We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Higham Hall

    | Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth CA13 9SH, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in CockermouthSee available hotels in Cockermouth
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Dining (1)
    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
     
    Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
    928 reviews
    #5 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    Embleton Spa Hotel
    486 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
     
    Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
    550 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    Overview
    • Excellent69%
    • Very good18%
    • Average4%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “lake district” (3 reviews)
    “b b” (2 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
     
    Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
    928 reviews
    #5 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    Embleton Spa Hotel
    486 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
     
    Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
    550 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    Reviews (22)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 22 reviews

    Reviewed 2 August 2017

    My third visit to Higham Hall was as good as ever. The course and visits were well planned and executed. The staff and tutor were well prepared and friendly. My food preferences had been accommodated without me having to ask. There is an ongoing plan...More

    Thank margaret k
    Reviewed 21 July 2017

    Have just attended a course led by artist Robert Dutton. It was excellent, great fun and a very good painting experience. Higham Hall catered for us extremely well, wonderful food! Comfortable and friendly and helpful staff. Thank you all.

    Thank Margaret H
    Reviewed 14 May 2017

    I have just attended the Cutting Garden Course by Louise Stoddart.It was an excellent course and I learned a great deal. It is the second time I have been to Higham Hall and I am very impressed with the standard of courses and the tutors....More

    Thank Julie J
    Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 20 June 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to review the course. Louise, one of our newer tutors, will be pleased you found her course useful. We will offer more with her in the future.

    Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

    I have come for a course once a year for years. The price is right at the breaking point for me....it's pricey but the tutor makes it worth it. The course is very supportive. Instructor Karen Quickfall is patient and very knowledgeable. The gardens have...More

    1  Thank MishaFontenot
    Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 20 June 2017

    Many thanks for your review. I agree with some of the things you say, especially about the bedrooms and bathrooms. Needless to say, we are addressing these things as means allow, and, gradually, some bedrooms are being refurbished, with the bathrooms down on our todo...More

    Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

    Poor value for money.... I wanted art tuition and to learn something! Anything! and a bit of away-from-home luxury! Distinct lack of! I learned nothing and paid over £200 for day and a half of nothing ... would have been better spent painting in the...More

    Thank chris w
    Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 3 May 2017

    We are very sorry that you have felt so disappointed in your experience of the Higham art course you attended. Your feedback has been carefully noted, as we do take all feedback we receive seriously. You were evidently expecting something different from the course, the...More

    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Portinscale
     
    Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
    928 reviews
    #5 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    Embleton Spa Hotel
    486 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
     
    Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
    550 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 32
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Cockermouth
    • Also Known As
    • Higham Hall Cockermouth, Cumbria
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (10)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Nearby
    The Derwentwater Hotel
    749 reviews
    8.82 km away
     
    Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
    550 reviews
    3.63 km away
     
    Embleton Spa Hotel
    486 reviews
    2.59 km away
     
    Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
    928 reviews
    2.52 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Bistro at the Distillery
    467 reviews
    1.38 km away
    Wheatsheaf Inn
    222 reviews
    2.69 km away
    The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
    274 reviews
    6.37 km away
    Wheatsheaf Inn
    252 reviews
    6.69 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Lakes Distillery
    991 reviews
    1.38 km away
    Whinlatter Forest Park
    540 reviews
    6.26 km away
    J.B.Banks and Son Ltd
    140 reviews
    7.69 km away
    The Lake District Wildlife Park
    555 reviews
    2.23 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Mark T
    26 April 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Higham H | Property representative |
    Hi Mark, Thanks for your enquiry. As we are primarily a residential college, we would probably not have space on a weekend night like this as we will have courses. (We have not yet published our courses for October so we... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Free wifi is available in the lounge and dining areas."
    Read review
    "Not all rooms have en-suite, but you can book one if you like. Bathrooms seem to be quite close by the rooms..."
    Read review
    "All the rooms are quiet, some have excellent views."
    Read review
    "Suspect that all rooms are good and have factors to recommend them..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing