We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Coach and Horses

Hotels.comUS$ 101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 115*
US$ 101*
Great Deal
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Coach and Horses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of The Coach and Horses
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great time had on my weekend break here. The room I stayed in was very impressive Great food and beer , frendly staff and good service ...All with in a short walk from a stuning little village. Will be back again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you Matt for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Sarah

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First time here and won't be the last. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early. Ground floor room in converted barn was clean large and just right only down side was the creaky floor boards from the room above!! They seem to make a noise every time someone moved!! Fine when they stopped walking around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review it was lovely meeting you both. We look forward to meeting you again soon (Next time we will make sure we have any other soup on then Mushroom ;-)) Thanks again. Sarah

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Advertising local ale but none available ordered two roast beef but only 1 portion of veg and 1 portion of veg but charged for two requested more meat none available offered complimentary sweet or drinks ended up paying for coffee and a free wine very misleading poor service and poor food and no beer !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna R
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Hanna. I have spoken to the Duty Manager who was serving you on Sunday Evening. As you were a party of 4 and 2 of you ordered Beef that was the last we had, however you did have the full portions. The vegetables that came out were served in a bowl but enough for 2...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are back 2 years on, the place is still fantastic. We stopped for Lunch stat in the huge garden the sun was shinning place was packed hard to get parked but they open up the parking around the back of the barn. The food was out standing place has new owners since the last time we came its still...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James O
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review James. Kind Regards Sarah

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here in our motorhome for a night and could not have been more welcomed by all the owners and staff. Food was of a very good standard and reasonable. It has a large beer garden out back . A very enjoyable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark T
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you were made to feel welcome and you enjoyed your food. Kind Regards Sarah

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous pub lunch here. My children ate from the kids menu; sausages and chips (sausages were lovely) and cod and chips, both with baked beans. My young children really enjoyed their food. My husband and I had fish and chips. Really fresh and hot! Great food! Our waitress was lovely and very accommodating - bringing tomato ketchup...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KTGRI
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review :-) yes we welcome children... dogs and well behaved adults :-) we do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Sarah

Northumberland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently spend the night here in our motorhome after we enjoyed a lovely meal in the pub. They have a great little hidden away carpark at the back which is free to use for motorhomes as long as you eat or drinking the pub. Only 15 minutes walk into the beautiful village of Bourton on the Water, which saves...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KNorthumberland7
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

You are very welcome, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Sarah

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi we stayed in our motorhome for two nights,we ate in the pub twice and both times the meals were very nice,good location to walk into bourton on the water.met some lovely people, the staff were very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paul s
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your lovely review. It was lovely seeing you both again :-) we hope to see you both again soon. Kind Regards Sarah

Peterborough, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great service, Sarah was such a friendly and caring person, which makes a big difference to your stay. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed: comfy bed, hot shower, kettle and tea what more dkes one need? We were able to park right outside our door which was really handy. So close to the main village,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bir089
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Briony, It was an absolute pleasure looking after yourself and your Mum. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you have sorted your house out now. Jimmy says "Hi" :-) Kind Regards Sarah

Takeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and i had a meal at the coach and horses on 16th April. We had a table booked for 7:30. When we arrived we were greated by a very helpful waiter who showed us to our table. He couldn't have done enough for us, so polite and very helpful..i managed to get exactly what i wanted and both...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alan_pearce10
James1298, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Sarah

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,131 reviews
1.1 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
519 reviews
1.2 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
521 reviews
1.8 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,045 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 25 in Bourton-on-the-Water
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: ₹ 6,400 - ₹ 10,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
The Coach And Horses Bourton-On-The-Water, Cotswolds, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach and Horses staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't won't to be disturbed by creaky floorboards as for an upstairs room”
mandyb369, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“not sure all good I believe”
T2261VSjameso, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor willbe able to hear the upper floorwalking around, if you are a light sleeper this may bother you.”
bir089, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is no tips you can't view a room, you get given what your given!”
694jacquir, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stable Rooms away from the main building”
326shelaghw, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 101* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 104
PricelineUS$ 104
ElvolineUS$ 115
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates