We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 99*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,221: English reviews
Aldershot
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended a dance weekend last for three nights in March and had a fantastic time. It was organised by Isle of Wight Holidays. Ballroom was quite cold at first but if you are dancing it is ideal. Unfortunately I was unable to dance as I had a fractured arm but our whole party of 6 thoroughly enjoyed it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry B
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a good stay with us but disappointed you were not able to take part in the activities, lets hope on any future visit you are ready for action, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night on both legs of a cross-Channel journey. I'd stayed before so knew what to expect. Still had a key card issue on one of the nights. The showers are still not great and I had to remove the bathroom mirror lightbulb as it was flickering constantly (rm117). However everything else I really like and I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lulabel177
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you like our Hotel and hope we can accommodate you again in the future, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two days using it as a base for a visit to the Historic Dockyard. Had a sea view room on the third floor which gave good views of the South Parade Pier and activity on the Solent. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and good wifi access. We dined in the restaurant both evenings which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter T
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found all aspects of your stay to be good and have copied out your comments to our kitchen team, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for one night before travelling to the Isle of Wight. The room we were allocated was small and overlooked the car park. When we mentioned it to the girls on reception we were immediately offered an upgraded room with a sea view. The staff were fantastic. We were made to feel like we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We do have a great team at the hotel and I am pleased that everything came up to your expectations, best wishes and look forward to welcoming you back in September, Chris Gilmore GM

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights, and we could not fault a thing. The room was spotlessly clean..... The whole building is clean.... The staff are the friendliest we have come across in any Hotel chain we have stayed in before and couldn't do enough for us. It has a lovely bar with bar food and view to the sea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review of the hotel, I have passed a copy to Sandy on the lounge bar and the rest of the team, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

we had a wonderful wedding with reception here and cannot recommend it highly enough. The Ark Royal room was beautiful, the food fantastic - both the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet. The bride felt really special and nothing was too much trouble for the team that ran the event and the staff generally in the hotel. It was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank Debbie for a great review of your day with us, We are all pleased you had a wonderful day with us and wish you both all the best for the future, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Another fantastic carvery lunch at the Royal Beach. Food was excellent, staff are pleasant and helpful, carvery chef is always a delight and generous. Nice to have well cooked veg that isn't dried out. Great called for money. Can't recommend it enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your Sunday lunch with us, We are very popular with our local community on a Sunday all for the right reasons, good food, service and value, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Very easy to find on the seafront with great views of the pier and promanade. Staff pleasant easy check and out. Bar quite small, but good seating area. There was a bigger celebration going on and they opened another room for evening meal, but it did seem a bit hapharard and it wasn't that warm and the atmosphere was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xto36
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do move restaurant service around our many function rooms depending on the nature of business in the hotel and I hope it was not too disruptive, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Friendly helpfull staff! Superb breakfast! Ideal location for walks by the beach and front room with amazing view! The hotel is full of history too, check thepictures at the walls, the queen and beatles were there!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcgsattler
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and the beautiful views of the solent and isle of Wight, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is a 3* Hotel and I have based my review on similar class hotels. On site car park is available, although access is from round the back side roads. Reception welcoming and efficient. Booked a double and single room and was upgraded to a sea view. Double room spacious with excellent sea views. Room well equipped and very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard_ATB
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a very professional review of Hotel and team, I am pleased you found everything up to standard and hope you can visit us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

238 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
7.5 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,160 reviews
0.5 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
840 reviews
0.6 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,096 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Beach Hotel

Address: St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,474 - ₹ 10,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Royal Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool
over a year ago
Newport, United Kingdom
Newcastle Upon Tyne
4 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Royal Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not applicable.”
nets123, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea views now only available from hotel rooms at front of the hotel.”
  • shower in wet room
  • view to left from window
  • small basin but v useful shelf
  • View of South Parade Pier
  • large bedroom
wheelchairmike, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is good, we only had a view of the rear light well.”
668martynb, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“room with sea views”
909valg, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
GlynisT46, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 99* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 131
Booking.comUS$ 111
Hotels.comUS$ 99
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates