We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harbour Parade, Southampton SO15 1BA England
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Expedia.com$91
Moxy Hotels$91
Hotels.com$91
Travelocity$91
Priceline$91
Orbitz.com$91
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 26/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Moxy Southampton
Updated 26/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 29 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Contemporary design hotel featuring well-appointed chic bedrooms. The stylish, spacious lobby with free Wifi is the place to meet, greet and retreat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
108Reviews7Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 22
  • 22
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
35Bertie35 wrote a review 2 Aug
London, United Kingdom33 contributions81 helpful votes
Tried the Moxy brand for the first time as we have never been let down by Marriott Hotels. They did it again - great hotel, huge room, well equipped very very clean, quiet. Excellant from start to finish. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rob M wrote a review Jul 2022
The Woodlands, Texas6 contributions
This modern hotel is smart looking and up to date. The price is great and that is partly because it is missing things you’d expect in a room. You need to leave everything in your suitcase as there are no drawers and only room to hang 3 things. The bathroom does not provide you with a wash cloth. If you throw a lot away you only have 1 trash can to use. My biggest issue is the bed. It is very soft or warn out. Don’t lay on the edge as you will fall out of the bed. They do not provide a top sheet so you are covered with the the comforter that probably has not been washed recently. If that doesn’t bother you then book it as it is cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We usually get great reviews about the bed so I am sorry that this was not to your liking. We have a duvet on the bed covered with a duvet cover which is definitely washed daily. We would have been more than happy to provide you with another sheet if this would have been preferable to you. Sadly our rooms are on the smaller side and unfortunately we do not have drawers or wardrobes in the rooms. We would have been more than happy to take any additional rubbish or provided additional cleaning services for you and I am sorry that you felt you could not ask our team for this. We wish you all the best of luck on your future travels. Best wishes, Charlotte O'Connell Hotel Captain
Read more
2Klecks wrote a review Jul 2022
Sacramento, California355 contributions124 helpful votes
We are retired and seasoned travelers. We are also Marriott loyalists. We knew Moxy was a minimalist hotel and haven’t booked it in the past because of that. We needed a one night tonight stay before a cruise out of Southampton, and we had enough points to book Moxy for free. Free is usually good, but not necessarily this time. Most of the guests here seem to be young, probably on a limited company expense account. For these young folks, this style of hotel seems to work. For my wife and I, not so much. The room is micro-small. Dark walls in the room with no artwork, a bathroom so small you can hardly turn around in it, and only one suitcase stand. No room to open two large suitcases, so some pre~planning and teamwork required. If you are north of 55 years old, and maybe looking for a hotel for you and your spouse pre- or post- cruise, I’d bet a whole lot of money, this isn’t the right hotel for you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 2Klecks, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We have people of all ages here and I have noticed people in their 80's playing with the football table and loving the vibe. I fully appreciated that this is not the right hotel for you and I am sorry if you did not have a pleasant time with us. If you wish to discuss anything further directly with me, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you. Best wishes, Charlotte O'Connell Hotel Captain charlotte.oconnell@hotelco51.com
Read more
Joshua B wrote a review Jul 2022
Harrogate, United Kingdom23 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed on the way to a cruise from Southampton. The location (right next to the West Quay shopping center, bars and restaurants as well as close to the port) was perfect for our needs. The hotel was kind enough to allow us to check in early after arriving by train. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. Rooms are not large, but there is plenty of space, the bathrooms are quite small but the shower was a deccent size. All rooms were simply appointed, but had tea and coffee making facilities, shower gel etc. The food and drinks offerd in the bar were suprisingly good, and great value. 3 of us ate flatbreads, wings, nachos and onion rings, with drinks for less than £50. Breakfast was a great selection, something for everyone from fruit, bread and cheese, pastries and some cooked items, Coffee isn't great but is drinkable. We would absolutely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carras1982 wrote a review Jul 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom238 contributions129 helpful votes
Stayed here after the women’s Euros at St. Mary’s stadium. Hotel was clean, quiet and had good air conditioning. Good amenities and within east walking distance of local pubs and restaurants. Only minor criticism is that the breakfast area doesn’t seem large enough to accommodate all hotel guests. But would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We parked in the local multi-storey which was £5 for 24 hours.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
marlamad wrote a review Jul 2022
Forres, United Kingdom93 contributions43 helpful votes
My daughter and I stayed here following a cruise, and found it to be excellent. We arrived very early, with the intention of storing our luggage until check in time, however the fantastic receptionist managed to find us a room we could use immediately. The room itself (730) was a twin and was perfectly adequate. Yes, it wasn’t the biggest hotel room I have stayed in but it had everything that we needed. The air conditioning was fantastic, as was the linen quality and shower. The hotel was very quiet and had a very diverse, sociable feel. I would definitely stay there again. It was convenient for all cruise terminals and exceeded our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
490SSS wrote a review Jul 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka196 contributions164 helpful votes
Just beware: They say they have air-conditioning but it never worked consistently; I had to change rooms and the problem wasn't fully rectified. Just beware of this. You might book for airconditioning and then be left really unable to sleep in the hot June/July weather. No fridges, no wardrobes, tiny rooms, limited food menu, food not great even as limited, some grumpy staff, some nice staff, excellent WiFi, pathetic food menu to be honest, very close to West Quay shopping centre, some staff need to go on training
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear 490SSS, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have a climate control system as opposed to air conditioning, however, this should be on cooling mode so I do apologise that this was not working correctly in your room. We do only offer a small food menu and I am sorry this was not to your liking. We are certainly working on training our staff and I am sorry that you had some difficult experiences. Please do feel free to reach to me if you have any further points that you would like to raise. Best wishes, Charlotte O'Connell Hotel Captain
Read more
Nicola B wrote a review Jul 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom191 contributions46 helpful votes
Reception staff helpful and free cocktail on arrival. Hotel room clean with automatic floor lights that come on if need to visit toilet during the night. Bed very comfy. Located near cruise terminal and next to westgate shopping centre. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
steevo866 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom142 contributions93 helpful votes
We stopped here for a night before embarkaing on a cruise, the photos looked really nice on the booking website but we felt this really was as good as it got. The rooms are small, like tiny compared to a lot of hotels, there are hardly any amenities such as wardrobe, drawers or a fridge. For the price paid you would expect these basic necessities. The breakfast for £10 pp was not brilliant, the seating situation is strange being within the bar area and it does get crowded at times. Location is amazing, next to west quay so restaurants and bars and shops all walking distance. £6 taxi to cruise terminal in morning, love Marriott but sadly Moxy just wasn’t for us. Maybe we just don’t get it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear Steevo866, Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the concept of Moxy. Our rooms are all 17 square metres and sadly we do not have any fridges or wardrobes in the rooms but we can store anything in our fridge here or provide additional hangers for you. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we have worked hard to implement new breakfast items so I would be interested to hear what you would like to see on our breakfast. If there is anything further I can assist you with please do let me know. Best wishes, Charlotte O'Connell Hotel Captain
Read more
justcarolb wrote a review Jun 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom78 contributions37 helpful votes
This hotel is really for one night only. We booked for three nights. No wardrobe just a very small pile to hang your clothes on. No safe. No drawers. We were literally living out of a suitcase! Rooms tiny and en suite teeny weeny! No room to wave your arms around when drying yourself after a shower. The corridors are very dimly lit. It’s meant to be a ‘funky’ hotel which I guess it is but I wouldn’t say it’s a comfortable hotel. On the plus side the towels are changed daily and it’s very near to shops bars and restaurants and the staff are friendly. We had to ask for the toilet roll to be replaced!! Would we stay here again. ? Definitely not!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte O'connell, General Manager at Moxy Southampton
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear Justcarolb, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel. All our rooms are only 17 square metres and I am sorry that you were not comfortable. I do wish you the best of luck on your future travels. Best regards, Charlotte O'Connell Hotel Captain
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moxy Southampton
Which popular attractions are close to Moxy Southampton?
Nearby attractions include 1st Base - Baseball Entertainment Centre (0.5 km), Locked In A Room - Southampton (0.3 km), and Tudor House and Garden (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moxy Southampton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Moxy Southampton?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Moxy Southampton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mexifun, All Bar One Southampton, and Beity.
Are pets allowed at Moxy Southampton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Moxy Southampton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.3 km), Eling Tide Mill Experience (5.2 km), and Bargate (0.3 km).
Is Moxy Southampton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.