Stattons Boutique Hotel

6 Florence Road Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE England
Breakfast Table
Traveller (108)
Panorama of the Executive King Room with Private Bathroom at the Stattons Hotel
360
Panoramas (6)
King Room
Room & Suite (121)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#5 of 40 hotels in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Boutique annex property. Free high speed internet and off-road parking. Two minutes walk from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. Seconds away from popular restaurant The Garden, offering indoor and outdoor all-day dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English
845Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 600
  • 179
  • 52
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TheStevieD wrote a review Feb 2020
Maidenhead, United Kingdom671 contributions140 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came for a couple of nights and chose here as the location was perfect. The room was lovely. Bathroom was small but adequate for what we needed. There was some work going on upstairs on refurbish the rooms so the manager gave us complimentary breakfast which we thought was really kind, and it was a delicious meal! Nice to have off street parking too. Definitely a place we would return to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, Owner at Stattons Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your understanding of the current ongiong works - which are of course necessary for us to maintain our high standards! It will be our pleasure to welcome you again - remember to contact us directly so that our reservations team can help you find the best room for your needs and at the best rate!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma D wrote a review Jan 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom42 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had tickets to the Bastille concert at the Pyramids Centre which is one of the reasons we chose the hotel as it was within walking distance of this which was helpful.

The room was lovely, bed was comfy, however we had chosen the room with an in-room bath. My partner walked over to the bath area to look out the window and slipped on the tile flooring (luckily no serious injuiries but I think this is a hazard that should be pointed out as he did hurt himself!). Don't wear socks on the tiles!!

Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Overall a lovely stay (minus the slight injury!)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed the room but are sorry your partner (whilst wearing socks) did slip on the tiles. We do provide a mat for the tiled area, plus a rubber mat for the bath to ensure our guests are comfortable however wearing socks on a tiled area is not recommended anywhere as you note. We hope we can welcome you again the next time you are enjoying a concert at the Pyramids.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prodromos S wrote a review Dec 2023
435 contributions122 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully decorated room, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Good food, including a great Sunday roast at the restaurant. Parking is easy, either provided street permit or chargeable car park. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nikkisloan12 wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I happily spent £514 for a 3 night break on the grounds of this hotel branding themselves as ‘luxury’ and boutiquey and this was a special weekend for me!
I was really disappointed to find a dirty, marked towel and pretty average, cheap cotton bedlinen with a shower door that didn’t even close properly in my extremely small room

On raising these concerns the next morning I was greeted with a positive reaction from two staff. I always think a ‘complaint’ is a wonderful opportunity to make a guest feel great - whatever the issue, by the way they are responded to and they agreed to move us to a bigger room and ensure the towels were clean!

What staggered me however was the owners reaction. He commented that I was making a lot of unnecessary fuss over a dirty towel and a broken shower door and that there were more important things to think about in this current world!
The new room didn’t
lock from the inside and the shower had a very stiff and hard to alter, temperature gauge so I either scalded or froze!

The breakfast was ok, good and different options to the usual though service was slow and the explanation of why a latte/cappuccino etc was extra (in a luxury hotel remember!) was because they had to buy the beans … left me wondering what they put in the filter coffee if not beans!!

I was left feeling this was not good value for money nor an especially pleasant experience so would never return and would suggest anyone else considering a luxury hotel to give this place a miss!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid if you want luxury!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamJames_global wrote a review Jan 2024
28 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely building, decent interior, very clean, kitchen well stocked, helpful staff. Unlike when it operates as a hotel, no amenity products were supplied (not even shower gel) which was disappointing considering the price for private hire, and limiting check in check (4pm!) and check out (10am!) times, again compared to a hotel and the additional price. So despite booking over '3 days' Fri - Sun for a weekend, we would have been there for only 40hrs in total had we not paid an extra £400 for late check out which is essential for family breakfast and pack up etc. Overall a nice experience but left feeling like value for money wasn't there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception H, Owner at Stattons Boutique Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after staying with us across two properties for your wedding weekend. It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband plus extended family. We were somewhat surprised to read your review today and do feel it's important to correct some misleading comments within your review regarding pricing and make clear that the property was booked as a "self-catering" stay. This ensures future bookers and review readers are receiving accurate details. Two of our properties were booked, through an agency, and a 1pm check out was requested at both properties. Check out time is clear on reservation and, whilst some flexibility can be accommodated at times, this was 3 hours later than normal. As I'm sure you can appreciate this limits the time the housekeepers have to turn around the property so more staff are required to assist cleaning the large buildings thus reflected in the £200 rate for these additional working staff members. The rate was not £400 as suggested, this was for both of the properties booked. As you booked via an agency - rather than direct with the property itself - naturally fees are higher as they will add on their own commissions. You mention the stay was more expensive than a hotel stay but this is, of course, as you have access to additional property areas from a large kitchen, diner, lounge, cinema room etc. All these areas then require extensive cleaning more so than single hotel bedrooms. Our understanding was the booking was for a "family get together" but it became clear on arrival this was in fact a wedding party with guests mentioning they'd all been told to pretend it wasn't a wedding. Guests seemed to have the understanding they were booked into a hotel, rather than a self catering holiday let which caused some confusion for your party as they had not bought items they perhaps would have needed. Staff went out of their way to help your party from when the fire alarm was set off by one of your guests, to toiletries being requested and immediately provided (not normally given in a self catering property as most guests bring along their own). Not only were they provided but staff took them round to all of your guest bedrooms to help out. In addition staff did allow both properties to check in early (well before 4pm), and took in both your shopping deliveries which had been arranged early without our knowledge. We also provided a pre stay tour of the properties, plus arranged another nearer the date for which you didn't arrive. I'm sorry that - despite quite extensive staff care and attention (not usually part of a "self catering" stay) you felt the stay didn't provide value for money for your wedding group.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
archie6 wrote a review Mar 2024
Hadleigh33 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rented the whole house for a party of 14 for a week (6 couples and 2 singles) . 10 double bedrooms and 2 single. Gated private parking for 6 cars. Very comfortable accommodation with a large kitchen dinning room and two TV lounges. All bedrooms are large with all having different décor. All rooms en-suite but some shower rooms small. Heating good and the management based just across the road could not be more helpful. Good comfortable beds and furnishings throughout. External hot tub for 8 under cover and BBQ supplied if requested. We enjoyed our week here. Beach only a few hundred yards away.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The house/hotel is available to book under different names we booked it under the name of Galene...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dkerbycole wrote a review Aug 2023
Llanelli, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect stay! The Accommodation had lovely decor and was very clean. Breakfast was included and lots of different options, all delicious. Staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to help. We were able to secure on site parking which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You need to book parking (subject to availability), read joining instructions as some parts of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sh0r0b wrote a review Jan 2020
Inverness, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed a 3 night break to celebrate hubby’s 60th birthday for a surprise get together with family. Fantastic location, comfy rooms, great breakfast and the staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful.
Will definitely stay again 😀
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you all enjoyed this special occasion and we would like to take this opportunity to again wish your husband a very happy birthday! We look forward to welcoming you again - for the best rate simply book direct via email, phone or our own website!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IanPeach wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom33 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Superb location, excellent hotel and staff who are professional and friendly.
We have stayed at Mercer hotels in Portsmouth and would highly recommend them all.
Within easy walking distance of many bars & restaurants and even Fratton Park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard B wrote a review Feb 2013
St Ives, United Kingdom37 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely disappointing. Although the staff were polite and welcoming the standards at the hotel were far below what anyone should expect. Do not under any circumstances book room 4. It is not a room; it is only just big enough to be a linen cupboard. Unacceptable faults included dirty toilet, loose tap, bulb missing from shower and cold breakfast room. A complete waste on money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances book room 4.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie H, Manager at Stattons Boutique Hotel
Responded 22 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our lovely staff. We are very sorry to hear about your stay and are pleased that after speaking on the phone you are satisfied with how we tried to resolve the situation for you (a free upgrade to a King room) which you turned down saying you did not need any space as were out all night. We are sorry that you felt the need to leave such a damming review after the efforts the staff team went to to improve the stay for you, upgrade you and accommodate your needs to enhance the stay and we hope that you will return to us in the future to try us again and see the comfortable standard of quality accommodation we provide. Regards All at Stattons
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
archie6 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hadleigh33 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The house/hotel is available to book under different names we booked it under the name of Galene House. "
Read full review
Rosie T wrote a tip Feb 2024
Derby, United Kingdom550 contributions127 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out all the hotels to find what suits you all have their quirks and difference"
Read full review
nikkisloan12 wrote a tip Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if you want luxury!"
Read full review
Dkerbycole wrote a tip Aug 2023
Llanelli, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need to book parking (subject to availability), read joining instructions as some parts of the hotel is around the corner from main site"
Read full review
Zuluwarrior45 wrote a tip Nov 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Contact the reception of the hotel who are very helpful"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portsmouth area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,999 - ₹11,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STATTONS BOUTIQUE HOTEL (Portsmouth) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stattons Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The D-Day Story (0.5 km), Southsea Castle (0.5 km), and Lord John Russell (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Huis, Algarve's Grill, and The Rocka Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Stattons Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (3.0 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (6.2 km), and Dockyard Apprentice (2.7 km).
Does Stattons Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Portsmouth HotelsPortsmouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortsmouthHotels near Stattons Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire