We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Fisherbeck

    Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    US$ 154
    US$ 133
    SAVE US$ 21
    US$ 154
    Traveller (102)
    Room & Suite (44)
    Dining (14)
    Overview
    • Excellent73%
    • Very good20%
    • Average5%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “garden room” (39 reviews)
    “spa bath” (37 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Pool
    Restaurant
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Fisherbeck
    Offers & Announcements: Prices from £76 per night
    Deals (4)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Superior
      US$ 154US$ 133
      View Deal
    • Luxury Double Room
      US$ 154
      View Deal
    View all 4 deals from US$ 133
    Langdale Chase Hotel
    1,060 reviews
    #10 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Briery Wood Country House Hotel
    583 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    The Regent Hotel
    1,212 reviews
    #2 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
    258 reviews
    #11 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (547)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 544 reviews

    Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

    First time staying here but will definitely be back. The place is clean and tidy and the staff all very friendly. The breakfast is great really feels you up for the day to go exploring in the lakes. Would highly recommend.More

    1  Thank sjmoore16
    Response from GillianLane, Owner at The FisherbeckResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff are indeed an great asset and we are blessed to have them. So pleased you enjoyed breakfast....More

    Hotel's Favourite
    Reviewed 22 May 2017

    My partner booked a surprise evening here for us on short notice on a Saturday evening. The receptionist was a lovely gentlemen, who made us feel extremely welcome. The room itself was modern and warm, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was superb, with...More

    1  Thank Swanbow
    Response from GillianLane, Owner at The FisherbeckResponded 20 June 2017

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your very complimentary review and we are just pleased that it was a very pleasant surprise for you. Actually with this fantastic weather we are currently experiencing it is a fantastic place to stay...More

    Reviewed 6 days ago

    Had a lovely 2night stay . Staff great , breakfast gorgeous. The only negative was we were in room 1 this was at the top of the first flight of stairs and was very noisy. Would definitely go again but make sure we request a...More

    1  Thank June D
    Response from GillianLane, Owner at The FisherbeckResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review, which is much appreciated. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Strangely we have guests who specifically request room 1, but being right at the top of...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We visited the Fisherbeck for a short break and we were not disappointed in the accommodation or service. The room was bright, clean and roomy with fantastic views of the scenery and a quaint little pub that looks like it belongs in The Alps rather...More

    1  Thank mazza92
    Response from GillianLane, Owner at The FisherbeckResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and so glad that we managed to find a suitable pillow to rest your head. We are indeed blessed...More

    A TripAdvisor Member
    22
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    I visited the hotel in August for two nights and unfortunately we didn't get a good nights sleep on either night. The walls of the hotel are really thin which meant we could hear everything that was going on in the rooms around us. The...More

    2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from GillianLane, Owner at The FisherbeckResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review but sorry that you did not have a good nights' sleep, though having a building as old as this we have some exceptionally thick wall and when carpets are replaced, which is...More

    Langdale Chase Hotel
    1,060 reviews
    #10 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Briery Wood Country House Hotel
    583 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    The Regent Hotel
    1,212 reviews
    #2 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
    258 reviews
    #11 of 12 hotels in Ambleside
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 107 - US$ 171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
    • #3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
    • #4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
    • #4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Ambleside
    • Also Known As
    • The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside ,
    • Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside ,
    • The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (102)
    Room & Suite (44)
    Dining (14)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (70)
    Bathroom (20)
    Nearby
    Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
    258 reviews
    .61 km away
     
    The Regent Hotel
    1,212 reviews
    .52 km away
     
    Langdale Chase Hotel
    1,060 reviews
    2.37 km away
     
    Briery Wood Country House Hotel
    583 reviews
    2.59 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Copper Pot Cafe
    228 reviews
    .51 km away
    Fellinis
    1,077 reviews
    .46 km away
    Lucy's on a plate
    2,063 reviews
    .51 km away
    The Lily
    301 reviews
    .42 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ambleside Waterhead
    422 reviews
    .73 km away
    Bridge House
    259 reviews
    .84 km away
    Ambleside Climbing Wall
    175 reviews
    .38 km away
    Hayes Garden World Ambleside
    99 reviews
    .17 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    J N
    20 May 2017|
    Answer
    Response from GillianLane | Property representative |
    Hello, thank you for your enquiry. Room 1 is a double bedded room on the first floor at the rear of the property with en-suite shower and toilet facilities. All pictures of our rooms you can see on our website or we can send... More
    0
    Votes
    redman1950
    25 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from GillianLane | Property representative |
    Thank you for your question. Here at The Fisherbeck we are lucky enough to have our own private car park at the front of the property. Parking is free and we just ask that on arrival you park between the markers so that... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Ask for a room other than ,1"
    Read review
    "Room 15, front of hotel, good views,balcony with patio chairs and table"
    Read review
    "The garden rooms have their own seating areas, there are some with balconies"
    Read review
    "Garden rooms very convenient but they have stone floors so bring slippers"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing