We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Winchester Hotel & spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Winchester Hotel & spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Winchester Hotel & spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,572: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We visited this beautiful hotel for our honeymoon between 10th August - 13th August and I must say, we were delighted with our choice! We had booked a Club Room with the expectation of the bath shown on the website where we had booked. Unfortunately, upon arrival, the bath we had did not match the picture at all! It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah M
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your HEAVENLY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all SO pleased that you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay with us and that we were able to rectify this issue for you to your satisfaction. We would all like to wish you every happiness for your married life together. Paul Eaves General Manager

Reviewed 18 August 2015

I stayed here for a night for my Girlfriends birthday. upon arrival the staff were nothing but helpful( Maisy in particular) , we arrived at the hotel around 7pm and due to the fact we wanted to use the spa facilities the next day but no spa passes available they kindly gave us a later check out for free so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cokes1992
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FIVE STAR review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa ! The team will all be THRILLED. We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Me and my mum stayed here last night for my birthday after choosing one of their too good to be true deals which included a night's stay in a double room, full use of the pool and sauna facilities, dinner up to the value of £25 each, a bottle of Prosecco and a full breakfast in the morning, all for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sadie s
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I do note your comment concerning the clearing of your Breakfast table and although this clearly did not mar your stay I will certainly discuss this with the hotel team. We are all SO pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This hotel made a very good impression on me. All staff were polite and friendly, even the chap sweeping up outside looked up to say "good morning". The room was very clean and comfortable, and had good facilities including fridge and air con, lovely king size bed. Only 1 minor thing the carpet wasn't bad, but could do with replacing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Paul Eaves General Manager

Cheshire, England
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

They say first impressions are everything and our first impression was that in front of this hotel is a public coach and car park. The second impression was also not great as at the time of booking it wasn't clear that there was a charge for parking. Nonetheless we were advised by reception that for our overnight stay the public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We very much value all guest feedback and I will certainly discuss yours with the hotel team. Paul Eaves General Manager

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Booked for 5 nights. Staff from reception, bar, restaurant and housekeeping were so helpful and polite - nothing was too much trouble. With the special offers for Sunday and weekdays which included evening meal vouchers and full English breakfast it has definitely been value for money. Room is generous, bed is huge, nice to have a small fridge with chilled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank entmaiden
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and particularly your treatment in our Spa which we do feel is one of the "Jewels in our Crown". Thank you also for choosing to recommend us to others and hope to be able to welcome...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

stayed at this hotel for the night with my sisters, could not fault it very good price fabulous food, very friendly and helpful staff, also found Winchester a fantastic place to eat and drink lots of good restaurants and bars, enjoyed the place so much have book to go again at the end of the month. would definitely recommend a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcsoton
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FABULOUS review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all SO pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent a pleasant afternoon having champagne and a generous supply of sandwiches, scones and cakes. The staff were friendly, welcoming, efficient and very helpful. We would recommend the afternoon tea at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all SO pleased that you enjoyed your Champagne Afternoon Tea and hope to be able to find "time for tea" with us again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Winchester Hotel for two nights as a stopover in Winchester on our way to The Isle Of Wight. First impression was quite good. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were in our room very quickly after checking in. The room was fairly spacious and well furnished and most of all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IBYorkie
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. We very much value your feedback. I can also reassure you that the hotel has (in the last week) completely replaced its WiFi equipment to that which is "state of the art" and we have had super feedback concerning the new speeds delivered. Paul...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My wife and spent 1 night at the hotel on Sunday. It is ideally situated for the centre of Winchester, approximately 10 - 15 minutes walk from the cathedral, shopping area and plentiful pubs and restaurants. The hotel is very well furnished and clean with friendly and helpful staff. There is ample parking which is not free, £7 per full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SussexApollo
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all SO pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
924 reviews
3.9 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
572 reviews
1.2 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: ₹ 7,012 - ₹ 13,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel & Spa Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
4 months ago
Winchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms overlook the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles larry13724, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose club room or suite. Check with the hotel first as our room wassuch a long way from reception and it's like a maze.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyB48_12, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front room have views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles P9237TCdaveb, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a club room”
 of 5 bubbles 557alanj, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Was quite a long walk to room through lots of corridors so would request a room nearer to to stairs or lift access if have mobility needs.”
 of 5 bubbles 985rosep, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay