We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

953 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 943: English reviews
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

we visted here on a group on voucher - on the voucher the price was average I would not pay full price to stay here. I really don't like giving a negative review and to be honest this is my first but I feel it is justified. The hotel was clean, we had torn bedding on our bed the slip...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gail t
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we thank you for your review, we feel our hotel has a lot more going for it than the location. Others can read for themselves on here how friendly our staff are, the quality of our dining experience, accommodation and leisure amenities. Speaking of the leisure area, we find the comments in the review a bit, odd shall we...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Spent a birthday weekend at the Riverside and could not complain. Rooms clean, modern and tidy, great location overlooking the river, free car parking and gym and swimming/sauna facilities. We had a night in the restaurant, with a 3 course meal that was included in our weekend deal that we paid for. The food was excellent and had a really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gircha
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and writing your nice review. Your comments about our staff and your dining experience have been well-received and we're very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again as well.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We went on a cheap Wowcher deal, which certainly helped towards our good impression of this hotel. Firstly, the receptionist greeted us warmly and was in no way snooty because we were on a cheap deal. We were very agreeably surprised with the size of our room, and the bathroom attached. Everything worked, including the flat-screen TV which I could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham U
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We've enjoyed reading your review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It appears that you've touched on every aspect of your stay, from checking in, to room amenities, the leisure areas and beyond. Rarely is a review so all-encompassing! Thanks again and we do hope to welcome you back again.

merseyside
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Came back yesterday from a lovely break at the Riverside Hotel, Kendal, Cumbria celebrating mine and my husbands birthdays. This was a 2 night stay which included breakfasts, dinner one evening and a lake Windermere cruise. The hotel was great, very clean and fresh, we had lovely room with a view straight onto the river, lovely to wake up to....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saltey
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your wonderful, 5-star review and for staying with us. We often think Kendal is overlooked, which is a shame since, as you point out, it has a lot going on for a little town! We're delighted that we proved a good base in which to explore the area and your review will surely be helpful to...

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Just had a 2 day stay here with my wife, with one night meal and Lake Windermere cruise also included. The hotel is superb, very clean with everything you need on site with the leisure facilities. The 3 course meal was beautiful with very tasty mushroom soup, a main of lamb cutlets then finished with cheese and biscuits. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AYoung65
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We've really enjoyed reading your review and we thank you for your 5-star rating. We aim to offer great value for money and are delighted to read that we've succeeded for you! We appreciate your comments about our accommodation, location and food as well. Thanks for saying you would stay again; we hope you do!

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here march 5-7....Stayed in room 115 which appears to be a newly refurbished area of the hotel...the room is huge! We were given a family room with a double plus a single bed...has its own dressing room (complete with a pullout ironing board and iron!) and a nice bathroom....there is also a table with 2 chairs which were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reginna Valerie D
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your nice review and for choosing to stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the newly refurbished section of the hotel. Your comments about our breakfast and leisure facilities are appreciated too. In addition to the parking directly at the hotel, we also have ample overflow parking about a 5-minute walk away. Thanks...

UK
Reviewed 8 March 2015

This was our second stay at The Riverside and, once again, could not fault a thing. This time I requested a twin room for our four night stay as it consists of two double beds and was very spacious.. The breakfast buffet was as good as ever and was always kept well stocked. As before all the staff were pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrissymay
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to have welcomed you back for a second visit and that you enjoyed yourself so thoroughly. We appreciate your comments about your breakfast and our staff as well. We will certainly look forward to that third visit and cannot thank you enough for your repeat custom. Thank you.

swift33
Reviewed 7 March 2015

This break was a Wowcher Voucher deal, I would not liked to have paid full price! The hotel is situated within close proximity to the town for shops, Museums, castle, restaurants and bars. All rooms appear to have a river view, unfortunately most of the windows have 'blown' which mars the lovely view. The windows also let in the draught...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swift33
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and posting your thoughts on your stay with us. I am sorry you had issues with the heating; everything is in full working order now. The radiators are boxed in for safety reasons. As the radiators (usually) can get fairly hot, it is safer to box them in. We thank you for all of your constructive comments...

Burniston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

We was recommended this hotel by friends. Great hotel great location once you navigate the one way system round Kendal. Food was tasty and fresh we will be returning hopefully in the autumn. For a pre Xmas break.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tetley1455
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and posting your nice, 5-star review. We thank you for your comments about the food and location. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back next Autumn/Winter. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed as part of a Wowcher deal in late January as a 21st birthday get away. We were reasonably impressed, underground parking and room was clean and bed comfortable. We did stay in January so didn't expect amazing weather, but the weather had effected the windows - condensation the entire stay so couldn't even see the river view we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucie B
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and constructive comments. We are pleased you found us to be good value but are dismayed at your comments about our food. We usually receive such high accolades for both breakfast and dinner offerings and are disappointed to have let you down during your stay. We are pleased you still had a nice stay and found...

369 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.0 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
628 reviews
36.5 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
12.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.5 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: ₹ 6,519 - ₹ 12,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new part of the building”
 of 5 bubbles ssbaby, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are opposite the river but the rooms also on the front side of the hotel are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles paulcJ4310PR, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for riverside room. 004 is right on the water”
 of 5 bubbles Gael01, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 2349Mel, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to the bridge are very noisy due to people coming and going from the railway station and passing cars”
 of 5 bubbles TarlCaboto, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5