We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,129: English reviews
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We arrived on Friday last, at 2.30 p.m. , half an hour before check in time, so did not expect our room to be ready. The extremely helpful and friendly young lady on reception told us that whilst our room ( a superior on the 7th floor) would not be ready for 45 minutes, she could offer us a similar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolashappymum
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor Review. Our reception team were absolutely delighted with your comments about them. We would like to take the opportunity to apologise for the Food and Beverage experience you had whilst staying with us. As a Marriott Hotel we pride ourselves on the high level of product and...

eastbourne
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Easy to find, nice big car park. No trouble checking in. Room nice bathroom nice, clean and shower good. Massive bed that was very comfy. We stayed on the 6th floor. Gym good. Pool nice. Take £1 for the lockers if your swimming... refundable. We asked for local bus info and the reception gave us all the info on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpearceo
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jpearceo Thank you for your great review and kind words about my team. I am very sorry you were disturbed by other guests. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

No recognition of platinum status at checkin , just a request for credit card and for me to put in my car registration details . So therefore no points or gift offered as per marriott guarantee . Room was as you would expect , although as per usual here on a high floor traffic noise is high, Windows are useless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenkinsmatt
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt Thank you for taking the time to post this review and also for all your loyal custom. I am very sorry to learn of the issues you faced and please rest assured I will review these with my management team today. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back and create a more positive lasting...

Reviewed 27 September 2015

After two weeks in shoddy Holiday Inns in the same area, this was a very welcome change. The hotel is easy to get to, with ample & secure parking. It's spacious and clean, and the decor is fun. The smoking area is great too - thank you for not making me drown in the torrential rain! The staff are an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley D
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley Thank you very much for your review and loyal custom. I am glad to hear you are enjoying your stay and that my team are taking good care of you. We start exterior refurbishment works in November and will be changing the lighting and colour tone for our uplighters. In the meantime I will be sure to review...

Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Best summed up as a 4 star hotel with 5 star service. Nothings too much trouble for the staff who all demonstrate their superb team spirit .The food is served in a reasonable time and is obviously cooked to order. Housekeeping is fine & thorough. On the minus side some of the décor is getting close to its "redo" date,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickiow1
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nickiow1 Thank you for taking the time to post this review and indeed for your recent loyal custom. I am so pleased to learn we can make this difficult time for you a little easier. My colleagues will be delighted by your kind words when I read them out later today. Many thanks once again. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.

Kent UK
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Stayed for a long weekend having been there at least once a year for the past few years as a base when visiting the local area. Although relatively close to main roads, it is a quiet location and easy to get to the main attractions in Portsmouth (though I always go wrong at the M275/M27 junction!!). Breakfast has a wide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulKent123
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PaulKent123 Thank you for your great feedback and all your loyal custom. I look forward to welcome you back again on your next trip. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.

Highworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights during a weekend in September. The hotel is quite modern and clean and has free parking for guests. Our room was on the 5th floor and was fairly large with view over the car park. The bathroom was very dated and we couldn't believe that a Marriott charging over 100GBP/night didn't have a power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ade_Loz
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ade_Loz Thank you for taking the time to post this review and please accept my sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction you incurred. I am meeting with my team shortly to review this and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future to create a more positive lasting impression. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.

Mauritius
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed the night having found a good price on the Internet, we got a clean and comfortable room, the staff were friendly and they had a good breakfast selection. There's always room for improvement but for the price it's good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSM_World_Traveller
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RSM_World_Traveller Thank you for your great feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Mark Leyland.

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I expected more, the room was extremely dusty. My son suffers allergies and due to the poor cleanliness of the room he woke during the night poorly. We had booked our stay as part of a peppa pig package total cost of £280 for 1 night. Unfortunately we couldn't return to paultons park as planned for our second day as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KT3BOYS
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KT3BOYS Thank you very much for providing this feedback and indeed for choosing us for your visit to Peppa Pig World. I am very sorry to learn of the cleanliness challenges you faced. We very rarely receive feedback such as this and I am very sorry also to learn of the impact this had on your weekend. I will...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Firstly, aside from being overpriced for your average punter, there is nothing really wrong with this hotel, but equally there is nothing that stands out. In my case, I was in a large room with 2 double beds (which may have an impact on the price I paid). It does come with coffee making facilities, but in my room the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hungmung
MarkLeylandGM, General Manager at Portsmouth Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hungmung Many thanks for taking the time to post this review and for choosing us for your recent visit. Thank you also for highlighting the damage to the kettle. This should have been picked up prior to your arrival however I will be sure to action this immediately. Thank you for your kind words about my team and I...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (95)
Viewed
King Double Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
7.2 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
7.3 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,085 reviews
7.4 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge
Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge
Cuisines: British, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the Marriott hotel in Portsmouth, UK, providing easy access to major routes and airports, a convenient location near popular sights, like the Port Solent Marina,Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays Outlet shopping and historic Naval Dockyard. The hotel offers an ideal setting that makes business trips successful and leisure travel a pleasure. Sample the exciting, fresh flavors of our new Sealevel Restaurant or relax with a Starbucks coffee in our Sealevel Lounge. You can stay fit in our health club or dip into the refreshing indoor pool. And when planning a business or social event, you'll find 785 square meters of impressive Portsmouth, UK, hotel function space, complemented by expert catering and audiovisual services, ample parking and welcoming staff. The greenest hotel in Portsmouth, UK, has been transformed with the completion of its meeting, bedroom and leisure renovations. Enjoy stylish, spacious guest rooms offering a sleek and contemporary space to relax and recharge, with plush bedding and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portsmouth Marriott Hotel

Address: Southampton Road, Portsmouth PO6 4SH, England (Formerly Marriott Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 6,760 - ₹ 12,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsmouth Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portsmouth Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Marriott
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portsmouth Marriott Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Portsmouth Marriott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for king size bed”
H9391KUkarenb, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a room facing away from the atrium if you want peace & quiet.”
happy_traveller, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“they have rooms that overlook the atrium, i prefer not to get those rooms.”
K1917DXmichaelk, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Would suggest floors 4 to 7”
carnation99, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first floor 119 lovely”
774taniac, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5