We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 585: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro
 Click to rate
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had been looking forward to a lovely afternoon tea all week, but sadly it was a huge disappointment. The Earl Grey tea was good but took half an hour to come, which was apparently my fault as I hadn't said I wanted it with the savouries... and even after asking for it again it was another 10 mins waiting...scones ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caro908
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the Sunday brunch for a 50th birthday. 20 people in the function room. Fabulous food, great value and very personal service. An amazing day...would recommend this as a way to celebrate those special events.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NC05BUB
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband booked a table for valentines evening so was looking forward to a lovely meal we live locally but have never eaten here before. The reastuarant itself was not unpleasant but certainly nothing special very plainly set table. We were sat at the back of the restaurant where all the windows faced out onto a court yard that had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry you felt there was no value in the food you ordered on the evening, we will review your comments with the chef and the team to ensure this is looked into, I am disappointed that the creme brulee was not to your expectation, we sell over 250 creme brulees...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have never eaten here before but have walked past many times and discussed it. So, the day before, 13 February, my wife booked a table, very surprised they had one free, and yesterday evening we shared a Chateaubriand which was excellent. Maybe a little rare for my wife's liking but I thought it was perfect. I had a peppercorn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald2002
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Donald, thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we hope to see you again soon. I shall share your comments with the team. Regards Roula

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night here as a special treat. The room (one of the suites) was gorgeous. Enormous bed, crisp linen, light and airy and a beautiful bathroom with a roll-top bath. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious, if a little over-priced. The service at dinner was fine but we were made to feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJT2017
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not pleasant, please accept my apologies and I shall review this with the team. I am pleased to hear you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon Regards Roula

hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here November 2016 with my partner for one night. We had booked a standard double, but on arrival we were upgraded to a garden room. No idea why we got an upgrade but certainly didn't complain! The garden room was outside the main building and had its own front door. The room was huge, king size bed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelangel11
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i am pleased to see you were upgraded on arrival, and thank you for your positive comments. Our prices vary by season and by room type, and please feel free to contact us direct for best available prices on your next visit.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in at least 3 other hotels in this chain we were looking forward to our weekend. Although the staff were excellent the hotel was tired and very disappointing. What a shame.. the areas where they normally excel...large beds, comfy pillows and vast showers were all awful. I also made the mistake of paying extra for a superior room......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPF19
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry your experience was not up to standards, we are aware that some of our rooms are in need of refurbishment and we are working on a plan to put this into action soon. Regards Roula

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my birthday and we had planned a couple of days in Winchester. I had always wanted to give the Hotel du Vin a try. We dropped our case off mid-morning and went shopping, the hotel is conveniently close to the centre of Winchester. After lunch we hoped to have the room but they would not release it until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broadhurst
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us, and thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and i shall share your comments with the team. we are looking into changing our pillows and we hope to do so soon. For your information we do have accessible garden rooms which do not...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant is lovely and the service was brilliant. However after getting half way through our afternoon tea, we asked when we would be getting the candy floss promised on the menu. Apparently the machine has been broken for ages and they couldn't offer anything in its place because it is an 'added extra'- which maybe they should make clearer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry there was no candy floss on your afternoon tea, the machine had been broken indeed and in need of a specialised part which we have been waiting for. I am sorry this impacted your experience. Health & safety regulations prohibits us from giving away any prepared food with fresh creams or dairy...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shame, we love HdV and have visited many of the Hotels around the South. Room was great as always, lovely Egyptian cotton sheets, towels, robes etc. Nice little extras and well stocked mini bar. Breakfast was great, hot and cold. Good quality produce and friendly service. Dinner not so good, service was great but the food was really average. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Innyjim
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed that you found the valentine menu lacking in taste and value, this was one of our best deals this year and we sold over 200 covers on this menu, the wow effect was the seafood platter and 800 grams cote de boeuf for mains. thank you for your positive comments about the...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,618 reviews
4.3 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
712 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: ₹ 9,864 - ₹ 20,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Winchester, Hampshire
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't mind stairs, go for a high room.”
  • Spacious bathroom
  • Nice room
 of 5 bubbles Broadhurst, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have a hunch the rooms on the 1st floor (floor above reception) are best because ceilings are higher, windows larger.”
 of 5 bubbles rscottgill, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Road facing probably quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles fangfarrier, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try not to get a room on the street side in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles Bond32, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick the willy opitz room.”
 of 5 bubbles KathGus, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5