We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 548: English reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night this weekend The staff are friendly and polite But unfortunately the hotel is far from 3 star It's very basic unclean in places especially the bathroom shower areas inside draws etc The general decorations are in much need of a refurbishment as is the lobby areas And the outside area looks very unsightly the car park area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed elements of your stay with us and have reviewed your comments on Booking.com as the primary review point. Car Parking is...

Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Very helpful friendly staff. Room stylish and breakfast more than adequate. For a budget hotel, it is very good value and we certainly would stay again. We didn't find area noisy and whilst the car park is tight, at least there is one!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and our location to be just...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Stayed one night and that was enough. Room very basic, window would not stay open and everything felt cheap. The area was noisy, the car parking very tight, plastic cups, sheets that did not fit correctly and generally not what I expected. I'm sure for some who just want to crash it may be fine, for those who want a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRP23
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent experience at The Big Sleep Hotel, which as you state in your review was simply "not for you" and...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times now,while I take it for what it is reasonably priced ,good for the lads but certainly wouldn't recommend it for couples.Very good location,staff very friendly whilst the breakfast is very average.Is also clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read your return visit to the Hotel but am surprised that you would not consider the Hotel suitable for couples? We are currently in the...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Very good location central Cheltenham, helpful and professional staff, very accommodating, efficient service, stylish room, good secure car park. Very pleasant stay for reasonable price, recommended. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redvers W
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be just what you needed, as many of our guests book for...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, easy to find and so close to town and quiet ! Rooms are comfortable but could probably do with upgrading (carpets, sofas etc) although this didn't affect our stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, we would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be just what you needed, as many of our guests book for...

Solihull, Uk
Reviewed 1 December 2016

stayed with friends for Kevin Wilson Gig at the town hall Got there at 1300 and got space in the very small car park, was allowed to check in early which allowed us to drop bags off :-) stayed in twin room , decent size, large bathroom and a bonus of a 50" LCD TV. Only disappointment with room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wolf306
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our location to be just what you needed, as many of our guests book for...

Somerset
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I stayed at this hotel before with no problems. I just recently contacted them because I am a pensioner and disabled and could not go. I said I could get Doctor's proof of my illness. Even though I gave them over 24 hours notice, they would not refund my money. In this day and age I thought this was terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wellie4Somerset
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. I have tried to contact you by telephone without success to discuss your review and your individual reservation. Please do contact me at the Hotel at your earliest convenice: bookings.cheltenham@thebigsleephotel.com With kind regards Simon Dean | Deputy Hotel Manager

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Great hotel perfect location for shopping , my room was clean and a good size. breakfast was ok for us they served all the basics it was very busy on the sunday morning some other guests were complaining that there was no food and they had been waiting a long time . I found the hotel to be clean tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tilly247
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to read you enjoyed elements of your recent stay with us and found our location to be just what you needed, as many of our guests...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Pleasant 2 night stay here on a Friday and Saturday in November. Pros - Clean, quiet, warm, ensuite room with reasonably comfortable bed, large TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer, safe, mirror and wi-fi. Separate ironing room available. Friendly, helpful staff; reasonable breakfast in small dining area. Cons - Limited, non-reservable, underground gated parking at extra cost (18 extremely tight parking spaces for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_the_Bristolian
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed elements of your stay with us and found the Hotel to be clean, quiet and had the amenities that you required....

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
402 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
0.5 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
1,529 reviews
0.8 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
471 reviews
5.0 km away
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
#1 of 1 in Staverton
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel, Cheltenham, is a 59 bedroom 'limited service' Hotel in the heart of Cheltenham, offering value for money, great customer service, innovative design and an exciting experience away from home. The Hotel is fresh, simple and VERY modern, with a wide range of bedrooms and suites at different prices to suit everyone - from the business person or overseas traveller, to the family on the run. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's, broadband access (chargeable), room safes, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and the latest technology in inter-floor personal security. Although we are a limited service Hotel, we do offer some light meals and snacks either in the Bar area or served to your room. We also provide a complimentary Buffet style Continental Breakfast with 4 hot options of Sausages, Bacon, Baked Beans & Hash Browns, or if you have an early start and not enough time to eat, we offer a 'Breakfast to Go' to then eat at a more convenient time for you. We now have three meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 30 people in The Malkovich Suite, 20 people in The Meeting Room and 12 people in Room 301, depending on the layout of the room. We do have car-parking facilities; these are VERY limited and strictly on a first come first served basis and is chargeable at £6.00 Per vehicle overnight and at £1.00 Per hour prior to check-in and post check-out. Additional parking is available in close proximity to the Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham

Address: Wellington Street | Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, Cheltenham GL50 1XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range: ₹ 3,954 - ₹ 9,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Cheltenham
Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors at the back”
 of 5 bubbles lindadavidpike, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 4th floor naturally has the best views.”
  • I sure hope it was Ribena...
  • View across Regency rooftops, from Room 415.
 of 5 bubbles richardcF7878SU, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No rooms have views and if you keep the windows shut they are all quiet at night.”
  • Furry Curtains!
 of 5 bubbles tessironsi, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors are quieter, and ask away from doors entering the floors and lifts”
 of 5 bubbles StevieandCarl, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A large car would be awkward to park in the limited spaces available. Ask for advice from reception before arriving.”
 of 5 bubbles richardtU4991GU, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay