We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lion Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Start your review of The Lion Inn
 Click to rate
collingbourne ducis
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

For the last 48 hours I have tried the telephone number on your website numerous times, left a voicemail & emailed & still no response. What do I have to do to book a table at the Lion Inn ?? One very frustrated potential customer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank justinwinstanley
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I’m so pleased we decided to ignore the few negative reviews of this place as we spent the most lovely night here last Sunday. We were checked in late afternoon by a charming young guy and the service and quality of staff remained as good throughout our stay – friendly, professional and helpful. Our room was decorated simply but tastefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthieUK_Kent
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely old pub which has obviously been refurbed but maintains its character. We were greated warmly and chose to sit inside in the bar area. A few people were in the garden braving the chilly winds and a fire was roaring in the front bar. We had fish and chips and a fish pie and extra veg. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misst0ri
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I had an overnight stay on Saturday as a base for our visit to the Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Steam Railway's Wartime in the Cotswolds event. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by our host, Trelawny, who was a lovely gentleman and warm host. Our room overlooked the courtyard and garden, and had a delightful charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rees A
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Surprised at all the negative reviews about this bar & hotel. This is a 450 year old building, you can't double glaze this lovely, charming place. The staff are most accommodating, friendly & knowledgeable. The food on both of our stays here was far better than some of the "5 Star" places we've been too. The bed was comfy, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hrgpjw
TheLionInnWinchcombe, General Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear hrgpjw, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and share a brilliant evening together. My staff here are also delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated everything that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Sue Chalmers

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night and had a lovely stay. We were well looked after by the gentleman behind the bar who was warm, welcoming and had great banter! The decor is fab with a real cool country vibe and the food is super special! We both had the pulled chicken pasta and I have asked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauren_cooling
TheLionInnWinchcombe, General Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lauren & Adam, Thank you so much for your review, it was fantastic to meet you both and very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you received the recipe ok and have been able to replicate the delicious pasta dish we do - it's one of my favourites too! We hope to welcome you back to...

Near Bath
Reviewed 10 March 2017

A miserable, sleepless night as the refrigeration unit outside switched on and off throughout, then rubbish bins were noisily emptied at 6:30 a.m. I mentioned this as I paid our bill (£200 for dinner, sleepless night and breakfast) and the receptionist was clearly used to the same complaint - how cynical is that! An unsleepable room unless you are dead...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JaneNearBath
TheLionInnWinchcombe, General Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear JaneNearBath, Thank you for taking the time to review, unfortunately we didn't receive your letter, otherwise we would have responded. Being a listed building we can't have double glazing, and the bins being collected are also out of our control. I will look into the refrigeration noise though in the year I've been here we haven't had anyone else...

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Popped in whilst doing some walking around Winchcombe. Tried a few places on the two high streets but this was most definitely the most pleasant and pleasant of the offerings. The food was excellent and clearly all freshly prepared. The staff were very pleasant and engaging as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owain W
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

A really nice experience booking 2 rooms the day before we decided to take a break in the Cotswolds. The Lion is a small, busy pub and restaurant with comfy rooms, polite staff and wholesome food. Winchcombe is a busy little, compact town that is worthy of finding time to wonder round. A little mid week gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DSA948
TheLionInnWinchcombe, General Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear DSA948, Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you found your booking experience and break in the Cotswolds with us really nice, and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sue Chalmers

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

What splendid hosts the land lady Sue and her chap Trelawny are!! We had a splendid evening meal followed by their warm hospitality, which set us up for our incredibly comfortable and quaint room complete with all amenities. Breakfasts early the next morning were well received after attentive service and delightful food. Overall a splendid stay, definitely recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby E
TheLionInnWinchcombe, General Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear Toby E, Many thanks for your complimenting review. Very pleased to hear that you had a splendid evening with us, we remember you fondly and enjoyed getting to know you and your friends too. We hope to see you soon, Best regards, Sue Chalmers

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
4.8 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
592 reviews
6.1 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,235 reviews
9.4 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,102 reviews
11.4 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
792 reviews
11.5 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A welcoming yet stylish Cotswolds pub with rooms located in the heart of Winchcombe. The Lion Inn has eight lovely en-suite bedrooms, each boasting its own unique detail, such as a vintage Mickey Mouse mural. In your room you’ll find all the mod-cons you need, including soft linens, tea-and-coffee-making facilities and handmade bath and body products, but with the notable exception of a TV – here is a place to really unplug and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: 37 North Street, Winchcombe GL54 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Price Range: ₹ 7,926 - ₹ 14,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Hotel Winchcombe
The Lion Inn Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the annexe where room 5 is”
JaneNearBath, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use the on line if you wish but we chatted to staff and got what we wanted”
DSA948, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 is quirky and characterful but quite noisy until around midnight.”
JuliaR475, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room #2 good size but a bit noisy. Room #4 more quiet but not quite as big.”
estesuk, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms are quite spread out so noise is not a problem”
agsrich, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5