We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnolia House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canterbury
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Magnolia House
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magnolia House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for one night this week. From the outside it looks beautiful. We were early for our room( we had to state a time for arrival) but it was ready for us . We're shown to our room , it was small for a double ,just enough room to walk around the bed,very cluttered with chintzy bits and pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Chris B
parbold lancs
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this place through late rooms and was so looking forward to a nice break for my husband and myself. However when I rang the proprietor the night before to arrange final details ie arrival time, she was totally unhelpful (rude). She informed me that she needed to know the exact time of our arrival even though I had...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jujimParboldLancs
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you interpreted the telephone conversation in this way. We by no means ask for an exact time of arrival as this is impossible for anyone to do when travelling. We do need to know an estimated time so we can arrange for someone to be here to greet you and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 1 night with 2 rooms during graduation week july14. Canterbury gets fully booked up, so its somewhat a providers market. I didn't mind the décor, classic B+B I thought, clean room & en-suite, fitted out probably 8-10 yrs ago. It is probably not to minimalist younger tastes. The main problem, as stated before, is that the female owner...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank essex_paul_12
Magnolia House C, Owner at Magnolia House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really value all comments and suggestions. I am sorry that you had to miss a cooked breakfast but as we discussed at the time, you had to be at your ferry for 8am and therefore it would be necessary for you to be in the dining room at 6.30 to eat a...

east midlands
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The house's vibe is very much to my taste - lots of bric a brac everywhere, little interesting trinkets, plenty of drawings and paintings on the walls- but not to my wife's, whose tastes are for the much less cluttered minimalist feel. The room was a bit small for the price, but actually very comfortable, bathroom small but well appointed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Protexblue2
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We slept in the garden room, it was accessible via a small corridor, in which a dressoir was standing in the way to comfortably enter the room. The room itself was large with an even as large bathroom. All very victorian furnished, with a four-poster bed filling the room. The next morning, the breakfast was good, well prepared. But we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CHartkamp
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. The place oozes English charm is that slightly overstuffed, Victorian way. We stayed in room 6 upstairs which with heavy cases is a bit of a haul. Our room was large and in impeccable condition, decked out in a kind of Laura Ashley English Manner house style. The bed and pillows were a bit firm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a v.good quality B&B (rather than hotel). We stayed in the Garden Suite which had a large en suite bathroom. The room was spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was wholesome, cooked fresh and served hot. Located less than 10 mins walk from the heart of the town - specifically the Cathedral - so you can leave your car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike-Swiss
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here 22/23 May 2014 on a spur of the moment decision. We are so glad that we picked this delightful B&B. It is an oasis of calm yet only 10 minutes walk from the High Street. Our room at the back of the house was gorgeous, spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Everything was perfect, quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frenchfleur
Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just stayed three nights at Magnolia House. It is a charming B&B and is close to the centre of Canterbury (10 mins walk from the High Street). It is also convenient for Canterbury West train station and buses to Whitstable, Swalecliffe etc. No need to worry about what you might have forgotten to pack - a great range of toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaHEdinburgh
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I'm American but living in London, and I this B&B made me feel like I was very much in England-- in a house with lots of history, a helpful but not in-your-face owner, and a quintessentially English breakfast. Our room was cozy and made us feel like we were guests in someone's home, but with modern touches (like the very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea P

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.6 km away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
279 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
1,001 reviews
0.1 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#53 of 81 in Canterbury
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Arthouse b + b
Arthouse b + b
#32 of 81 in Canterbury
109 reviews
0.3 km away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#5 of 81 in Canterbury
82 reviews
0.6 km away
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
Bijou Abode - Chaucer House
#60 of 81 in Canterbury
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 3,652 - ₹ 4,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury
Magnolia House Canterbury, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnolia House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all excellent but room 5 is quite large if you need space.”
 of 5 bubbles ProfTW, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Get a room with plenty of windows in summer, as no air con.”
 of 5 bubbles essex_paul_12, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Pick the garden suite”
 of 5 bubbles Mike-Swiss, 28 May 2014 | Read review
“The sun came in room 5 at the right time. Comfortable ordinary double bed , not too keen on 4 posters.”
 of 5 bubbles H8915CNdavidf, 3 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Treat yourself - book the Garden Room with the 4-poster bed! It's also on ground level and has an amazing bathroom, big enough for a party.”
 of 5 bubbles Linda_JohnR, 23 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5