We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA England
E-mail hotel
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$108
View deal
Expedia.com
$107
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$104
View deal
Hotels.com$107
Travelocity$107
Trip.com$109
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (392)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (49)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Novotel Southampton Hotel
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 29 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentary Wireless through the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking (£10 per night).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2326Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 677
  • 892
  • 483
  • 149
  • 125
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PARVINDER K wrote a review 5 Aug
3 contributions
We stayed in room 201, worst sleep ever, the bed was hard and there was a faulty plug near the window. We also had room 203. I had specifically asked for interconnecting rooms as I have a daughter who sleep walks and had my 80year old mum with me who is aided with a walking stick. I ask for this over the phone and called the hotel beforehand to ensure this was arranged. However when I checked in at the hotel the lady did not make eye contact, talk make polite chit chat it was as though she couldn’t be bothered. She did not care that she could not accommodate my request. All the staff at the hotel just seem like they could not be bothered to be there. We complained there was weed smell in our corridor and the response we got was do you expect us to knock on every door? This is disappointing considering it’s a Novotel. I last stayed at the Sheffield Novotel and that was fab but this trip has put me off booking Novotel again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patina Farnham, General Manager at Novotel Southampton Hotel
Responded today
Dear Pavkumar, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately the hotel has only a very limited number of interconnecting rooms available, and as such we cannot guarantee that a request for an interconnecting room will be given. I will ensure that the team communicate this more clearly at the time of booking. I am also sorry to hear that there was a smell in the corridor and again the team did not communicate well with you. I will also work with the team to ensure this is resolved differently in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and helping us continually improve. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton
Read more
Keitht2 wrote a review Apr 2021
Sale, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a very comfortable settee which I later realised was a bed setter. I had an excellent night’s sleep on the best mattress I have ever encountered in an hotel. The shower was also excellent. There was a generous selection of teas and coffee available and, for the first time ever in my experience of an hotel small cartons of fresh semi-skimmed milk. In the past I have been a frequent user of Ibis hotels but on this occasion due to reduced numbers as a result of Covid all Accor guests were accommodated in the Novatel. In the light if my experience here my next bookings will definitely be with Novatel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patina Farnham, General Manager at Novotel Southampton Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Dear Kietht2, thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted to see that you not only enjoyed your stay, but will be continuing to choose Novotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton
Read more
DAVID H wrote a review 3 Aug
BUNBURY62 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed there for 6 nights. The thing that made this hotel stand out from the many other hotels with similar cost in the area was the friendly, helpful service we received from the staff - Colin, Laura, Shirley, Marty etc. Breakfast options were reasonable and we observed the staff working non-stop to keep up supplies during the very busy times. Sure, occasionally things like bacon may have not been available immediately but usually residents would only need to wait for a few minutes for the dishes to be re-stocked. Our room was always clean and serviced well by the staff. The only concern we had was that the lifts are very small and one of the two lifts was out of action throughout our stay causing a lot of wait time for those of us on the middle floors.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
S&J wrote a review 3 Aug
9 contributions
We had our wedding on 30/7/2022 at Novotel (Southampton) and we could not fault a second of it. Our day was fantastic, the staff were friendly, efficient, nothing was too much. The day ran so smoothly, the was no strict timings, it was on our call, we weren’t rushed to do anything, our guests weren’t moved on to clean the tables, food was delicious, everyone ate together, there’s was no waiting around between courses, the staff weren’t clumsy, they were quiet and efficiently served and cleaned up, you wouldn’t have even know they were there, and our toastmaster Brian was incredible, he went above and beyond, nothing was too much trouble, he even set up some table displays as we didn’t have time and made our day easy and stress free. All our guests commented on how great he had been. Brian is a credit to the hotel! Everyone needs a Brian when they’re getting married. Facilities were good, room was nice and comfortable. The function rooms from ceremony to evening were gorgeous! We loved the lights on the ceiling ❤️ The tables were dressed so beautifully and chairs looked wonderful with the covers and sashes. The wedding package was definitely worth more in great service and the extra little touches than we paid. We would highly recommend the Novotel for your wedding! Thank you for a beautiful day! ❤️ Jess & Sarah x
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sh0dger wrote a review 1 Aug
1 contribution
I stay in alot of Novotel, as a member of the awards scheme, this is by far the worst i have ever stayed in be warned. Rooms are poor, grubby carpets, no air con, broken fans, windows cant open with sofa bed out for kids. The swimming opool area filthy, flooded changing rooms, life rings missing, emergency pull cord missing. Breakfas was awful poor quality food, the hotel did not have any bacon at all in stock, or bananas, and the staff were rude to say the least, have complained and as expected nothing in return. Bed was the most uncomfortable ever slept in , mattress was so very very hard. Dogs barking all night in rooms on the fith floor, son came out in a massive rash the morning after waking. Awful awful place
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patina Farnham, General Manager at Novotel Southampton Hotel
Responded today
Dear Steve, Thank you again for sharing your feedback. As we have discussed directly with you we are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay, and would look forward to you replying to the email we have sent to you. Sincerely Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton
Read more
samiml0nd0n wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Very bad service & bed was broken once we report about bed they said they will give me point as compensation. Even we email to the ceo he said the same thing done know how they maintain the standards ,we strongly recommend not to go Novotel hotel .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rayanhamad93 wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
Everything was fine , friendly staff but the breakfast first day was missing a lot of options and the fruits in the small pods were not fresh if you can change that to fruit salad. Location is good very close to the station.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rf632022 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We only stayed one night but were very pleased with the room, the hotel facilities and the friendliness of the staff. Excellent location and parking was easy and reasonable at £10. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
abbasikk wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I came to Southampton to attend my son graduation. I reserved two rooms for my family. on the front disk they give us special needs rooms. after checking the rooms we requested normal rooms. we requested the lady in front disk to show it to us prior of accepting the room. she was very rood and he said I cant leave my place. one of her college volunteer to show us the rooms.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a 2 night stay whilst visiting family, brought our sausage dog along too. Hotel clean and very pet friendly which is massive thing for us with our furboy. Had an evening meal tonight, food was great, service was great, and Marty on front of house was fantastic. Overall, very impressed and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel southampton hotel southampton, accor southampton, southampton novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Southampton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Elusion Rooms (0.4 km), Mayflower Theatre (0.5 km), and The Guitar Store (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marco's Bar-Ristorante-Cicchetti, The Mayflower Village, and IKEA Restaurant - Southampton.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Southampton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Southampton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.9 km), Eling Tide Mill Experience (4.7 km), and Bargate (0.8 km).