We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sonata Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonata Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Sonata Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from attending a family wedding in the Lake District. We booked into the Sonata Guest House for two nights. I can say with certainty that it was one of the best B&B establishments that we have ever stayed in and we have tried quite a few over the years. There are 4 rooms available to stay in....

Thank Dianne M
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Sonata for two nights in room 1. My sister and husband stayed in room 4. There was a vast difference in the quality of the rooms. Room 4 had been completely refurbished with a nice big bathroom and full bathroom suite. It was a beautiful and exceptional room. Unfortunately our room (room 1)...

Thank PaulaLittleborough
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review

Yes, your sister's room was newly decorated with additional sockets but had no more or less character than other rooms. We are a modest B&B and have not promoted ourselves as a character boutique. Just clean rooms, comfortable beds and a freshly cooked breakfast to start the day. You were in a 4-star rated en-suite room (not sub-standard) and we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for one night after taking the train up from London, but Chris treated us with the same hospitality as guests staying for a week: offers to help find places in town and around, ensuring we had everything we needed in our room, a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning to get us going. The guesthouse is welcoming,...

Thank Christine O
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed at Sonata guest house and from the moment we arrived we loved it ! What a wonderful find. Such a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble at all. Our room was extremely clean and the added touches of the extensive tea and coffee facilities plus all the wonderful complementary bathroom and toiletries added that bit extra...

Thank Gill P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The owners were very welcoming and were very helpful. They had a good local knowledge of restaurants and other activities. The room was lovely very nicely appointed. We were very comfortable with a clean ensuite. Good selection of tea and coffee in the room The breakfast and the coffee were exceptional. Very clean and comfortable B & B.

Thank nilantipeiris
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Stayed overnight on 12/08. Warm welcome. Very comfortable room, great views, lots of nice touches, good quality products etc. Excellent breakfast. Situated in quiet area convenient for town or for travelling onwards to Lakes. Well done to our excellent hosts. Sonata is a real find & we'll pass the word on. Susan & Stephen

Thank sm7merry
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Just returned from a 3 day break in the wonderful Lakes where we found the most superb B & B in SONATA . Centrally located in Kendal , which is a great base for exploring all of the Lakes many highlights , this B & B was a real find which we were tempted to keep a secret !! Lovely...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Travelling through Kendal we managed to get a room here. So glad we did!! We have been touring for 3 weeks and never have we seen such a high standard of service and quality in a guest house. Our room was refurbished to a quality standard with beautiful pillows and sheets. Whoever designed the ensuite ...I want him to design...

Thank 2Eliza_12
Adelaide, south australia
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

You can expect a big warm welcome on arrival. Don't worry too much about parking, there are parks in the street behind. Easy walk into the middle of town. Nice and quiet overnight, rooms small but very clean and cosy. Great friendly hospitality.

Thank Andrew W
south wales
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed for two night visiting relatives in the town. Tripadvisor rating was very high and we can now see why. It's a small, simply decorated guest house but the owners have added touches that are usually only found in boutique hotels - luxury bathrobes and slippers, quality toiletries, fresh milk for making tea, bottled water in the room, a...

Thank cezmund

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (3)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
958 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.0 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
629 reviews
9.8 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
439 reviews
1.6 km away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 41 in Kendal
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: ₹ 5,281 - ₹ 6,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonata Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sonata Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no tips,just enjoy like we do.”
 of 5 bubbles 975ianp, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose room 4 not room 1”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaLittleborough, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the house is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles nilantipeiris, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ROOM 4 , from what we saw all the rooms were nice”
 of 5 bubbles 86derekh, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 at the back is very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles cezmund, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5