We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Winchester Hotel & spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Winchester Hotel & spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Winchester Hotel & spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,527: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very clean. Beautiful breakfast. Dinner a bit overpriced. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Couldn't do enough to make your stay a happy one. Park in the council car park directly in front of the hotel. Free from 6 pm til 8 am so make sure you are up early enough to pay by 8 am!

Helpful?
Thank HMJ2013
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Coulsdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed for 3 nights under their current Autumn Deal, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Modern, clean and with great facilities, it has everything to offer. The staff were also extremely helpful and the food (bar, breakfast and evening meal) was fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank martinldruce
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit again soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Bristol, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from staying two nights at this excellent hotel. We took advantage of their Autumn break offer and upgraded to a club room. Check in was trouble free with a large (chargeable but not expensive) car park in front of the hotel. The room was clean, perfectly acceptable with a large king size bed which turned out to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hood1941
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team will be equally thrilled. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Winchester hotel and spa for 1 night for my husbands birthday. It was also our first night away from the kids so we were hoping for a really relaxing time. Check in - perfect, room was ready an hour early which was much appreciated. Spa - lovely, shame the jacuzzi was out of action though :( Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph H
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly as this was a Birthday celebration ! We do hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for just one night, being close for our event. We travelled by train and needed bed and breakfast within walking distance. The Winchester Hotel and Spa was the perfect stop-over. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were smart, welcoming and very efficient. We used the spa facilities - pool, steam room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennie R
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa and your recommendation on this basis. We are delighted to have been of service ! Equally we very much hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the restaurant for a 40th Birthday lunch for my husband. There was a large number of us, including young children, and the hotel were able to provide us with a function room free of charge on the day. The food was good and the team provided excellent service. The functions team were always happy to help with making... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen K
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa and your recommendation on this basis. We are delighted to have been of service for your husbands 40th Birthday celebration! Equally we very much hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have previously been here for Afternoon Tea and am pretty sure last time I gave the hotel a great rating so was excited about coming back. However, it was a little disappointing. I quite often have to ask for sandwiches to meet my dietary requirements, which isn't normally a problem. I am not sure if the chef was having... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I will of course discuss this with my colleagues. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to stay at the Winchester spa and hotel while clearing out a deceased relatives house when we initially arrived it looks lovely and seems like a warm environments but that's about as far as that goes beyond that the room was so outdated and had a dirty smelly feeling about it the bathroom most disappointing and old ordered some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara E
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel - given that we fell so very short of your own personal expectations at virtually every turn. I also note that you have recently suffered a bereavement and am very sorry for your loss. Your feedback is so very much at odds with that... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights here having previously looked for hotels in Salisbury and were very glad we chose to come to Winchester and this hotel. The reception service was excellent -in and out. Our room was spacious, a super king bed and good bedding, plenty of tea,coffee milk - and bottled water in the fridge. Would probably have given a... More 

Helpful?
Thank cityl0ver
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the lovely review you have posted following your recent stay at The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. I also note that you have very kindly recommended the hotel to family and friends... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were delighted with our time at this hotel. Our package included free entry tickets to the wonderful nearby cathedral. Although we arrived earlier than the booking in time, their very helpful and courteous receptionist gave us our tickets so we could enjoy the cathedral early. Our room was spacious, very clean and well appointed. The shower was superb! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith D
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the lovely review you have posted following your recent stay at The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you feel we were EXCELLENT as we strive for excellence every day. Thank you again. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
905 reviews
3.9 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
553 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: ₹ 7,159 - ₹ 26,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel & Spa Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Cheshire
2 months ago
Winchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chichester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 on ground floor at front of hotel idea for disabled, large room”
 of 5 bubbles AnnF896, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for floors 1 or 2”
 of 5 bubbles ajscarlett, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all are much the same”
 of 5 bubbles 960stephenk, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Guests with limited movement need to ask for a room near to the lift as it is a large hotel with long corridors on 3 floors.”
 of 5 bubbles robert192, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor furthest right hand side”
 of 5 bubbles madhatter171, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay