We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Running Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Running Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The temperature outside was minus 1 degrees and on entering the room the radiator was turned off and the room was freezing cold and to be honest the room did not heat up to a comfortable temperature during the rest of the evening so I went to bed at 8pm to warm up. There were nice biscuits and bottled water... More 

Helpful?
Thank M R
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

A group of 8 of us stayed here in order to go to a birthday party in the village hall. Rooms were neat and tidy and had everything one wanted. Breakfast was really enjoyable with a seemingly unlimited amount of tea and coffee with very friendly and efficient staff. Would certainly stay there again if I was in the area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We visited today whilst out for a drive and saw that The Running Horse was open for lunch. The decor and ambience made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The entire team here were lovely and happy to make recommendations when asked. Importantly, most importantly... the food! Wow!! Without doubt the best roast Sunday lunch we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReesF
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Hello ReesF What a great review, I am so pleased that you found us and that you can't wait to return, we will see you soon. Best wishes Anita Peel General Manager More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stopped here for a quick meal en route to Portsmouth ferry. There were 6 of us and the restaurant wasn't busy. Drinks were fine, service was fine, but I think the chef must have had a night off because my gnocchi were not only slightly burnt (definitely over cooked) but were incredibly salty. I do have an issue with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nomeat4me
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Highly disappointing. Good ingredients ruined. The Gnocchi/squash main was burnt. The fish and chips were ruined by a batter you could have surfaced the M3 with. The chips were potatoes cut in half and deep fried, on my plate there were only FOUR chips. The beef burger was loaded with salt. If we were not in a rush to catch... More 

Helpful?
Thank a2457
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear a2457 It is extremely evident that you did not enjoy any aspect of your experience here at The Running Horse. I appreciate that you did not send the food back, but I am sure that you brought your displeasure to the staff on duty. I would very much like to discuss this situation with you personally, if you would... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I think you have to be careful with this place the rooms are small chalets made from timber at the back of the pub in a garden Nice people good service breakfast was just about ok not much choice We had a rather noisy night so we complained and they gave us £20 of the bill so definitely 3 out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The Running Horse is situated on a quite residential Lane surrounded by fields, fresh air & quite with easy access to & from the A34 & a drive from Winchester. The Pub & Restaurant area is very well decorated with a country style charm. We stayed for one night in a Superior Double room which are all situated @ the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 61Michael2015
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Thank you 61Michael2015 for posting a review of The Running Horse. As you describe it is a pub with rooms on the outskirts of Winchester, therefore we do have the advantage of the added space and rural charm. Our 6 newly refurbished rooms have been designed so there is extra touches to them such as the double power shower, robes... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2016

3 of us with a small child had lunch here: I would rather have eaten the 2 year old's chicken nuggets. I was charged £8.50 for a burnt bit of toast with a thin covering of welsh rarebit on top and my son and daughter-in-law the same amount each for a couple of chunky sandwiches with very little filling and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beanie522014
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Beanie522014 I am truly apologetic that you clearly did not enjoy your lunch with us here. I would very much like to discuss this with you personally,as my staff can not recall if your displeasure was brought to anyone's attention on the day. If you would be so kind to contact me on 01962880218. Kind Regards Anita Peel More 

Hemingford Grey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Clean rooms, a very friendly staff and a decent breakfast at a sensible price (we had planned to stay near Bournemouth but it was the height of summer and prices were nearing £200 for a room!). Easy to find, plenty of parking and we'd use again.

Helpful?
Thank Keith E
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Keith E We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and that so many things ticked the boxes for you! We look forward to welcoming you again. Many Thanks Anita Peel More 

Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

A warm welcome greeted us on arrival at The Running Horse. we were shown to our room which is one of several chalet style rooms adjoining the Pub. The room itself was quite pleasant being a decent size with on suite,a very large shower with all of the accessories, including Bath robes and slippers, that you would expect in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devonboy20
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Devonboy20 Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review on your stay here, which obviously presented some positive and negatives for you. I know we spoke on checkout about the taps, which I appreciate must have been disruptive in the evening. It is unfortunate that you felt the food was overpriced. Where we prepare our menu... More 

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
905 reviews
4.2 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
512 reviews
3.5 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,546 reviews
4.6 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: ₹ 7,523 - ₹ 12,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Running Horse Winchester, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Running Horse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Running Horse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“These comments relate to the restaurant as we had not booked accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles Nomeat4me, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms offer a more private frontage & are not viewable from the Pubs Beer Garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 61Michael2015, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't be put off by the fact that it's not in the heart of Winchester.”
 of 5 bubbles KeithE731, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy accessibility to all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Cookiejoe26, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All from a looked same to me. Maybe avoid rooms 1-5 if you don't like people walking past your window.”
 of 5 bubbles Basilcat14, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay