We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spa Hotel

0.7 km from Royal Tunbridge Wells centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 585: English reviews
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The hotel entrance looked beautiful and where we had our cream tea was decorated very tasteful. Unfortunately we cannot say that about the cream tea. A great choice of different teas. The scones were so burnt and hard I do not know how they had the nerve to serve them. It was a friends birthday and they bought out a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen c
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. We always encourage guests to raise any concerns they may have at the time, so that we may put things right there and then, and we are sorry that you didn't feel able to do so. I believe the happy birthday chocolates were inadvertently thrown away,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

I took my boyfriend here for a night away for his birthday and really enjoyed it! The entrance of the hotel is really well decorated, very modern and elegant. The spa is also very modern and fine if you're just looking to relax and have a swim. It's also close to town with lots of shops and loads of nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siobhann18
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, delighted to hear you had a great time! We hope to see you again soon.

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Spent a day with a friend here, cosy dressing gowns but they were out of slippers. Sauna, steam and swim. Delicious and filling two course lunch. Friendly staff. Enjoyable treatments. Very relaxing day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxine913
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your spa day with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a spa day with a friend and there is defiantly pro's and con's to the day.. Pro's The hotel looked beautiful, the entrance hall is decorated well. Felt quite grand. The spa treatments themselves were brilliant, both felt really looked after and refreshed. The lunch was delightful, service, food, all top marks enjoyed it allot. That's where it ends,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara W
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments and lunch, however I am sorry that you found our spa and leisure facilities disappointing. The Spa Hotel is named as such after the spa town of Royal Tunbridge Wells, and has had this name since it first opened its doors as an hotel in...

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

I was unsure as to whether to give this a 3 or a 4 star rating but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Room was booked at a few days notice and we were told that it was only available due to a cancellation. Several prices quoted over the phone for bed and breakfast but got the right price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilScam
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry that you didn’t agree with our policy for taking a small deposits for rooms. This procedure has been put in place for various reasons and I am sorry that this implied a trust issue. I am unsure which room you stayed in, however we will be commencing another phase of bedroom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Husband and I needed a bit of a break to recharge so booked a night away with our one year old. Fantastic dinner and lovely breakfast the next morning. Staff made us feel welcome and were great with our son. Well appointed room, we paid a little extra for a larger room. All in all great value and a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna J
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and were made to feel welcome.

Garden of England
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Starters good - main meal awful ... beef so bad took home to feed our animals. Staff dropped husbands risotto so we all ate our meals whilst my husband waited for ages for his ... which was bland and certainly not worth the wait and could not recommend the risotto to others .... yes they still charged us. Would I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EyeSpyaFly
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your husband’s risotto was dropped from a tray in the kitchen. Occasionally, accidents do happen and by way of apology you were given a complimentary round of drinks and the replacement was brought out approximately 6 minutes later. I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your main courses, and am sorry that you did...

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as art of a group of colleagues. After arriving there quite late in the evening, we decided it would be best to eat here (we chose the bar menu as the other one was outside our budget). MostSE1 3RU of us ordered the burger - a huge meaty chunk, which was more than satisfying and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew F
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and our Breakfast Chef has been asked to leave the crusts on in future!

Surrey. Uk
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My family all stayed at the Spa Hotel for a weekend recently as my son was getting married in a nearby venue, The Hotel is very elegant with large beautifully decorated & furnished rooms. We had a lovely room overlooking the garden. It was spotlessly clean, with tea/coffee & biscuits in the room. Plenty of drawers, wardrobe space & dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps then you can make full use of our spa and leisure facilities.

Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

The Spa Hotel has really upped its game!! We went there yesterday for an " anniversary" lunch....it was brilliant, could not fault anything. Service, food, ambience, everything was just right!! THANKYOU for a very good experience, topped with a pot of coffee while relaxing in the reception area. We will come again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable anniversary lunch. We are working hard to raise standards across all areas and it’s always good to know when we’ve got it spot on.

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
786 reviews
1.0 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
252 reviews
32.3 km away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
198 reviews
4.9 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.1 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: ₹ 6,244 - ₹ 16,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
KENT ENGLAND
over a year ago
Bromley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
11 days ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you get up early avoid breakfast, and if you do hope for the best! Don't use the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles E8351GEianm, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles zedehm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles markrC9363YA, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlook the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles louises129, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All lovely rooms however one room at the end of the third floor had a pitched ceiling that might be awkward for taller guests.”
 of 5 bubbles H3378YJmarke, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5