We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ABode Canterbury

Hotels.comUS$ 109*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 109*
US$ 279*
US$ 108*
US$ 218*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
ABode Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,683: English reviews
Start your review of ABode Canterbury
 Click to rate
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our second stay at the hotel and was not disappointed. Only an hour away from where we live but enjoyed a lovely weekend away with family and friends. Looking forward to booking again in the near future. Shops, pubs and restaurants all on your doorstep. Canterbury is a lovely place to visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I upgraded, but the room did not compare to the online representation.... very disappointing. The heating was not working and I had stand alone electric heater... was not good enough, the room was cold. The bathroom was freezing and I could not get hot water for the shower. Workmen outside my room first thing and the breakfast was terrible. I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iana950
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We didn't stay in the hotel but visited the Champagne Bar which was a lovely experience. The waiter Roman was very attentive (there were 4 of us in our party). Roman asked if everything was satisfactory and during the chat it was mentioned that it was a special celebration birthday of our friend Toots. Roman appeared later with a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileenmsmith
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived on the Friday evening, great location, very easy to find in the centre of some really nice shops. Went out to Dinner and returned and had a hot drinking chocolate. The room was lovely (215 and 216) no view as it was at the back of the hotel but the thick nets made it so that it didn't really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pioneer_roofing
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just spent a lovely couple of nights here. Spacious room with everything you need. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Champagne bar is a nice spot to chill on an afternoon and they do make fab cocktails (aperol spritz was the best I've had outside Italy). We had a small issue during our stay which was dealt with extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonomousdurhamuk
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went again to the abode, as it is a really nice place to stay with a great Central location This time 6 of us went for St Patricks day, no complaints or quips Didn't book breakfast this time as last time I thought £15 each was a bit expensive although the selection was fantastic, However two of our friends who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G J
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review really pleased that you enjoyed your stay I am sorry you were not advised that breakfast was £10 on check in, I will discuss this with the team. Best wishes Declan

Switzerland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our usual hotel in Canterbury was booked so we decided to splurge for Abode as it looks lovely from the outside. Unfortunately, it was not and I would not stay there again! The room was quite large but the bed was small and so soft that we rolled into the middle at night. The floorboards were squeaky and the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spiceylife
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I will review the room with the housekeeping manager. I am surprised to read your comments relating to the reception team as the feedback is normally very positive highlighting how friendly they are. Regards Declan

Northampton
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Abode Canterbury was very enjoyable.A beautiful and historic property in the heart of Canterbury,the quality of the accommodation was excellent as was the service provided by the staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 550dominicd
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the service you received. I will share you comments with the team. Regards Declan

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just wanted to say that the people who work at reception at this hotel are really customer orientated and to thank them for looking after our meeting participants so well during our recent meeting there. Special thanks to Ricky!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aquarius98
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for highlighting our reception team and Ricky I will share your comments with the team. Regards Declan

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel with such a brilliant location in the city. A relaxing bar area with an amazing piano player. The rooms were beautifully furnished, with a sympathetic nod to the buildings history. A lovely stay with helpful staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RKC186342
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Declan

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,090 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
396 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
261 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
1,001 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,411 - ₹ 20,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
ABode Canterbury Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ABode Canterbury staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH WEST
Romford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ABode Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back of hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles spiceylife, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the High St seems trendy, but I guess it would be noisy at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles miniman2804, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Most Enviable Room with a free standing bath was just beautiful!!”
 of 5 bubbles GAJ1234, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room where the boiler is working!”
 of 5 bubbles oliviao119, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 109* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 108
Booking.comUS$ 218
TripAdvisorUS$ 108
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates