We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 373: English reviews
Doncaster
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night in January. It was outstanding ! We arrived with my partner and our 10 month old baby. Having not booked a cot the receptionist moved us to a bigger room with a huge bed. We didn't ask for this. We didn't expect it. The lady went above and beyond our expectations and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I came to the NDGH again for our anniversary and had an absolutely gorgeous weekend. The rooms are fab, comfy beds, great views, very friendly and helpful staff and the food is absolutely excellent once more!!! A big thank you to all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't stay at the hotel, but ate at the Walker's Bar a couple of times while staying in Great Langdale. The bar was really warm with a fire going both times we went and service was very quick. we were always welcomed with a smile and I have to say the staff were really helpful with helping me find...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosieB199
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We visited the walkers bar after a long day walking. I ordered a pint of Ale and a Diet Coke, this came to £7.10, for a pint and a Diet Coke. Very very unhappy with the service, waited at least 15 minutes to be served.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigdannygeere
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Its comments like this that I do look into as the figures just do not add up. With todays technology I can revisit all bar transactions from any date and any year. We sold one pint of normal beer and a diet coke early afternoon at a cost of £4.70, and one pint of premium bitter and a diet coke...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We went to the New Dungeon Ghyll hotel for a beak , recommended by our Daughter and husband who have stayed there many times. Even our little dog received a warm welcome . Our room had wonderful views , was spotless, the menu was changed daily and the food delicious. Nothing was to much trouble, Will we return YES we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ric B
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope to see you again.

herts uk
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Used the Walkers Bar attached to teh main hotel on New Years Eve and New Years Day, excellent barman (Mark?)who was very polite could multitask and was friendly. Beer was top notch well kept and the 2 ales were very tasty. Had bar meal on New Years Day which was good , all in all a good place to while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliaHertsUk
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

We had a great new year and glad you enjoyed it, Mark is a great guy and a really good bar man. Hope to see you next new year.

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Pooped in for breakfast. Poor quality food for the price, supermarket cheap brown bread for a £4.75 bacon sandwich. Orders all mixed up and wrong which considering it wasn't busy I find unacceptable. All in all won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast, our home made bread is for dining room guests, but we do only use hovis in our walkers bar for breakfasts. We were serving guests in our dining room at the same time, so this is why there was a slight delay. Even though you were a group you all ordered individually, that...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Fantastic weekend spent with friends. Hotel was very accommodating for our group of ten. We sat together for all out meals. The hotel was already decorated for Christmas so it made it even better. Food was lovely, staff were attentive. The lounge and log fire was welcome after our evening meals, lovely to sit in a group to talk, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TC143
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and maybe see you next December.

Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

December 2015 was our 11th stay and the New Dungeon Ghyll having visited every year since 2005. We are going back this December for our annual pilgrimage to what is our favourite place in the UK. We love the food, scenery and the rooms are fantastic. Cannot recommend this enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlSixsmith
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you again, and thank you for you great comments. See you this year.

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This was our fifth stay at New Dungeon Ghyll and, on reflection, I realise that we have come away refreshed and relaxed because everything was faultless. Becky was on holiday - missed her and her dry sense of humour - but the staff were a credit to her and kept up the high standards. There aren't many places that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maire41
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review

I am back, glad you missed me but very happy you enjoyed another visit with us. Hope to see you this year.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.2 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,317 reviews
0.0 km away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
229 reviews
9.5 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
9.4 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,130 reviews
0.0 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: ₹ 8,872 - ₹ 13,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Blackburn, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Haven't stayed in a bad room yet!”
 of 5 bubbles KarenW633, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 on first floor corner, 2 Windows, very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles maire41, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a Superior room”
 of 5 bubbles TeessideTraveler, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We slept like logs in room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles DempsterD, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less wifi connectivity.”
 of 5 bubbles 364robj, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5