We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,272: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great value for money,bathroom was extremely clean and bed was comfortable,marks on paintwork and poor pillows were the only things that let it down,breakfast was also very good quality and had a very good choice

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank the3mustgetbeers
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Met at the front door at 2345 late check in with my key and receipt. Good nights sleep and fabulous breakfast - perfect business stop - no hassle and very very comfortable. I have come to expect this from Premier Inn.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David393
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stay here was very nice very clean room nice bed great shower Food was very good both evenings and breakfast Staff were all very friendly and nothing was to much trouble Would stay again Train track behind hotel but 9nly notice noise from them if window was open

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byeson
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A regular user of Premier... or was, but seeing the same problem too frequently, thermostats that do not respond as normal stats do, often switched off and have to request to be switched on at reception, but even then the temp. you set at does not stay, it self-reduces and also takes so long for it to warm up room....

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david d
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to review our Southampton City Centre Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. It...

Exeter
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here before joining a cruise, it is ideally situated, clean and very comfortable. Close to the city centre and the port. The staff were very helpful, even coming outside on a very cold day to help us when we couldn't operate the car oark machine! We will be coming back

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justjuliaforward
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such an amazing and positive review of our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you found your stay with us so enjoyable. We pride ourselves in delivering the best service possible to our guests as well as taking great pride in our location. Hope to welcome you back so soon. Kindest regards, Southampton City Centre Team

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first time staying with "premier Inn" - Southampton City Centre Hotel was excellent from the moment we checked in. I should not be surprised at shuch good service and cleanliness and good food but I don't often find the "complete package" these days. Great location will stay here again

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivf611
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad to see you enjoyed every aspect on our hotel and I am so pleased that you are thinking about returning. Hope to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards, Southampton City Centre Team

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We finally arrrived at the hotel and check in was smooth as I had a.ready checked in online. We had problems finding the hotel as it is located by the side of a main road junction. We stayed one night, our second visit to this hotel, prior to joining QE2 for a short voyage. We had a continental breakfast in...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtravellor
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I feel sorry to hear that you had issues finding our hotel, but pleased that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on another occasion. Kind regards, Southampton City Centre Team

Thame
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the City Centre Premier Inn in between Christmas and New Year for a quick getaway, and decided Premier Inn would be suitable, especially as it was so cheap. The location was perfect, just 10 mins walk from the incredible West Quay shopping centre but with lovely parks nearby. There was a fairly busy road next to it, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mossies4
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review after your recent visit. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and really appreciate your constructive feedback which will of course be passed on to our management team. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Southampton City Centre Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly service but, absurdly cold room. Was told 22C was the warmest the heater would go up to. Freezing in the room. Thank heavens for hot water and huge lovely bathtub. Beds and pillows are comfy. Breakfast was a wide variety but, poor execution on the hot foods.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shannon B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. At Premier Inn it is our aim to make guests feel brilliant through a great night's sleep and I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the heat issue in your room. Please be assured your feedback has been...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked sight unseen based on price and location, a few days out from a Cunard cruise. We thought a few nights to recharge after a jet lagging flight from Australia a good idea, ang it turned out true. We checked in using their semi automated "check-in kiosk" at 11 pm (it's open 24/7 for late check ins) and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon J, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards, Reception Team.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.2 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,538 reviews
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#17 of 24 in Southampton
1,511 reviews
1.2 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
888 reviews
1.4 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: ₹ 4,157 - ₹ 6,901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
windsor,ont.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept rooms over the parking lot -- too drafty and colder.”
 of 5 bubbles shannonbH9179JT, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A little road noise can be heard in rooms at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Ianeff, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Face away from the rail line”
 of 5 bubbles 9stilton, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay for meals on arrival to hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles decisions, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My guess is that they would all be fine.”
 of 5 bubbles damand, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay