We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Washington
Reviewed 9 November 2016

,,,,the rooms were warm the beds comfy and the hot shower was lovely. We were here as part of a National coach trip and all 6 of us felt the same, we had value for money. The food choice was good but was a bit bland, didn't suit me but suited others. The staff were amazing, they never stopped and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LazyDaisy56
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

stayed here last week, slept fine, room was clean as was the bed. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good, cooked cereal fruit, couldnt ask for more. Overall a great hotel for the price, I have paid more and got a lot less

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyn G
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

england
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I stayed here for one night to save me getting a taxi home after a night out with colleagues for the bargain price of £25 including breakfast, My room was a small single but was clean and tidy and did the job for the night. Breakfast was decent and staff were friendly. The hotel is old and does need a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clairefally
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is so old. The matress on which I slept with my girlfriend was horrible! I could not sleep more than 1 hour... We both had to lift up our bodies in order to turn from one side to another. The next morning we both had back hackes!! I knew that it was not a great hotel, but come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ferran O
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

stockport
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Would just like to thank all the staff at county! Had a lovely 3rd stay..yes hotel needs a facelift...food excellent. .Anne is a super star..but Michael who seems to be there 24/7 is a fantastic guy..from chambermaid (even though he won't admit) to entertainment top marks! Won't be surprised to find him paint brush in hand next visit! A huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaigeo
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very run down bathrooms need renewing chipped tiles and mould bits. Plenty of hot water at all times plenty of good quality towels. Rooms good size but curtains definitely have passed their best and window frames archaic. Front of hotel very noisy at night. Staff were very helpful nothing too much trouble, very friendly. Gets a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGH1946
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the county hotel for 3 nights. Room was nice and clean. Staff were absolutely lovely! Good nights entertainment, especially the young singer called Michael! Looking forward to returning :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

No Hot water for the whole time we were there, Monday to Friday with acoach party. The bathroom floor tiles were broken and split, Not good,! Also two wall lights with out switches or plugs. just decoration I think . Also found sandwich boxes in wardrobe. Must admit did read a report about Room 301 then I got handed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shirberthiscock
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

run down,no heating for 2 nights,springs coming through mattress,not clean,lock broke on door,was locked in for 1 hour,food was inedible had 2 buy food outside.staff were nice considering all the complaints they had 2 deal with.NEVER AGAIN.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susan T
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

So, here is how I see it. If you complain, you clearly expected more? More than a bed, ensuite bathroom and a TV? Well at the price paid I can't understand why you would expect more than I have already listed... Seriously, if you want a hotel that looks exactly like the last one you stayed in, or serves the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron S
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. It is rare to find people whose expectations are guaged against the price paid and I would like to thank you for honest account of the hotel.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
953 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.9 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
628 reviews
9.6 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
438 reviews
7.1 km away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: ₹ 2,835 - ₹ 7,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 303 good for a single person. Regardless of high location in the building can unusually pick up reasonable wif-fi.”
 of 5 bubbles ScotAllan, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a room on the back so cannot comment on road facing front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LazyDaisy56, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MerseysideKevin, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 109 at front of hotel was fine , but road traffic noise might annoy some people.”
 of 5 bubbles DougieB49, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles annied08, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5