We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Eastern Road Farlington, Portsmouth PO6 1UN England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$80
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Hotels.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Travelocity$79
HIExpress.com$79
Lol.travel$102
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (351)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (42)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 42 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stylish Portsmouth Hotel close to Portsmouth Port with breakfast included. Holiday Inn Express® Portsmouth - North is in Farlington, a 5 minute drive from Cosham Train Station and a 25 minute drive from Southampton Airport (SOU). The hotel is also a short drive from the A27 and A3 (M). Setting sail? Portsmouth Ferry Terminal is only 4 miles away. Get your trip off to a stress-free start with one of our convenient Park, Stay & Cruise packages. Discover Portsmouth's maritime history at the Mary Rose Museum and Historic Dockyard or head down to the city's waterfront for a spot of retail therapy at Gunwharf Quays Designer Outlet. Enjoy a birds-eye view of the city atop the 100-metre Spinnaker Tower or check out Goodwood Festival of Speed - half an hour's drive away. At this hotel you can enjoy: - Family rooms for up to four people - Express Start™ Breakfast included in the room rate - Free parking The spacious bedrooms boast comfortable beds and handy conveniences like bedside USB ports,
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English
848Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 459
  • 247
  • 72
  • 34
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nils H wrote a review 12 Sep
1 contribution
Arrived on the 08/09/22 for a 3 night stay as a mini moon after getting married. Was told on booking in about a fire in the kitchen and limited power to the hotel ,"accidents happen" young staff were very "we don't care attitude" and we were told they were only serving pizza and there are resturants near by that deliver takeaways. To be fair the hotels pizza was nice. On booking the hotel it stated a choice of breakfasts continental and Buffet, there was only croissants toast and cereal for breakfast. No cheese meat or hard boiled eggs ect. A total con. And when asking staff about this and what was advertised and included in the price we were told near by resturants sell breakfasts if we Dont like it. The room and cleanliness was ok in our room and it was a good size. If you want the most basic room and hotel experience with staff that don't care then this is definitely the hotel for you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 753nilish, Our goal is to deliver a great experience and it sounds like we missed the mark. We’d like to learn more about what happened so please give us a ring on 023 9221 9111 or email info@expressportsmouth.co.uk. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha M wrote a review 11 Sep
2 contributions
Was due to stay at this Hotel on Friday 9th September. We were visiting my son who is serving in the British Army and was due to complete an abseil down Spinnaker tower on Saturday. Unfortunately due to the extremely sad passing of the queen this event was postponed at the very last minute. We contacted Hotels.com who we used to book through and they were extremely helpful and said they completely understood that the circumstances were exceptional and that we should be able to change the date. We did not expect a refund at all but a change of date so we could visit again when the event is rescheduled. Unfortunately the hotel flatly refused and we lost out on all of our money. In any other circumstance I would find this acceptable for a last minute change but due to the passing of the Queen and there being absolutely nothing we could have done differently I thought a big company like this would have been more understanding. Will never use this company again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Samantha M, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’d like to learn more about your experience, so please get in touch with us on info@expressportsmouth.co.uk when it’s convenient for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky wrote a review 11 Sep
17 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
The positives; the only 2 staff I saw were young and friendly. The negatives; the parking machine will automatically try and charge you double. Be aware! The reception are was dull and tired. The seating area was barely lit and the furniture was basic and worn. Breakfast was a cereal buffet with a jar of marmalade and Nutella to help yourself from. Specifically Room 267; splattered debris of some description on various areas of the carpet and up the skirting. The glass shower screen was not connected to the ceiling and is a very serious hazard should someone heavy lean on it. The tea bags are presented like they have been taken from a catering box; they were not in a bag and you don't know who , before you, who has handled them. The window did not close properly and the bathroom fan was on all night And if the urban legend is true regarding the iron mark of the bottom sheet not being in the middle of the mattress, I may have unknowingly slept with someone else!? Generally a grubby and dangerous room. I was too tired to complain in the night. I did not sleep well. I expressed my 'disappointment' to reception in the morning when I left early ! I've been to some cheap places but I would not expect a chain hotel to be so bad. I will not be returning and would suggest management support the staff to enable them to do a better job
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Harleeygirl, We want every guest’s stay to be perfect so we’re gutted to see this wasn’t the case for you. Let’s have a chat about it? Give us a call on 023 9221 9111 or info@expressportsmouth.co.uk when it’s convenient for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
roy grey wrote a review 5 Sep
Cheltenham, United Kingdom233 contributions103 helpful votes
We have stayed here before, and was impressed then, so we stayed again and once more we were impressed, No faults to report, and was very satisfied with rooms etc:. Our only minor complaint was that someone brought their dog into the breakfast area, which should not be allowed, unless it's a working dog for the disabled, and this was not.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We're glad to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian w wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
We had stayed at this hotel before. It's adequate for the price you pay and it's clean and it's located nicely for Portsmouth. You also get free breakfast. Biggest disappointment is the free breakfast. Last year we enjoyed a full English, now it continental style. Stale croissants, muffins and cereals. To be honest, the free "hot"breakfast was the reason we came back here. We won't come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving us a review. The breakfast at the moment is a trail and will run to the end of September. We're sorry that you were unable to enjoy it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Islandhopper wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions8 helpful votes
The room was clean and acceptable and the staff were hard working,helpful and friendly but I’m afraid they were the only positives. You have to pay for parking and the responsibility for this is lazily passed over to another company but to be fair you know this before you book as this is declared on their website unlike the lack of a hot breakfast. The bar and restaurant are completely cashless although many people won’t have a problem with this what about those that do? I thought we were an inclusive society? It seems woke only goes one way. Worst of all since August 1st they have stopped doing a hot English breakfast but they haven’t added to the cold menu so it can’t even really be called a full continental breakfast as there is no ham,no cheese or protein at all. The only thing you can get hot is tea coffee and toast. Croissants ,cereals yoghurt and some fruit is also on offer. IHG really need to sort the breakfast issue out, if they are going to continue not providing a proper breakfast the minimum they should do is at least tell people before they book.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 43dani, Thanks for the review. We’re disappointed to see your review and we’d like to discuss your comments further. Please get in touch with us at info@expressportsmouth.co.uk or call us on 023 9221 9111 so we can figure out what went wrong.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Touringmuso8 wrote a review Aug 2022
Eastbourne, United Kingdom453 contributions103 helpful votes
Having stayed several times at this branch of Holiday Inn Express as well as many other branches around the country I couldn’t believe it tonight when I arrived at midnight to be told they are no longer giving the complimentary hot breakfast I always book a holiday Inn express if possible with this in mind as I am generally dashing off in the morning for a pretty full on day and often won’t get the chance to eat anything hot later in the day and certainly not until the evening – so the hot breakfast is a real bonus. If Holiday Inn express is not available or in the area I need to stay I will always happily book holiday inn, Premier Inn or Marriot and pay for the breakfast (although certain Marriot also do a free breakfast) The really maddening thing is arriving so late at night I find out that I can’t even buy a hot breakfast - it just isn’t on the options list – I definitely would not have stayed here and will not be staying again until they guarantee a hot breakfast – I’m quite happy to pay for it! It’s for especially frustrating that I could have stayed at a local Premier Inn or Marriot tonight for slightly less money (where I could then have paid for breakfast). Also frustrating we are now having to pay £5 to park overnight… Another new addition since I last stayed here - although to be fair many hotels are jumping on this bandwagon now. On the plus side, for check in staff who greeted me late at night was absolutely brilliant, she was welcoming and friendly – the room is air-conditioned spacious and up-to-date – bed is really comfortable, pillows are all a bit hard for my liking, no big deal. So it’s all good apart from no hot option tomorrow – Continental options apparently, but croissant‘s and pastries not what I’m looking for, and the reason I tend to avoid ibis etc is that Continental cheese/meat/yoghurt/pastry is not my thing. Sorry for the rant, just tired and pretty fed up – realise lots of people in the world have a lot more issues than my not having hot breakfast!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Before you book double check exactly what ingredient for breakfast if this is important to you as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
DearTouringmuso8, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’d like to learn more about your experience, so please get in touch with us on info@expressportmsouth.co.uk or call us on 023 9221 9111 when it’s convenient for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terry j wrote a review Aug 2022
Stonehouse, United Kingdom221 contributions91 helpful votes
When we tried to talk to a Manager about the room (not even the bed was made, let alone the room being cleaned) we were told we were not IMPORTANT ENOUGH for the Manager to talk to us but they would take a phone number and (with luck - it's not happened yet) the Manager would phone us back. The problem the previous day was finding nail clippings on the carpet which a (Bulgarian) cleaner whisked a vacuum in and cleaned the whole room apologising profusely. On our return to the room on our last night we found the room was only half serviced (towels put back in place, that was it) bed not made or sheets changed, waste bins not emptied, carpet not vacuumed, glasses not washed, coffee mugs not cleaned, used toilet roll not replaced, glasses and mugs not cleaned (this was also an issue at the bar and breakfast buffet where glasses were showing dirt on the inside – looks like last rinse not working properly). On our arrival around 10pm on our last night we did ask the duty receptionist if anything could be done, she said she would change the sheets, make the bed and vacuum the room. Later she told me she was not allowed to vacuum the room as it might wake some people (I think they were already awake with the noise the children were making running around both upstairs and along the corridors. The only thing she was allowed to do was hand us a new toilet roll. It’s a shame that this employee was not used in the training of the other two I dealt with on my departure, maybe those two worked in a doctor’s reception in previous lives as that was very similar to the way they treated me A CUSTOMER. I’ve not even mentioned we had no dressing table or wardrobe to hang our clothes for a wedding – OK, maybe we should have complained earlier and asked for a change of room but we’d travelled a long distance and only wanted to sleep. Isn’t that what a hotel is supposed to do?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure the room has a wardrobe and dresser
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Terry J We want every guest’s stay to be perfect so we’re gutted to see this wasn’t the case for you. Let’s have a chat about it? Give us a call on 023 9221 9111 or email us at info@expressportsmouth.co.uk when it’s convenient for you. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie B wrote a review Aug 2022
Staffordshire, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Have visited hotel before and always been really happy but have made changes that we only discovered when checking in. First No cooked breakfast. May not worry some people but I cook for the family every day and when I am away I like to have something hot and cooked for me instead. All that was available under their “different breakfast option” they were trialing, was brown/white bread, croissants, mini blueberry muffins, cereal, yoghurt and tinned fruit. Not good healthy options either Secondly, now pay for parking the car, only £5.00 per night Sorry Holiday Inn won’t be coming back 😔
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valerie B, Thanks for the review. We’re disappointed to see your review and we’d like to discuss your comments further. Please get in touch with us at 023 9221 9111 or info@expressportmouth.co.uk so we can figure out what went wrong. Best wishes, Fina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
BE WARNED OF BREAKFAST CHANGES We arrived at this Holiday Inn yesterday 19 August 2022 for 3 nights On arrival we we told that the breakfast has changed. NO COOKED BREAKFAST, no English breakfast in England. We were told as it says on the web site breakfast is complimentary, this means it’s included in the price. It is NOT free. Breakfast morning and it is a COLD continental breakfast, this is England and we like an English breakfast It is not practicable as we have timed commitments otherwise we would move elsewhere for the second 2 nights We will be complaining to IHG/Holiday Inn NOT HAPPY
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If your used to ENGLISH breakfast at the Holiday Inn look elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ray B Thanks for reviewing your stay. We’re sorry to hear your experience at the hotel wasn’t worth shouting about for all the right reasons! If you’d like to discuss your comments in more detail, we’re all ears. Get in touch with us at info@expressportsmouth.co.uk or 023 9221 9111.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton portsmouth hotel portsmouth, hilton international portsmouth, portsmouth hilton international
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Portsmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Other World Escapes - Escape Room Portsmouth (4.9 km), Exciting Escapes (3.6 km), and The Crafty Chocolatier (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ship Anson, Scarlet Tap, and Giorgio's Pizza.
Does Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (7.3 km), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (6.1 km), and Portsdown Hill (3.7 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.