We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,331: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Brilliant location for the city centre. Hotel is very clean and staff very helpful. Visited many premier inns and very satisfied with this one. My only complaint would be I think the residence should be able to park for free and sometimes had to make sure you were back in time for a parking spot because anyone could park there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julia S, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear your feedback on the hotel and I'm glad to hear you would stay with us again! Your comments on the car park are appreciated. Unfortunately, due to the size and location of the car park, effective management of the area is necessary and this incurs a cost....

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Basic but everything you need for an over night stay room was clean breakfast was reasonable !! Sometimes premier can be hit and miss this one was better then Most, ok for a quick other night stay Accommodate for the whole family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em0901
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi em0901, Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend to visit friends. Very good location, close to town but far enough away for it to be a bit quieter. The main issue was definitely parking! Not enough spaces, you have to pay for parking and people who aren't guests can park there (which I think is wrong!) the car park is tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FalklandJess
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FalklandJess, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear your feedback on the hotel and I'm glad to hear you would stay with us again! Your comments on the car park are appreciated, unfortunately we do have very limited parking spaces due to the central location. The alternative parking available across the road has effective security, however,...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights with small children. Hotel was easy enough to find with satnav, near a large park, 5 mins walk from restaurants/shops etc. Not loads of parking but we found a space easily when we needed one. All the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful. Room was fine - had 2 smaller beds for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon089
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anon089, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your positive comments onto the team . I look forward to seeing you all again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location, good valve for money. Had very noisy neighbours and asked hotel to sort it nothing happen. Also the car park was an issue managed to get a space no problem but never moved my car after that as there was no way of knowing if the space would still be there and then I would be left with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james h
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi James H, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disturbed night's sleep. The nights team operate an hourly patrol of all areas in the hotel to monitor security and noise in the hope to reduce any disturbances from other guests. Your comments on the car park are appreciated, unfortunately we do have...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed here for five nights for business and I cannot recommend it highly enough - mostly due to the amazing staff who go above and beyond for you with a truly friendly and polite manor. They made my stay that more special and I appreciated everything they did to help me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RollaRolla89
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RollaRolla89, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear that our team made your stay with us so good. I will make sure the team get to see your positive comments. I look forward to seeing you again soon, Edd Bolton Opertaions Manager

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for just one night before joining a cruise in Southampton and it was the usual good standard you expect from Premier Inn. Parking charged at a reasonable rate, a warm welcome from staff on reception, a lovely clean room and an excellent breakfast for an extra £8per person. What more do you need for a night? Its also well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules3377
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jules3377, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear such brilliant feedback and that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your positive comments onto the team. I look forward to seeing you again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is always my first choice when looking for a hotel in Southampton; great location with large, clean rooms. Staff are always friendly and happy to help with anything. Have never have any problems, but it's reassuring to know that the good night guarantee is there.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJH75
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location for the university and halls would recommend it. It is also not far from the shopping center with its great range of shops and restaurants. Nice parks and nice walks. if you have a son or daughter at the university good place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
722 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,615 reviews
1.4 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
438 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: ₹ 4,559 - ₹ 8,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can't help with room choice, but can recommend arriving early to get a parking space.”
j100_99, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request a room not facing the railway track.”
NickO764, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Near High Street, Accessible, Good Restaurant”
fh1980, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 403 - very quiet - in annex block away from reception”
Andrewms14, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the heating is on in the room you get allocated.”
magsv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5