We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pelham House

Expedia.comUS$ 102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 240*
US$ 102*
US$ 240*
US$ 102*
US$ 240*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pelham House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 737: English reviews
Start your review of Pelham House
 Click to rate
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, very close to all town amenities. Super room with great view overlooking the garden. Large comfy bed. Friendly staff and excellent food. Tight space for parking the only minor drawback. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeL765
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for your review of our hotel. Here at Pelham House Hotel we aim for every stay with us to be a pleasant one, something I am glad to see we could achieve during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Should you be looking to visit us again please contact me directly...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A pleasant place in the heart of Lewes near the castle , friendly staff with lovely views of the Sussex Downs , the food is acceptable and above average for an hotel and they have a good wine list, there are buses to all parts of Sussex and its a short walk to the railway station , on our visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher s
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Christopher for your review of our hotel. Here at Pelham House Hotel we aim for every stay with us to be a pleasant one, something I am glad to see we could achieve during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Should you be looking to visit us again please contact me directly...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a disgrace. It used to be a nice hotel, much better than Shelley's hotel just up the hill but, not anymore. The room, was not clean properly, not hoovered, cobwebs and dust everywhere. The food in the restaurant was nice, but the staff doesn't know what they are doing, very similar experience to comments below. Staff not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathkirk03
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Cathkirk03 for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very disappointed to read your review. I am sorry to see that your stay with us was one that was not up to the standard of which we here at Pelham House Hotel hold ourselves. If I could ask you to make contact with...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really a good address in Lewes. Stylish hotel, beautiful gardens, good restaurant. Special thanks to Angélique who was helpful and charming! I was there for business and arrived at the train station. The hotel is very easy to find and only 10 mn away from the station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markc0nt
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your review of our hotel. I thank you for your kind comments, which are always a welcome read for me. I am pleased to see that your experience with us was an enjoyable one and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. I will pass on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You don't know what you're going to get I have just checked two reviews of this hotel for last weekend and am left wondering what happened between Saturday and Sunday? The only thing I can think is that the 5 star review written on Sunday is false or the person got the wrong hotel My experience was very similar to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Archybald
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Archybald for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very disappointed to read your review. I am sorry to see that your stay with us was one that was not up to the standard of which we here at Pelham House Hotel hold ourselves. Again I extend my apologies to you and do...

Cassington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has great character, rooms are clean, comfortable and facilities are all as one would hope. The restaurant I pleasant, prompt service and food nicely presented. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is a challenge as space is very limited and most people are double parked. On leaving the hotel the street outside is one way and,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel for your review of our hotel. Here at Pelham House Hotel we aim for every stay with us to be a pleasant one, something I am glad to see we could achieve during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Our parking is unfortunately very limited and we recommend the Lewes station...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful room with huge on-suite bath/shower room. Lovely view over-looking the gardens. Meal was excellent with superb cheeseboard and port. The kitchen decorated my wife's desert plate with chocolate piping with her name and wishing her a happy anniversary. James and Chloe stood out amongst the waiting staff, being attentive and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyPolain
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Tony for your review of our hotel and Happy Anniversary too you both. Reviews such as yours are always a pleasure to read. As a team here at Pelham House Hotel we do our best to ensure that every guest who stays with us received the best in service. We would very much like to welcome you to...

Attard
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Could be the best Hotel on central Lewes but the room we were given and the price we had too pay was disappointing. Room at the attic, low entrance door, slanting bathroom floor, had to bend to take a bath, and the window had to Bodley kept closed as it was exposed to the inside corridor. For £115 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mario B
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Mario for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to see that your stay with us was not to the standard you were looking for. The floors in some of our rooms are slanted, this is something that we are aware of and unfortunately cannot do anything about, as much as I...

london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is the worst I've stayed in for a very long time maybe ever Greeting You haven't paid - we had through travel company Afternoon tea finished - nothing offered instead but we did eventually get a cup of tea We had to ask 3 times for our bags to be taken to room - front house staff didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank currra321
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very disappointed to read your review. I am sorry to see that your stay with us was one that was not up to the standard of which we here at Pelham House Hotel hold ourselves. If I could ask you to make contact with me...

North Lancing
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had cause to revisit the restaurant of this hotel despite a dreadful experience there last September. Our apprehension was relieved by a friendly welcome from James who then took personal responsibility to ensure this time our experience would be memorable for the right reasons. The menu was comprehensive and varied. Starters arrived promptly and the service was very attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Keith for your review of our hotel. I thank you for your kind comments, which are always a welcome read for me. I am pleased to see that your experience with us was an enjoyable one and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for your...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
365 reviews
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
928 reviews
3.7 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
10.1 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Pelham House Restaurant
Pelham House Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pelham house offers 36 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane | East Sussex, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: ₹ 6,815 - ₹ 16,743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pelham House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pelham House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I did not find either the rooms we stayed in good”
harryd366, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the garden (although I expect that will cost extra) as they should be quieter.”
GrahamL767, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Refuse to have the converted garage rooms - justawful.”
PlumBailey, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
paulvwalker1, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book a parking space prior to arrival!”
Chris-the-Stokie, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 102* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 102
AMOMAUS$ 240
CancelonUS$ 114
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates