We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Restaurant
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Paid Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
228Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
68Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Contact
Enterprise House 1 Isambard Brunel Road Car Parking at the Isambard Brunel Multi-Storey Car Park,, Portsmouth PO1 2TR England
Getting there
Eastleigh Airport25 km
Bournebouth Intl Airport53 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
694Reviews
116Photos
20Q+A
72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 216
  • 76
  • 37
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Good standard premier inn with all to the standard expected from the chain. Clean, comfy beds, good bath/shower and tea/coffee facilities.
Grateful to the gent in front reception this evening who very quickly sorted me a room move after problems with a very noisy guest next door
Read more
The welcome wasn’t what I expected-it was automated so I checked in myself, but a member of staff was near to tell me about breakfast. Had to go up a floor from the entrance, to get to the restaurant and ‘reception’. Fine for me but others may find it un-welcoming. My room was co
Read more
Response from PortsmouthCityCentre, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rachel H, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback as we always know it helps us to improve. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us at Portsmouth City Centre. We ar lucky to have such a good location with great transport links and easy access to all of Portsmouth many great attractions. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, David
Read more
Up to the usual high Premier Inn standard. Convenient location, although car park a few minutes walk. Railway station within one minute. Quiet room. Very good dinner and breakfast. Interested and informative staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Response from PortsmouthCityCentre, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OnAir34077807536, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and a five star review is fantastic. We are lucky to be in such a good location, with easy access and good transport links to all of Portsmouth's many great attractions. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Portsmouth City Centre. Kind regards David
Read more
Staff were lovely on check in and very helpful. Breakfast on both mornings was only luke warm and restaurant in the evening was a nightmare. Manager refused to let our party of 10 adults and 2 children in as they could not cater for large groups as they only had two ovens! even
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Response from PortsmouthCityCentre, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Freedom599692, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry we were unable to cater for your large party in our Thyme restaurant. As I believe the duty manager told you on the night, this would not have been have been a problem if you had booked earlier in the day, as food could have been prepared in advance. Our restaurant is large to cater for the many guests who enjoy our all you can eat breakfast. However we cannot cater for large parties in the evening who haven't pre-booked. Next time you are with us, let us know you would like to book a table for an evening meal and we can take a pre-order for your food requirements. This food can then be prepared in advance, ready for your evening meal. We tend to prepare food in line with our advance bookings as this reduces food waste which, as an environmentally aware company, we try to reduce wherever possible. Kind regards, The Team
Read more
A very good located hotel ,Good friendly reception staff but let down by very poor restaurant management over lack of food for evening meals. It would have saved a lot of embarrassment all around if the restaurant manager had the sense had put a notice up stating that for techni
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Response from PortsmouthCityCentre, Host at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear doctanner, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We value all guest feedback as we always feel it helps us improve for the future. We are glad you liked the hotel's location. We are lucky to have such great access and transport links to Portsmouth many great attractions. It does seem that on this occassion we have not lived up to our own high standards in our Thyme Restaurant. This was due to a supply issue that was beyond our control. We hope you will not let this one bad experience stop you from trying our restaurant again on a future trip. Kind regards, Andy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Previous
1234568
What is the distance to Brittany Ferry in Portsmouth? Are there taxis available early morning? Thank you.
Hi Andrea P, Portsmouth International Ferry Port is about 5 minutes away in a taxi... and as Jon S has suggested above, taxis are available from the train station or we can call a cab for you from reception.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a secure are to park motorcycles please
The hotel does not have a car park, secure or otherwise. You'd need to look for nearby car parks. The nearest that I'm aware of is the Craswell Street car park, but I'm not sure how secure it is overnight.
1 vote
I'm looking for somewhere to stay on a university visit. However, I'm 17 and travelling alone. Does this hotel accept 17 year olds to stay alone? I know some premier inns do but I don't want to arrive and be turned away.
Hello, yes we do accept 17 Year olds. 16's and older are classed as adults so there for need there for need their own room.
0 votes
Show all answers
How far when walking to Gun Wharf Quays, a walk not a sprint
Hi, Its about 15/20 minutes walk to Gunwarf.
0 votes
Hello, I will be booking a room for my brother in law in December, he is arriving off the Le Havre to Portsmouth Ferry and arrives at 9.30pm which means by the time he gets through customs he will be at hotel between 10-10.30pm, will there still be someone available for check in? Also what time does your restaurant close? Thanks
24 hour reception, see their web site.
0 votes
Previous
"Simply don't go"
"Request room away from railway station"
"Great views from top floor."
"Not on the side facing the railway line"
"314 has walk in shower"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 56 - US$ 143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing