We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Running Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Running Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night on business and enjoyed it. The sea bream risotto at dinner was really good. I had a standard room (I didn't realise there was an upgrade) which, contrary to some of the reviews was toasty warm. There was even an electric heater if you wanted it. Strong and consistent free wifi. I've seen that the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonBarneys
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel/restaurant as a 'half-way' meeting point to catch up with friends. The welcome was warm, friendly, and the room, which was located in a chalet style ground floor block, was clean and tidy. The bar had a good selection of real ales and the food, which was delivered in good time and was hot, nicely presented, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pilot1957
Manchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Running Horse for 3 nights shortly before Christmas and were very impressed . Our room was extremely comfortable and quiet. It was a superior room and the shower made it worth every penny of the extra we paid. The pub itself was warm and friendly. The staff were, without exception, always friendly and helpful. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryManchester
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Evening MaryManchester What a glowing review it seems as if all boxes were ticked for you during your stay! We enjoyed welcoming your family for their pre celebrations and the post morning breakfast where some were very much in need of a full English! Your positive and complimentary comments have been passed on to the staff and we look...

Truro, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was not as good this time and one of the waiting staff was notably unfriendly. It may have been a bad day but when one works with the general public bad days have to be ignored. We had two rooms and one of them was very cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Travelling_Trainer As mentioned in your review on the other listing for The Running Horse, you were clearly disappointed with the service, and of course you are correct by saying that bad days need to be left behind when at work. I would like to discuss your experience with you, as it is was evidently your second return and did...

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is a lovely pub with very friendly staff. The room we had was a superior and very comfortable with one of the best showers I have ever had. We ate at the pub on the Saturday night and had a very nice meal. However the breakfast in the morning was very disappointing. We both had full English and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louloubaggins
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Morning Louloubaggins It is a shame to read this review as it was myself that checked you out and your feelings about breakfast were not made known to me. I understand the frustration with the substitute of an egg, I am unsure why an extra item was not offered. In terms of the quality of the breakfast on that...

Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The temperature outside was minus 1 degrees and on entering the room the radiator was turned off and the room was freezing cold and to be honest the room did not heat up to a comfortable temperature during the rest of the evening so I went to bed at 8pm to warm up. There were nice biscuits and bottled water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M R
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Morning MR I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on the room that you stayed in here at The Running Horse, there are clearly good and not so good. We have as a team taken the points from your review and we are looking at refreshing the bathrooms in the new year, so I do hope you...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A group of 8 of us stayed here in order to go to a birthday party in the village hall. Rooms were neat and tidy and had everything one wanted. Breakfast was really enjoyable with a seemingly unlimited amount of tea and coffee with very friendly and efficient staff. Would certainly stay there again if I was in the area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We visited today whilst out for a drive and saw that The Running Horse was open for lunch. The decor and ambience made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The entire team here were lovely and happy to make recommendations when asked. Importantly, most importantly... the food! Wow!! Without doubt the best roast Sunday lunch we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReesF
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Hello ReesF What a great review, I am so pleased that you found us and that you can't wait to return, we will see you soon. Best wishes Anita Peel General Manager

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stopped here for a quick meal en route to Portsmouth ferry. There were 6 of us and the restaurant wasn't busy. Drinks were fine, service was fine, but I think the chef must have had a night off because my gnocchi were not only slightly burnt (definitely over cooked) but were incredibly salty. I do have an issue with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomeat4me
Wales
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Highly disappointing. Good ingredients ruined. The Gnocchi/squash main was burnt. The fish and chips were ruined by a batter you could have surfaced the M3 with. The chips were potatoes cut in half and deep fried, on my plate there were only FOUR chips. The beef burger was loaded with salt. If we were not in a rush to catch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a2457
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear a2457 It is extremely evident that you did not enjoy any aspect of your experience here at The Running Horse. I appreciate that you did not send the food back, but I am sure that you brought your displeasure to the staff on duty. I would very much like to discuss this situation with you personally, if you would...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.0 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
972 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,596 reviews
4.4 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
693 reviews
4.3 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,480 - ₹ 9,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Running Horse Winchester, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Running Horse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Running Horse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both standard rooms and superior rooms are around a courtyard. Superior rooms have power shower but all were comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryManchester, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“These comments relate to the restaurant as we had not booked accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles Nomeat4me, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms offer a more private frontage & are not viewable from the Pubs Beer Garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 61Michael2015, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't be put off by the fact that it's not in the heart of Winchester.”
 of 5 bubbles KeithE731, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy accessibility to all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Cookiejoe26, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay