We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour

Save
Share
5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG England
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
ZenHotels.com
$172
View deal
Priceline$181
Travelocity$181
travelup.com$192
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (375)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (229)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 29 hotels in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour. Overlooking the waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is just 5 minutes from the port, making it an ideal base for those taking off or returning from a cruise. Guests can look forward to enjoying an onsite Marco Pierre White Bar & Grill, the Royal Bar, fully-equipped leisure centre with Southampton's largest indoor pool, sauna and gym as well as the ultra-relaxing Rena Spa. The hotel also boasts impressive meetings and events facilities with it's Mayflower Suite being the largest in the city, accommodating up to 500 guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Romanian
1065Reviews97Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 384
  • 239
  • 149
  • 128
  • 165
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tommy123 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
The gym has no workable water fountain and switched off due to a leak. The Hotel is nice but no maintenance has been done recently in the Rena Leisure Facilities. Light falling out of socket, coving missing above swimming pool and rust marks in frequent places including the stairwell. Staff all nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lucy D wrote a review 11 Aug
1 contribution
We arrived just before check in(4pm) and although both staff members were busy they were very polite and made us feel very welcome, we were served by Georgia who is the loveliest girl ever, I had booked a junior suite for myself and my mum as a treat and we were so shocked and so happy to have received an upgrade to the pent house, genuinely still buzzing about it, it’s just what we both needed but never expected it. Get to the room, and oh my goodness, incredible, it was clean, smelt amazing(I have no idea what it was but well done), there were complementary chocolates with a little note on the bed which was so sweet, chocolates also amazing, there were complementary tea coffee water etc, the views were incredible, we had a few questions throughout our stay and Georgia was happy to answer with a smile on her face, nothing was too much, there is just one thing We thought was quite unprofessional and also quite mean for the young lad that on two occasions(afternoon and evening) was made to feel like he was unappreciated and he looked genuinely sad once he’d been “told off”. The lad at the bar was lovely both times he served us and we had zero issues with him, just seemed to be the day other staff were picking on him. But I cannot fault our visit for the service we received, amazing food in the restaurant, we would 100% go back, thank you, specially to the lovely Georgia on reception. You’re amazing :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
larakhoury99 wrote a review 9 Aug
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates3 contributions4 helpful votes
I would never recommend this hotel... a.my room toilet was not working i had to go in the middle of the night to use the bathroom in the lobby b. my phone in the room was not working although i informed them twice c. I had my sister in the other room very sick and requested for 2 extra hours yet they did not even show any human feelings towards her.. d. they made me check in at 4 pm and check out at 11 am ..so even you never got to have a 24 hours room for a very highly paid room per night. e. the facitity is old and very under staffed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: dont go there...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 4 days ago
Dear larakhoury99, Thank you for taking time to write your review. As mentioned when we spoke on your departure, I do again apologise for these issues and am glad we got the chance to speak before you departed. With regards to the late check out, I am sorry on this occasion we were unable to give this given the capacity of the hotel but please be assured I have passed your comments over to our teams to be reviewed to ensure our guests journey continues to be the best it can be. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Terry wrote a review 8 Aug
Ower, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had dinner at marcos restaurant, was absolutely perfect night, until a paraletic stranger was given key to my room, and walked in when my fiance was practically naked. Was told by staff that it wasnt their fault because he had a similar name. Would never stay here again, havent even been compensated just given my money for the night back. Complaint has been sent almost a week ago and no reply.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Merryterry123, Thank you for taking time to write your review. Please be assured that this was passed over by our nights team so we could internally investigate this. I have checked our inbox and cannot see your email, please can I request that you forward this to myself at lsg_guestrelations@leonardohotels.co.uk so I can respond to you. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Charlene wrote a review 8 Aug
4 contributions1 helpful vote
What a disappointing stay. Dated hotel in desperate need of modernization. Breakfast display hosting flies. Staff didn't seem bothered. When i complained was told " nothing we can do about flies". Customer advice: maybe cover the food or get modern hosted trollies that have screens. Rooms.are overrated. Paid £175 for one night to stay in a poorly maintained room. Broken shower hose. Broken door lock. Fly invested breakfast. Will not be returning. Certainly not the standard expected.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Charlenester1, I am so sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. Please be assured, our guest journey is the most important thing to us and we will be looking into this with our other managers to ensure this does not happen again. Can I ask that you email myself so I can collect further details from you, lsg_guestrelations@leonardohotels.co.uk Again, I am sorry and look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Liz P wrote a review 8 Aug
Rotherham, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel in a superb location. We asked about the possibility of an upgrade as it was a special occasion and we’re given a room with a sea view balcony and free parking. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast and super staff
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 4 days ago
Dear LizziiiiP, Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you for more special occasions in the future. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Andrea P wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution
Had an amazing stay, dinner in the restaurant where the atmosphere was very pleasant and food delicious. The staff very welcoming and helpful, lovely to see so many smiles. Will definitely return and recommend. Thank you 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 1 week ago
Dear andreapR9870NE, Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
dougallmr wrote a review 3 Aug
Hythe, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Just 1 night stay, good size room although lighting in bed area very poor, efficient friendly staff, b&b at £299 plus parking charge a bit overpriced. Situation very good for cruise terminal and any last minute shopping at West Quay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dougallmr, Thank you for taking time to write your review of our hotel and also for the feedback. We hope you had a wonderful cruise and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Gloria082 wrote a review 2 Aug
Basingstoke, United Kingdom28 contributions22 helpful votes
Lovely hotel with spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. Booked through Secret Escapes and got a really good deal. Had 3 rooms next to each other on the first floor. They do have special times for children to swim so do check because we had to wait an hour before we could swim. Lovely pool area. Breakfast could have been hotter but a good selection. Had to pay for parking but as we were going to the IOW they extended it for us for another day with no extra charge. Will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gloria082, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Piers G wrote a review 2 Aug
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom78 contributions124 helpful votes
The check-in was smooth as I had checked in on line and we were met by a member of Concierge who gave us our key. It would have been nice to have been escorted to the room. The room, the Penthouse Suite was huge. Bedroom and bathroom had been refurbished but the lounge, kitchenette and dining room had not. Room service was good and staff throughout where generally very helpful. The hotel grounds/exterior are quite rundown and the car park looks uncared for. I understand that public areas are to be updated and I hope that the lounge and kitchen of the Carver Suite will be refurbished at that time too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms with balcony over looking the port are best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Roberts, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Piers G, Thank you so much for taking time to leave your review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in a couple of weeks! Kind regards, Molly Roberts Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de vere grand harbour hotel southampton, de vere grand harbour southampton, de vere hotel southampton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Harbour Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Nearby attractions include 1st Base - Baseball Entertainment Centre (0.5 km), Locked In A Room - Southampton (0.5 km), and Tudor House and Garden (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mexifun, Ennio's, and Everest Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (0.1 km), Eling Tide Mill Experience (5.3 km), and Bargate (0.4 km).
Does Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.