We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$106
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Expedia.com
$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Hotels.com
$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Travelocity$109
Priceline$113
Trip.com$132
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (308)
360
Panoramas (65)
Room & Suite (211)

About

#20 of 41 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a quiet hotel in Portsmouth, look no further than Royal Maritime Hotel. While staying at Royal Maritime Hotel, visitors can check out HMS M.33 (0.3 mi) and Portsmouth Cathedral (0.8 mi), some of Portsmouth's top attractions. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Royal Maritime Hotel offer a flat-screen TV. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24-hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. Guests of Royal Maritime Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a pool and free breakfast, located on-site. For travellers arriving by car, some free parking is available and there is a multi-story car park close by. Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out Portsmouth Natural History Museum. The staff at Royal Maritime Hotel looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1125Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 413
  • 246
  • 73
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
philleds wrote a review Jan 2023
Eastbourne, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed whilst visiting the dockyard for the weekend. Had a lovely stay. ALL staff were courteous and couldn't do enough to help. Very very pleasant experience all round. Ate in the restaurant and the pork chop meal was delicious. Thank you for making my Portsmouth visit special. Phill
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Hust enjoy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
The Codnor Inn wrote a review Jan 2023
Derbyshire, United Kingdom93 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
Can’t fault the place! It’s clean, the food is great and the staff are friendly. You are made to feel welcome from the off. The bed was really comfortable, the showers are a pleasure to use and the tea tray is fully stocked. There’s not much left to say apart from choose here, you will not regret it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Enquire about parking before arrival. However, if you don’t they will help as much as they can to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alison S wrote a review Dec 2022
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel and very spacious - rooms perfect and all staff lovely. The pool was a real treat and the breakfast perfect. A wonderful pre Xmas break and right in the centre of town. We will definitely be back after Xmas and thanks for such a great stay and good value
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alison C wrote a review Dec 2022
london5 contributions4 helpful votes
I booked a room in September, for 22 December, to stay overnight at the Royal Maritime Club, before continuing my journey onward on 23rd December, to join family, after arriving on the Brittany Ferry from St Malo. I am a woman travelling alone and have been upset that this hotel cancelled my booking without me realising until yesterday, the 18th December. I could easily have turned up and found myself without a bed for the night… They said they had tried to contact me, but all I received was a note requesting I might want to cancel, plus nothing to inform me about why. The same e-mail contained wording to the effect that if I wanted to retain my booking, I did not need to respond. Thus, after calling and getting no reply, repeatedly, I felt it should be ok. There was no mention whatsoever that they had decided to shut the hotel for Christmas, the day before I was to arrive. No e-mail, no text message and no phone voicemail… Poor! However, I called multiple times, without anyone picking up the phone. Scoot to yesterday, when I revisited all my documentation for my trip and checked on my booking. I found that they had rebooked me for 5th January when I will not be in Portsmouth. I am very surprised as I had paid and have a receipt. I sent them an e-mail asking about what seemed an administrative error and they replied telling me they had arbitrarily rebooked me for 5th January and if I did not want the booking I should cancel it. I sent off an e-mail to which I have received no reply to this point, asking for verification of when I could expect my payment for the room to be reimbursed and maybe a little goodwill suggestion from their local knowledge of places to stay nearby… Radio Silence. I believed paying for a room meant they had entered into a contract with me to provide the service I paid for Suffice it to say, I have not been happy with how I have been treated. I had to stay up into the early hours abd then could not sleep to find another suitable room. I received no apology or goodwill offer of assistance to help me find another room in the vicinity as I needed to be near the railway station to get to the next leg of my journey and the message I did receive from them was impersonal and signed from the RMC team, not any individual. I would wish it had been otherwise, but, sadly, my experience, so far, leads me to give the suggestion, that you may prefer to use a Travelodge, nearby, or Premier Inn, rather than this hotel, which has proved appalling for me. Lastly, I hope the person or persons responsible get some training in good customer relations. I would not risk the experience of once again having deep stress by ever booking here again. It is a budget hotel, but that does nit mean you can treat customers badly. I waited all day for a reply from the hotel, but received nothing. Therefore, it leaves me no choice but to recommend you stay somewhere more reliable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stormtrooper52 wrote a review Dec 2022
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom18 contributions7 helpful votes
Disappointed with room. Websites do not show the full scene, only show the better rooms. West Wing needs a good make over. Room was very dark, due to very dated decor. Wallpaper pealing off all the walls, marks on the walls, punch mark on bathroom door. Bathroom was clean and bright, again very dated. Sink at a weird low height. Heating worked well, nice towels. Bed was too soft for my liking, that a personal thing. Reception staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Breakfast room staff, not so friendly and welcoming. Could learn from reception staff. Hotel is a bit of a maze, but very quirky. Good choice for breakfast, which there was plenty of.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Can't comment on pool, didn't use.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nick W wrote a review Nov 2022
Epsom, United Kingdom375 contributions128 helpful votes
For what it is, it was ok, but there was a lot lacking that would have made a difference… West Wing corridor smelt of fags - Heavily! Window in the bedroom leaked, and going down for breakfast was hugely disappointing.. large cue, poor food and tea and coffee was awful. For an average price it would have been ok but at £100 a night - wayyyy too much
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear Nick, We are so sorry you did not have a good experience during your stay with us. Please could you contact receptionmanager@royalmaritimeclub.co.uk so that we can resolve your complaint directly? Many thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carl J wrote a review Nov 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom9 contributions13 helpful votes
Excellent service throughout. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was large, clean and functional. Only ate breakfast at hotel and this was standard hotel fare done well. Pool is small (4 strokes to get across the diagonal) and is very warm. 5 minute walk from gunyards, spinnaker tower and Portsmouth Harbour station.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard B wrote a review Nov 2022
19 contributions4 helpful votes
Third time this year i've been lucky to stay at this hotel. It's location beside the Royal Dockyard and Gunwharfe Shopping is perfect. The hotel is clean tidy and warm. The breakfast is buffet style and good quality. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. From the receptionist on arrival to the bar staff restaurant staff cleaners etc, everyone is happy friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Well done everybody. Richard (330)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
3000MM wrote a review Nov 2022
115 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed here fro 4 days and exceeded my expectations. Parking is a spaces are limited but the staff were very helpful, we found parking outside but other friends were able to park locally and were provided a discount voucher for the duration of their stay. The decor is dated in places, the rooms are dated, but most importantly the beds are comfortable and the shower and hot water has good pressure, Breakfast and bar food was good especially the panini. The bar well stocked and reasonably priced. There are 2 snooker tables (1 with ripped cloth) but at our level it may have actually assisted! The room was warm at night so had to turn the radiator off via the TRV. more control of the temperature would have been welcome. Our room was serviced daily which was not expected but very welcome. This property is super and is run as a charity, Hotel also supports outreach programmes for the armed forces and maritime in general and is worth every penny of the contribution. We were not aware of this before out visit. We will stay here again when back in Pompey.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Tots swimming classes limit pool access.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Thank you for your lovely review - we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards RMH&C
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amanda t wrote a review Nov 2022
St. Albans, United Kingdom6 contributions12 helpful votes
Staff were helpful and great location But room was shabby Bathroom wasn’t the greatest Hot water was so hot and shower temperature was either burning hot or cold Room was boiling despite turning off radiators Could do with modernisation Breakfast was okay Bar was open until midnight and staff friendly Snooker tables x 2 one had a massive tear in table so couldn’t use it
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking was okay Could pay £4.50 at reception to park in road or side street for 24 hours
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear Mandi, We are so sorry you did not have a good experience during your stay with us. Please could you contact receptionmanager@royalmaritimeclub.co.uk so that we can resolve your complaint directly? Many thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$60 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal maritime club hotel portsmouth, royal maritime hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL MARITIME HOTEL (Portsmouth) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Maritime Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Maritime Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Mary Rose (0.4 km), HMS Warrior 1860 (0.2 km), and HMS Victory (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Maritime Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Maritime Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Maritime Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Maritime Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ship Anson, Bar + Block Steakhouse, and Frankie & Benny's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Maritime Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Maritime Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Royal Maritime Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Maritime Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (7.0 km), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (0.4 km), and Little Woodham Living History Village (4.4 km).
Is Royal Maritime Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.