pearl and Tony are fantastic hosts made us feel very welcome , food was top quality and tasty .My room was spotlessly clean and bed extremely comfy I slept like a log. Looking forward to visiting Keswick again and staying at Avondale

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Angela, thank you so much for this lovely review, and to think we didn't scar you ofl last time. Good food, clean room and a welcoming smile should be the basis of any Guest house, hopefully we have got that right. Avondale Guest House is lucky to be so well located to town, close enough to wander in but...

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed at the Avondale guest house with some friends over the new year holiday weekend This was my first stay at Avondale and I was very impressed The room we stayed in was spotless as was the whole house The breakfast options were very comprehensive but I settled on the breakfast special which was just right for a busy...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddyqaz
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi 'Freedyqaz'. Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Cleanliness is a major point at Avondale Guest House, and this applies to all areas. We aim to make sure our guests are comfortable and content, and try to make their stay memorable for many reasons. Providing a good quality breakfast, sourced...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Visited for a second time early in December and certainly wasn't disappointed. Pearl and Tony were both lovely hosts, the food second to none and Avondale a gorgeous little setting for an enjoyable getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn92
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, thanks once again for this kind review. Creating an environment that brings our guests back is what we strive for, seems we are getting there with you. Hopefully next time you visit we will have some new aspects to Avondale Guest House and Keswick to show you. Kind regards Tony & Pearl

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I came to stay over the Christmas period with my partner. Everything from the cozy rooms to the friendly reception suits the Lake District perfectly. Thank you do much to Tony and Pearl for looking after us and making sure we had everything we need. See you in the summer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayley_thomas1986
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Hayley, thank you once again for this lovely review. We try not to get complacement at Avondale Guest House, keeping the standards high is our main goal. If we can impress our guests enough to return then we feel we are doing something right. We hope we will see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at Avondale for the second time this year. It's always a calm oasis in the heart of bustling Keswick. As always, the breakfasts were as tasty as could be, and set us up for the long walks between mountains and pubs! We will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paval-Jay
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Paval-Jay, thank you so much for this lovely review. There is something about Keswick that has something to offer everyone, whether you are exploring the fells or taking in what the local area has to offer you will find something to bring you back. Avondale Guest House has tried hard to provide everything we can for our guests, setting...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
548 reviews
0.3 km away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
310 reviews
0.2 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
310 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award since 2012 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award since 2012. Variety of breakfast options available including Full English and Vegetarian options and is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. We provide free bottled water in your room along with fresh milk delivered daily. Rooms are currently being equipped with USB sockets for charging purposes. We offer direct booking discounts as well as seasonal special offers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: ₹ 7,195 - ₹ 7,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Guest House Keswick, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avondale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy access to restaurants , shops and pubs”
 of 5 bubbles 440DavidW, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles 657glenicef, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Everything needed is provided don't change anything.”
 of 5 bubbles jomo06, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles Lindyloupond, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Paval-Jay, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5