We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wateredge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Wateredge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 522: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Place is normally quite full for lunch, has a great view of the lake, fish and chips are just enough but extremely tasty! Great connection to the cruises that run in the lake. Good selection of ales also!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario T
Carlisle
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed the views , relaxed atmosphere, and food and room at this hotel It combines everything we look for in a getaway and the staff could not have been friendlier .We enjoyed the food in the evening particularly and breakfast was quite good too .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220sally
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Superb food for evening meal and breakfast. Fantastic spot right beside the lake. Good range of beers. Modern but still very cosy and welcoming bar and restaurant areas. Spotless and well equipped accommodation. Attentive, friendly and helpful staff - which includes the proprietor. Good value. I cannot fault the place, and definitely plan to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
Durham, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here several times but as the Inn was flooded in Storm Desmond at the end of 2015 it has been closed for months. I stayed here before Christmas now that it's re-opened, and what a great job they've done with it. The rooms are always comfortable and I was given my favourite single with a lake view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clodia94
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the refurbishment of the bar & dining area. So glad you applied for one of our Loyalty Cards as you will receive 10% off future stays and exclusive offers!

staffs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ambleside is one of my favourite places on earth and the location of this inn is outstanding We went for a drink with friends, the building and decor is fine, what spoilt it is the miserable service from the bar. I was asked if I wanted ice with my apple juice, I said no but the lady went to put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill f
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to accommodate customer preferences & apologise that on this occasion our bar staff were not very friendly. We will speak to them about this incident.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for some food and it was excellent. Quality was brilliant and really tasty. Lovely atmosphere and looked great inside. Stunning view of the lake, especially during sunset. Would love to go back and stay some time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, atmosphere & views.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It looked a nice place to eat, so we took a chance. The barman was unwelcoming, bordering on rude. The garlic mushrooms wouldn't have been out of place on a bush tucker trial!!! And the curry was slopped on top of watery rice....Yuk! What is annoying is that for just £5 more we could have had a delicious meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry you were disappointed with your meal and we have passed your comments on to our Head Chef.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me,my wife and our 3month old German shepherd booked boxing day night here for a treat after a hectic Christmas. From the second we arrived we were blown away by the incredible views and the warm welcome we received. The staff could not do enough for us and our dog. The room was big, clean,up to date and had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redhotwhite
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the Wateredge team looked after you so well.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

6 adults, 1 6 month old and a 1 year old dog all stayed overnight between Christmas and New Year. The staff are an absolute credit to the place - absolutely fantastic throughout - nothing was too much trouble , we had a table set up for every meal with a dog biscuit and Millie's booster seat all ready and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnpreston64
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were so pleased to hear that you all had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for just one night in a garden room with a patio, which was ideal as we had a dog with us- we could nip out straight across to the park opposite to run him and we were literally 20 seconds from the reception and the bar that he was allowed in. The staff were very accommodating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dog had fun in adjacent Borrans Park.

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,104 reviews
0.1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,561 reviews
1.2 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
494 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 106 in Ambleside
551 reviews
0.0 km away
Quaysiders Club Ltd
Quaysiders Club Ltd
#4 of 22 in Ambleside
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Wateredge Inn

Address: Borrans Rd | Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: ₹ 5,994 - ₹ 13,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wateredge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wateredge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wateredge Hotel Ambleside
Wateredge Inn Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wateredge Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wateredge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 28 has a great view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Clodia94, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you need to be on the ground floor you will need to be in the annexe”
 of 5 bubbles Johnpreston64, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Studio with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles AnnePhil1957, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Windermere suite or rooms 24 or 30”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Road side rooms can be noisy but we shut the window and didn't hear it.”
 of 5 bubbles Sue882013, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay