We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
ibis Budget
$51
View deal
Expedia.com
$51
View deal
FindHotel
$46
View deal
Booking.com$51
Hotels.com$51
Travelocity$51
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (63)
Videos (1)

About

#28 of 42 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Eugen Patrascu, General Manager of Ibis budget Portsmouth, would like to welcome you to The Ibis Budget Portsmouth. The Hotel is located in the Southsea area, Fratton Station is a 9 minutes walk from the hotel. We are only a 10 minute drive from Portsmouth International port. Take your time enjoying our continental Breakfast buffet with our relaxed noon check-out. Choose from triple, double or twin rooms to suit you, chill out in our spacious, well-decorated lobby area and stay connected while you're away from home with free fibre Wi-Fi throughout the building.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Kids stay free
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Afrikaans, Italian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
1534Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 576
  • 366
  • 143
  • 108
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DaveA1966 wrote a review 10 Sep
Plymouth, United Kingdom149 contributions79 helpful votes
The name describes the hotel. The room was a little tired. Location is fine and suited our needs for the early ferry. Parking can be an issue as spaces for the hotel are designated. When full, I understand the B&Q car park is used.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Judi P wrote a review Feb 2022
Spalding, United Kingdom3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Didn’t know really what to expect as the hotel was 2 star and budget, but I was blown away, we had the family double room with over the bed bunk bed, plenty of room, shower was amazing water was hot hot, very friendly cleaners, who do an amazing job our room was immaculate, located with Tesco extra KFC McDonald’s all opposite and Lidl a few minutes walk, 5/10 minute walk from Fratton train station.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Portsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments regarding your stay. We really appreciate your helpful feedback. We are also happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon, and may you enjoy your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yuri David B wrote a review Aug 2022
United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We came to Portsmouth for approximately 5 days. And we booked this hotel unaware of what the hotel was in reality, as we checked in at the Reception, we were given a different room to the photo used when we were booking, instead of 2 single beds, we got a double bed and a bunk bed, which certainly not expected by us. Also, the bathroom and the sink were out in the open, and there was no lock on the toilet door (never seen anything like that). Breakfast- when booking a hotel the information clearly stated - breakfast was included- however, upon arriving at the hotel, I found that breakfast is NOT included, and ended up paying £7 daily for breakfast. The noise outside- the Reception staff did nothing to stop the rowdy, drunk crowd making big noise outside, which lasted well into the night, and gave us terrible headaches next morning
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you double-check when booking- only stay there if necessary
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Portsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Yuri, Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. I am sorry to hear that you was expecting a different room type than the one that you have booked on Booking.com website. As the booking was made for a triple room, my colleagues from Reception was allocate this room type. If you requested at the time of check in or after a different room type and we had the availability, I am sure my colleagues was offering that to you. Unfortunately the room was booked without breakfast and if this was confirmed to you by booking.com please send me the prove and I will immediately refund you the breakfast amount with apologies. Best Regards, Eugen Patrascu
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnny K wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Room is passable , clean, cleaning staff are lovely and friendly Reception staff are unhelpful, bordering on the rude. Unable to ask basic questions.Arrived for breakfast at 10.01 and they wouldn’t serve me despite all the food still being out Wouldn’t return
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure you get to breakfast strictly on time!They are inflexible Don’t ask any hard questions...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lincoln257 wrote a review Jul 2022
lincoln7 contributions5 helpful votes
Just returned after two nights. These rooms are so small. No air conditioning as advertised. You couldn't stay in the room without sweating and getting a headache . Couldn't move in the bathroom. Sign outside states they wanted 159 a night. If you like breathing don't stay here Claustrophobia breaks out. Shameful of Ibis Perhaps some of the management team should stay for two nights to get an idea on what poor accommodation this is Still can't work out how people find this acceptable. The only person I can think off is Dracula who slept in a coffin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Portsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear Lincoln, Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay. We apologize for the discomfort you felt because of the room size and temperature. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We hope to see you again, and may your next stay be a pleasant one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie M wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
Did not even got to hotel, phoned for information and to get an idea on costing for a few days, staff on telephone completely disinterested in anything i was saying ,speaking badly using words like Yeah, what ,passed on to another staff member who was much the same and then half way through the call they put the phone down on me! Complained to their customer service /care team and received an apology and email saying the phone was on low battery and cut out ! no mention of 1st staff member, very unprofessional and rude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't book.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marie C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
lose toilet seat my disable wife fell of it we reported it was tould it would e fixed the fowling morning it wasnt reported it again was tould a manger would come and see us when he/ she was off the phone never turned up toilet seat was never fixed offered us another room but with bunk beds lol not a good idear for us as both disabled on the last night the toilet would not flush again ofered another room but not worth it for the last night we will never visit this hotel again room was never cleaned all the time we were there
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: budget just that bed terabble room dirty bog basic glad to be home
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Portsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear Marie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay. We sincerely apologize for all the hassle you had to go through because of the toilet malfunctioning and the discomfort you might have felt because of the room not being cleaned. We take into consideration this feedback as we strive to improve the quality of our service. We hope to see you again, and may you have a pleasant stay in the future. Sincerely, Mary
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel H wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
me (17) , my brother (17) and my mate (18) travelled 4 hours from wales to goodwood festival of speed and booked this hotel for 3 nights. Their website stated that anyone above 16 has to be booked as an adult and when we arrived after hours of travelling they turned us away; even though we were with a responsible adult, parental consent and had no prior warning in the 6 months which we had the reservation for. After my parents had rung them and pleaded to let us stay, they kicked us out for a ‘safeguarding issue’ which lead to us having no where to go and staying on the street. Eventually, after no help from the staff or manager we were forced to drive back home to wales in the middle of the night and out trip cut short and our weekend ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alison H wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked Ibis Budget Portsmouth for nearby Goodwood Races. One over 18 and two 17 year olds. Refused at checkin due to no parental consent. Hotel wouldn’t allow younger guests to obtain consent at check in ( a call or video call would have done) so put the group out on the street at night with no alternative accommodation available and knowing the group were a very long way from home. Absolutely disgusted with the hotel. They have ruined a long looked forward to trip and refused to allow the situation to be resolved.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don’t stay there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
moosmum wrote a review Jun 2022
Ashford Kent46 contributions23 helpful votes
Booked this hotel for convenience as could not find anything with Travelodge or Premier Inn in the city for the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. Paid £120 for what feels like a cross between a caravan and a cell. That said, as we did not spend very much time in the room, the amenities (or lack of them) did not cause much of a problem. PRO'S - Comfortable bed, nice pillows, very powerful and hot shower, room was clean if a little shabby. Check in staff were friendly and helpful, free parking (dont expect to get a space at the hotel, there are not many but they have a deal with B&Q opposite, a 1 min walk). Continental style breakfast was small but had enough of a selection to set you up until lunchtime, staff kept it well stocked. Coffee machine had a few options. As it was only about £6pp, cant complain. We were in a room right at the end of the corridor overlooking an industrial warehouse with a view of a stand at Portsmouth football ground, it was very quite, we slept well despite leaving the window open all night. CONS- We had a double room, it was tiny. As many have mentioned, it has a separate toilet but the sink & the shower are in the bedroom, so unless you are very friendly with your travelling companion, this wouldn't be for you. It very much feels like being in a caravan. Website advertises air-con, this is not accurate, the unit decides when it's too hot or cold and is set centrally so it's pointless because you cannot control it. It was chucking out heat in an already hot room so left it off. Slight musty smell on entering and the sink plughole was a bit whiffy, but between opening the window and leaving the plug in, we fixed these issues. As there was a kettle in the room, we went to reception to ask for tea & coffee only to be told they do not supply it but the coffee machine in reception dispensed boiling water and there were teabags/milk/sugar available there. We thought that we were hard done by having a kettle but no tea, but it would appear that in fact we had an 'upgrade' because a kettle had been left in the room by accident! Usually they expect a £5 deposit to lend you a kettle/hairdryer/iron. All in all, it was an insane amount of money to pay for a night in this hotel, absolutely not worth it, but if you just need somewhere to crash and this is on sale much cheaper, you will get a comfy bed and a hot shower with free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: far end of the corridor, as far from the lifts as possible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ibis Budget Portsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth. We appreciate the positive feedback and we take note of your suggestions. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We hope to see you again, and may your next stay be a pleasant one.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$44 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
etap portsmouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Etap Hotel Portsmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Nearby attractions include Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Portsmouth (0.8 km), Fratton Park (0.2 km), and Dice Board Game Lounge (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Baffled Coffee, Bodrum Restaurant, and Nicholsons.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Romanian, and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (3.1 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (7.0 km), and Portsdown Hill (5.6 km).
Is Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.