We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

TravelocityUS$ 179*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 200*
US$ 179*
Great Deal
US$ 199*
US$ 199*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 807: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the hotel itself is nice the staff appeared apathetic. There impression was that there was no real interest in the guests and they were just "going through the motions" not even a good morning when we came down. We have visited numerous Hotel du Vin hotels and this was by far the least engaging one we have stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D J
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear D J I'm sorry to read that you found the team apathetic. We take the service we deliver seriously, and your feedback will be shared with the team to ensure we improve. Best wishes,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Considering the cost of a room and dinner at Hotel du Vin, we were a little disappointed. Our room was really cute and nicely laid-out with lovely touches, as you'd expect from the chain. The location of the hotel was really good for exploring Tunbridge Wells, a short walk from the station and the sites within easy reach. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank haybelline
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear habelline Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your room - though am disappointed that you experienced some needless hassles during your visit to the Bistro and at Reception. We are working hard on these areas at the moment, and do hope we have the opportunity to show you the improvement at some point in the future....

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to celebrate my daughter's 18th - made HduV aware of this, but zero recognition, not even a "Happy Birthday". Food was really poor - both a la carte and fixed menu. Tiger prawns were mushy, pate starters really bland, pasta equally bland, octopus bland and very small portion, desert was stale. Wont be going again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grahamwstephenson
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear grahamwstephenson Thank you for your time earlier, and please accept my apologies once more for your experience. I appreciate your time on the phone, and look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Best wishes,

Danehill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I visited in March as a joint birthday treat for an afternoon cream tea. I have to say it was average/dull. The sandwiches were not great and the cake selection again was average. Not the best experience of my life. This came with candy floss. Could have been much better. Such a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meloma01825
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Meloma01825 Thank you for your review - I'm sorry you found the Afternoon Tea dull. I'd be very happy to hear your ideas and further feedback and can be contacted on james.mccomas@hotelduvin.com. Best wishes,

Crowborough
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall reasonable but not special to remember. In private room which was lovely and just right for 10 of us. Service was good. Starters of Prawns and crayfish were enjoyed as were chicken liver parfait. Mains of coq au vin, mackerel salad and burger again were enjoyed but nothing special. Deserts of Brûlée, chocolate mousse were ok but the banana...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexhL6457QI
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear alexhL6457QI Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that there were aspects to your meal that you found average. Our Chefs work hard to deliver enjoyable meals at a reasonable price and your feedback will certainly be shared. I am glad it was still an enjoyable occasion, and hope your granddaughter enjoyed it as well. Best wishes,

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service and comfort at this hotel is no longer what it was. A disappointing stay and sad that, having enjoyed the hotel a number of times before, we will likely not now return and will instead explore other hotels in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Peter W I'm sorry to read your review. I would welcome some more detailed feedback on your visit and can be contacted on james.mccomas@hotelduvin.com. Best wishes,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a standard double.... room was tiny, struggled to walk round the bed. Decor tired and starting to look tatty, shower leaked and flooded bathroom. The rates for rooms here are top wack.... rooms should be a lot better than this, average at best. Food.... really not impressed. Had to wait ages between courses and it really wasn't anything special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julia b
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear julia b I'm sorry you found your room and meal disappointing. Thank you for your kind mention of the team - I am happy to know they able to provide you with an enjoyable experience. Best wishes,

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Please do not go to the bistro for a meal. Perhaps as there were 8 of us they were unable to cope....the service was slow. The courgette fritters were the only saving dish.. Two starters were inedible.All the main meals were over cooked and dry we sent three back.We assume all our main meals had sat under the heater for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shelley H
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Shelley H I'm sorry you were disappointed with your lunch. We are proud of the service we deliver and the team actively try to ensure any concerns or mistakes are addressed at the time. In this instance we offered to replace the meals you were dissatisfied with, removing the service charge and applying a sizeable discount to your bill....

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We booked this hotel as I'd heard good things about this group and thought we'd treat ourselves whilst visiting relatives for Easter. Also loved that we could take our dog so win win. For £140 (one night stay) I was expecting more for the room. The room was TINY! So small in fact that the wardrobe door couldn't open fully...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheAlbanyPub
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear TheAlbanyPub, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. The size of our Standard Room is admittedly small - we do try to make this as clear as possible via the website and through the reservations team. It is unfortunately the result of the age of the building and the layout that...

Quenington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Situated centrally in the town, du Vin is a heritage building which is well maintained offering a choice of areas to relax. When visiting or staying in any du Vin there is a consistency in surroundings and menu, where you can either sit and relax with a bottle of wine or afternoon tea. At Tunbridge, we had a newly refurbished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdmd2015
James M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jdmd2015 Thank you for your fantastic review! It's lovely to know you enjoyed your stay, and being able to share your experience with the team is great. Thank you for mentioned Chris specifically - it was his second day with us, so it is especially appreciated! I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes,

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.3 km away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
640 reviews
1.2 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
267 reviews
0.7 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
214 reviews
0.9 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
261 reviews
3.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: ₹ 8,661 - ₹ 21,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Fountain Valley, California
5 months ago
Denver
11 months ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room overlooking gardens”
TheAlbanyPub, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a superior suite near road.”
VickyMCB, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to overlook the Park”
BF886, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure everything in the room works before unpacking.”
meltone, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in superior room overlooking the front of the hotel”
geoffreyk553, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 179* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 199
Hotwire.comUS$ 199
Hotels.comUS$ 200
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates