We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George in Rye

Show Prices
#3 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George in Rye
The George in Rye
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,284: English reviews
Start your review of The George in Rye
 Click to rate
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely old inn that has been modernised. Great facilities if a bit too Farrow & Ball. Comfy beds, huge Victorian roll top bath, good beer. Restaurant quite busy but well staffed and efficient even if they are a bit scruffy. Every male needs to learn to stand a bit closer to the razor! Scallops were perfect, lamb v good, veggy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul s
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful experience at the George. On arrival we found that we had been upgraded to the Hayloft with its stunning furnishings, wonderfully comfortable bed, expansive double bath and very stylish decor. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, the food was first class and I am not sure that I would want to stay anywhere else when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'John N' Thank you for choosing The George for your anniversary celebrations, we were all delighted to read your feedback, thank you so much! We hope you'll come and stay with us again soon. With best wishes The George in rye

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We walked in and was give a table for 2 in the Bar area. It was busy but the food and service was truly excellent with a Bannana Soufle that was superb as was the steak and chips and fish and chips we had. The whole experience was really truly excellent. the young staff were great and clearly enjoying their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Graham T' Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us recently and we hope you'll come and and stay with us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival our 2 night Easter booking, made through an agency, could not be found! However the Reception staff and Manager apologised, sorted the problem and found us a very small double room(no. 5 pretty cramped) for the first night at no charge and moved us the next day to the room we had booked for our second night (11...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Ann W' Thank you for your kind review. We're very sorry to hear about the issue on check-in with your third party booking, but we're pleased to hear it was dealt with swiftly and to your satisfaction. We enjoyed having you to stay over Easter and we hope you'll come and see us again soon! With best wishes The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just had a two night stay at The George in Rye. It is a lovely boutique hotel on the main street. The only downside is the lack of parking. Parking is in the station car park a five minute walk away. Overall though, it is a super place and we had a wonderful stay. Our room (no. 9)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesCaroline
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'JulesCaroline' We were thrilled to see your very kind review, thank you. We're delighted that you liked Room 9 and thrilled to hear that you found the hotel to be well organised and the staff to be accommodating and friendly. Situated in the middle of the cobbled High Street in medieval Rye, there is no car park on site,...

London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is gorgeous; very oldy-woldy but decorated beautifully with lovely little touches like the radio playing in your room when you arrive and a mini cafetiere for coffees. It was in a fantastic location on the highstreet and we had a gorgeous view of the rooftops of Rye from our bedroom. The front of house staff ladies were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
london
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited The George recently as it was highly recommended by friends. We were a bit disappointed with our stay. We appreciate it is an old hotel. We stayed in room 23 and could hear everything from the room above including their ablutions!! We were woken one night at 3am by the guests above us coming in. They started arguing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hitchin_9
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear hitchin_9 Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We’re very sorry to hear that your recent stay fell short of expectations. It’s extremely regrettable that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. Our front desk is manned 24 hours a day and we encourage all of our guests to ring down to reception immediately if...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Rye for the weekend and had a drink here on our last evening . There was a good atmosphere and the staff were friendly and efficient . The food looked very tempting and of a good quality but we had already eaten so unfortunately couldn t eat here on this occasion . On any further visits to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanicolaliam
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'emmanicolaliam' Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasant evening with us and we hope you will come and stay with us soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife booked us in for two nights and selected one of the luxury rooms. I loved it. The room was fantastic with everything of a high standard and a clean and well functioning bathroom. The breakfast was excellent too, with plenty of choice. We did experience a mishap though. We awoke on the first morning to the sound of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'Phil B' Thank you for your very kind review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the maintenance issue, which we'd like to apologise again for. We're pleased this was handled efficiently and to your satisfaction. We hope you'll come and stay with us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

orpington kent
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from The George and Rye. Lady at Reception gave us a very warm and informative welcome upon arrival and this set the tone for a lovely stay. The hotel location is right in the middle of everything and the property is charming. There is a nice bar and restaurant and our rooms were very comfortable, with a bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winterwillie
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George in Rye, responded to this review

Dear 'winterwillie' Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind review! We're delighted you were pleased with all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming your back to the The George soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

766 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (396)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Junior Suite (63)
Viewed
Luxury Room (51)
Viewed
Queen Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.2 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
895 reviews
0.2 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
1,171 reviews
0.4 km away
River Haven Hotel
5.0 km away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George in Rye

Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Price Range: ₹ 8,034 - ₹ 17,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George in Rye 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George in Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George In Rye Hotel Rye
George Hotel Rye
The George Rye
George Rye
The George In Rye East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George in Rye staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The George in Rye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 32 was luxurious”
R6436HWjohnn, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rear rooms overlook dining courtyard but closes at 11.00pm.”
652annw, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher floors might be a little quieter, alternatively a room not next to the side street”
JulesCaroline, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 10 - a steep climb, so not recommended for certain people, but it was hidden away from the noise of the restaurant etc”
EmilyC145, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 20 - ground floor though there is some steps to reach it, but we thought worth the effort.”
TimeTravellersWife00, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5