We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,296: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We had excellent 4 nights in the premier inn which is easy walk from the station. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spot on and excellent sparkling clean room. The walk to the city centre and bus stops is very handy I ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in an ideal location for shopping and for the Mayflower. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which is not great considering the trains run right by your window every few minutes all night, put that together with a broken bed that creaked and groaned whenever you moved, just to roll over in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sasimmo64
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly, welcoming staff and a lovely clean room with all the facilities you could need. Everything you expect from a Premier Inn. Good location for train station and Mayflower, just a short walk. Also near main shopping by centre. Breakfast was good too.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sooz73_73
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stay at the hotel was very good. The family room was spacious (2 adults, 1 kid) and newer/fresher look. The best thing was that it does not have Beefeater Grill but Thyme bar and Grill which is much much better. The manager of the restaurant was excellent. The only downside was little parking space and you have to pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fh1980
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here on the second and third nights of my short break to see Billy Elliot at the Mayflower theatre. The hotel is situated on a main road, but is quiet overnight. The walk to to the city centre is very straightforward through pleasant parkland on both sides of the road. This is well lit at night and feels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrewms14
malta
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could be great if heating fixed. Room 127 was freezing, aircon not working. next morning transferred to 226 which was only marginally better. Staff were lovely and very helpful throughout (they provided me with an electric heater which kept the room nicely warm) but obviously there is only so much they can do if the heating system is not up...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank capap
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Usual premier Inn. More expensive than some. Beautiful bed. Not particularly helpful staff. Did not eat in. Easy access to city centre and university. stay as expected. would like to see on Quidco site.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms were a good size, comfortable and very quiet. A 10 minute walk to the city centre and a short taxi ride to the Mayflower theatre - taxi booked using the phone in reception. Parking was limited though arrived at lunchtime and managed to get a space. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast at The Thyme restaurant on the 5th floor of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeTho
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here overnight to be close to Peppa Pig world that we were visiting the following day. Hotel is very clean & rooms are comfortable. We travelled with our 2 young children (aged 5 & 3) & were very pleased to find the room was set up with a bed for each of them. The room had everything we...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

No heating two nights out of three. Was told emphatically by reception staff that they turn the heating off at 2pm but could over ride and they did - one night only out of three! Staff in the day were generally disinterested and when I made a complaint to their customer services in writing afterwards, they said as the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mags v
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review of our Premier Inn, Southampton City Centre. I am very sorry to read of the issues you had experienced over the course of your stay and that you were less than satisfied with how your complaint has been handled by the Reception Team and our Guest Relations Department. Please rest assured that your comments...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
604 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#18 of 24 in Southampton
1,568 reviews
1.4 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
422 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: ₹ 4,597 - ₹ 7,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near High Street, Accessible, Good Restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles fh1980, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 403 - very quiet - in annex block away from reception”
 of 5 bubbles Andrewms14, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the heating is on in the room you get allocated.”
 of 5 bubbles magsv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quiet nights”
 of 5 bubbles 179lindab, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept rooms over the parking lot -- too drafty and colder.”
 of 5 bubbles shannonbH9179JT, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5