We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Great hotel.prices where great. I wasnt expecting the ritz. But couldnt be happier with my choice. Bed was comfy. My mates loved the hotel as well.Fantastic location. Hearty breakfast. Helpful staff. Just booked for next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I booked this, as I guess most people do, because it was cheap. And for the price it's just fine. It's not had much work done since the 1970s but it really is OK: clean, safe and, surprisingly, considering it's next to a busy road, one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. It's also, very, very dark at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crgn
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Jedburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Stayed here for one night with a small group of friends on an overnight trip away. Cleanliness not in question but a bit tired and outdated. The bedrooms and decor was quite fresh and the carpets clean and well maintained. The staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient and the hotel location was only a short walk to the town centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F1dddler
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I had a twin room, it was very clean and the bed comfy. Room warm, tea & coffee making supplies in the room and if one wanted more then all that was needed was to ask. The staff were very nice, food good - the dinner menu changed each evening.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ASE_12
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We went with Grand UK and so, bearing in mind what a budget price we paid, this hotel was fine. The food was much better than most hotels we have stayed at in this price range (with a good choice each evening), although a rigid 6.30 p.m. dinner time is too early for me, personally. All the staff (I believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EtoileSanderstead
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We were taking a trip to The Lakes to climb The Old Man and decided to stay over last minute. It seems it was a busy weekend as everywhere was fully booked or out of our price range. The County Hotel had rooms available and so we took our chances. The rooms were clean and basic. As has been mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BluesNites
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Bearing in mind that this is a budget hotel you get what you pay for. No shampoo or shower gel only a small bar of soap. No biscuits but plenty of tea bags and coffee sachets provided. Clean towels and bed linen. Very small TV. Accommodation let down by the state of the bathroom. Not dirty - just very worn...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nocera1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

I am quite shocked about the latest review at the hotel I stopped their last week yes I agree it does need a bit of tlc but regarding the staff they were all friendly and helpful gave me bus time tables and train times breakfast was well perfect and the bedrooms were very clean I would defiantly stay their again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

hotel is very basic and clean uplifted by the fact that the staff were all very friendly and helpful (especially Annie). It is situated a short walk from great shopping centre and lovely walk to Kendal Castle. It is a hop and skip from the train station very handy. Evening entertainment was a pleasant surprise, very enjoyable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank june j
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 4 September 2015

I've never done a review before , but after this visit I felt i had to : We did a road trip to Scotland and booked a hotel to stop off on the way up , where to I start ! It was dirty, tired , had huge great movement cracks in the walls ,the bed was the most uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzanna E
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
939 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.2 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kendal
619 reviews
9.6 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
429 reviews
7.1 km away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: ₹ 3,991 - ₹ 7,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 303 good for a single person. Regardless of high location in the building can unusually pick up reasonable wif-fi.”
 of 5 bubbles ScotAllan, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a room on the back so cannot comment on road facing front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LazyDaisy56, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MerseysideKevin, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 109 at front of hotel was fine , but road traffic noise might annoy some people.”
 of 5 bubbles DougieB49, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles annied08, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay