Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

4 Malvern Road Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA England
Traveller (90)
Panorama of the Executive Room at the Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
360
Panoramas (10)
Room
Room & Suite (153)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 40 hotels in Portsmouth
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel offers elegant accommodation just 2 minutes from the beach. This stylish property in Southsea, Portsmouth, features individually designed rooms with free parking and Wi-Fi. The hotel offers outdoor and indoor all dau dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Facial treatments
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

4 Malvern Road Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Eastleigh Airport
26.8 km
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
53.1 km
See all flights
371Reviews4Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 301
  • 46
  • 21
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tanya J wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most amazing stay at Florence Gardens. The check in was swift and faultless. We got very lucky with a parking space nearby. Our room was spacious and so clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower is one of the best showers we’ve ever experienced. Four heads! Two above and two on the wall. We had evening drinks in the garden bar/restaurant. It’s a beautiful setting. Wonderful service from all the staff. The boutique is just a short walk from Southsea promenade. We had a wonderful walk and found a table at Briny, which was also excellent. We got lucky as had no reservation so I would recommend booking.
A wonderful nights sleep followed by a breakfast that my partner rated 10/10 (I agree), and that’s important as a cooked breakfast is his favourite.
Would highly recommend this place for location to the Dockyard (10 mins drive away and low cost parking), the beach, pier and lake nearby are excellent for family activities but also wonderful for couples to explore.
I would also recommend Florence Gardens for overall service and quality. Couldn’t fault a thing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 27 Jun 2021
We were thrilled to read your review Tanya - especially as I know the stay was a long time coming after moves due to the extended lockdown! We are glad it was worth the wait and hope we can see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry P wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic hotel in central Southsea! I spent one night in the superior suite in Somerset which was fabulous. It was great value for the location and the room itself.
The hotel offers free parking which is available around the local streets, I was fortunate enough to get one of the parking spaces off road but seen loads of places to park within 100m of the property, I have seen a few reviews saying "no parking" etc but this isn't the case, it isn't like a premier inn with it's own massive car park but for a small business I think they've done well with offering free parking within the local area. I've stayed in a few hotels in Southsea and parking is always an issue but this hotel does it well.
I checked in and was escorted to my room which was nice, I was in the building opposite the reception which was tastefully decorated and quiet. My room itself was amazing! Great value for money and very high end furnishings. The towels were super soft and I just wanted to jump into the massive bath but went out a walk instead, The local area is lovely, there's various bars and restaurants in the vicinity,
When I got back I went for that massive bath and used the rainfall shower after that - there's great water pressure and the shower gel and conditioner there is high end.
Breakfast was amazing! I opted for the garden breakfast which was the vegetarian option and I had to ask what the sausages were as they were lovely, they use Linda McCartney veg sausages which had a slight chilli kick to them which was nice, I also had a poached egg, hash brown, mushrooms and beans, it was great and included in my stay.
Overall - it's a fantastic hotel in Southsea that I'll definitely revisit with the wife the next time I'm in the area. Well done team Florence
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whenever I am in Portsmouth for work I make sure to stay with The Mercer Collection as every stay always exceeds the last with friendly staff, good quality breakfast and comfortable rooms.

I visited earlier in the year for work having not stayed for a while and was pleasantly surprised to find that the owner has been busy updating the hotels during the pandemic. Rooms have been refurbished, giving the hotel a fresh more modern feel and work is under way in the hotels outside garden area to allow a dining experience for both hotel guests and the general public.

I look forward to my next visit in hopefully what will be a post covid time, allowing me to experience the dining experience first hand.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
coco80 wrote a review Oct 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom326 contributions154 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice quick check in with a polite lady behind the desk.
The room was located on the first floor,a nicely decorated modern room.
It didn’t have a fresh smell when you entered and wasn’t cleaned to a good standard.
The bed and pillows had lots of hairs on both human and what looked like pet hair.
I cleaned these all off.
The skirting board around the whole room was covered in dust and there were hairs on the chair that was in the room.
Bathroom had hairs in,I cleaned the majority of them.
Looking at the carpet close up it needed a Hoover,as there were crumbs and more hair,however from a distance to the eye this would look clean.
I felt uncomfortable at this point so made a complaint on my way out before dinner.
The guy at the desk said he would go and take a look.
On my return I noticed they had cleaned the skirting board and a large hair had gone from the sink.
There was still no smell of freshness and hairs remained on the chair.
Cleaning was not done to a high standard at all especially if you allow animals in the hotel as well.
I have been put off staying in an animal friendly hotel for this reason as there were so many short white hairs everywhere and I am allergic to pet hair.
However because of the great reviews I gave this one a go.
I didn’t sleep to well that night thinking of the bed I was sleeping in wasn’t clean.
The sheets inside were clean but the duvet cover and pillows weren’t.
Lucky to find parking along the road in which a permit was given.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Judy619 wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom86 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Delightful stay. We booked a room a fortnight before and chose this hotel as it had a courtyard restaurant. We loved our beautifully decorated blue room. We hadn't stayed in a hotel for a while and the room was spacious and comfortable with a large bath and a good shower. We ate dinner both nights at the hotel. The glutenfree pizza was probably the best I have ever eaten while the salmon the next night was very well-cooked. My husband enjoyed his veggie burger. The courtyard restaurant is very pleasant and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had no problem parking in the street outside the hotel (which is actually separate buildings) and the hotel is ideally located within a few minutes of the beach and a 40 minute walk to the Portsmouth Waterfront. We hope to stay here again one day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were not troubled by noise but it is worth checking if some rooms are quieter than others
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin T wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Florence Gardens is one of several wonderful hotels in the Mercer Collection. Having to work throughout the lockdown period I was fortunate to stop at this lovely hotel which offers comfort and peaceful surroundings. During this period of uncertainty I have been pleasantly surprised to watch the owners transform the properties with a complete makeover. Even during the restoration they maintained a high standard of cleanliness and service. The staff are friendly polite and accommodating which sets a homely feel which is just what is needed when working away from home. One thing for sure is these boutique hotels will be the jewel in the Crown when they are able to open fully. I really look forward to stopping here throughout the year especially when I will be able to use the outdoor dining.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miriam08 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom68 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel consists of a collection of beautifully renovated houses next to each other in Southsea, Portsmouth.
We had a very spacious family room for 3 people in one of the buildings. The hotel as a unique, individual vibe, each room is different with stunning wallpaper and stylish furniture.

The hotel also has a lovely restaurant - we ate most time in the garden part, serving great pizzas as well as other staples. All the food was delicious - both at breakfast and the few times we had dinner here.
The breakfast menu is extensive and mouthwateringly good - highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Miriam - we really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed our new restaurant - especially the home made pizzas! We hope we can see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carnatious wrote a review Jul 2021
United Kingdom288 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed 3 nights in total. 2 nights on a Saturday and Sunday at the Florence Gardens, and Wednesday at the Florence Boutique.

The location is great for a short walk to the sea front or town. All the hotels are situated in a residential street, with a permit for on street parking.

Our first room had a king bed, sadly the mattress and pillows were not great and quite uncomfortable. Bathroom was tiny and the sink was really awkward and low. Room was stuffy as it was summer, and having windows open meant alot of noise from the restaurant and surrounding gardens/street. Our 3rd night was in a small double the night of the football. And it was small, again a low difficult to use sink. It was Overlooking the restaurant garden so was pretty noisy. Not the hotels fault but people partying, shouting and being generally loud in gardens nearby kept us awake till around 2am. Breakfast is fab, lots of choice, fresh and great quality.

We had 3 pretty poor nights sleep overall that could have been better with a quality mattress and pillows. It is a great place to stay in Southsea, the staff are great, and it’s central. We would stay again for the right price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 11 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review - we are glad you had a lovely stay and it was great to welcome you twice for your stays in one week! I'm sorry that some inconsiderate football fans disturbed you on the night of the semi-final. As you will have seen our hotel restaurant garden closes at 9pm (latest) but I imagine across the country people were fairly jubilant and this was not an isolated issue. We are sorry you did not like the mattress which is a medium firm type. We generally find this suits most people so will take a look and check this is not perhaps due for renewal. We have a cycle of renewing mattressed so perhaps this one needs moving forward. Had we known we would gladly have looked to move you. We have never had anyone comment on the sinks as low before, they are standard bathroom sinks purchased from a bathroom supplier - we will certainly bear your comments in mind when we next look to renew the bathrooms. We hope to see you again and do call us for your next booking so we can assist you with the right room directly rather than booking via a third party site.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
legend187 wrote a review Jun 2021
Colchester, United Kingdom440 contributions162 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is situated within walking distance of the sea front and the town centre, which was perfect. Parking permit controlled roads surround the hotel however you can pick up the permit from the reception for your car.

The staff are really friendly and helpful on check in. The room was stayed in was clean and spacious, although the bathroom did seem a little dated. The bed was comfortable but the only gripe was that it was quite noisy late into the night, with the music from the bar easily heard.

The breakfast choice is good and the food quality really high. Definitely worth a stay if you are looking to explore the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, General Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review Ashley, we are glad you had a lovely stay and liked the location. We hope the weather was kind to you too for your stay! We are surprised and sorry to hear you found it a little noisy. As you will have seen we have quite an early closure of our bar and restaurant at 9pm precisely to avoid any disturbance to our guests (& neighbours!) as this is very important to us. We could open later but choose an earlier finish intentionally so we will certainly raise your comments with the team and make sure the music is turned off promptly. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HolidayloverKent wrote a review Aug 2021
Kent29 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited here as a last minute long weekend break. We booked two rooms, ours was a superior king which was exceptionally large and very comfortable. The other room was a small double and it was just as well that only one person was using it as it was very small. The breakfast menu had a good selection and the food plentiful. My husband had the full English breakfast and found it to be well cooked. I chose the Greek Yoghurt Pot which was served with an excellent choice of fresh fruit. The only problem we found with the hotel was the parking. Whilst we were there it was almost impossible to park anywhere near the hotel. Although, it has to be noted that the owner did give up his parking place on the two occasions when we couldn't get parked close to the hotel. I don't usually book a hotel where there isn't on-site parking and I feel that the owners should be honest about the problems with the parking in what is predominantly a residential area with on street parking. On the plus side the hotel is right opposite The Florence Arms which is an exceptional pub.

We enjoyed our visit to Southsea and would certainly be happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MerryMarv asked a question Aug 2018
Greater London, United Kingdom139 contributions98 helpful votes
Can you guarantee a private off road parking place available?
Answer from bevyboy88
Coventry, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
Unfortunately, no you can’t as they only have about 6 spaces. The hotel does give you a parking permit to park on the road though. I recommend getting there early to get parking!
Carol G asked a question Jul 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Who is the general manager
zuzuPennsylvania asked a question Mar 2015
pennsylvania6 contributions1 helpful vote
How close is the hotel to the ferry terminal?
Rotterdam, The Netherlands7 contributions
The Ferry Terminal is about 5-10 min by car and about 20-25 min to walk.
AgentNikky wrote a tip 22 May
Lagoa, Portugal6,958 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book direct, reserve parking. "
Read full review
843wag14 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom36 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book parking. On street parking nearby is difficult to find and the streets are quite narrow to navigate."
Read full review
Dave T wrote a tip Mar 2024
New Milton, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book parking in advance and be prepared to pay in the summer as it gets very busy free local parking may be hard to find even with a permit"
Read full review
Nicole G wrote a tip Jul 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms are up quite a few stairs so check with the hotel before booking if you have mobility issues."
Read full review
Hels Bells wrote a tip Jul 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom79 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre book parking as street parking is a nightmare and mainly residents only"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portsmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
₹9,583 - ₹14,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Number Five Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FLORENCE GARDENS BOUTIQUE HOTEL AND RESTAURANT (Portsmouth) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include The D-Day Story (0.5 km), Copenhagen Central Station (0.5 km), and Strong Island Clothing Co (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Florence Arms, Marmion House, and The Briny.
Are pets allowed at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (2.8 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (6.2 km), and Dockyard Apprentice (2.6 km).
Does Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Portsmouth HotelsPortsmouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortsmouthHotels near Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire