We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Hart Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 105*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 912: English reviews
Start your review of White Hart Hotel
 Click to rate
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Visited for a weekend, well situated in the high st exceptional staff very helpful and friendly mediocre breakfast but excellent evening meal. Hotel in need of some care and attention but overall it has been an enjoyable visit and would visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne D
Sussex
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I purchased a Groupon deal for afternoon tea and spa access at the Hotel. The fact that the Hotel has a good amount of parking available for free in central Lewes is a real plus, despite the steep gradients to reach parts of it (don't take a car that grounds out easily). Staff were pleasant and efficient. In terms of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amie_p
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Honestly! I've never heard such a massive bunch of moaners in my life! There's clearly a real problem with online reviews. When we read all these comments we were really inclined to not even bother coming. They were so bad! So after a fantastic stay we really felt urged to write a review. We arrived on Sunday and parked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander H
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Purchased a Wowcher deal for me and my hubby, the hotel is a very old building that is looking tired, there are some lovely original features throughout the building but the room we stayed in was very plain although the bed was very comfy, the view from our window was horrid,looking out over a flat roof, which was a shame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I purchased a Groupon Spa & Cream Tea deal for my sister and myself. Parking at the rear of the hotel gave an indication of what to expect. Run down, tired, dirty, shabby. Although the hotel has some beautiful original features and the town centre location is ideal, a hotel can live of its past glory. I note the manager's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medebe_12
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your afternoon tea at the hotel. I can reassure you we are under way of a refurbishment on the hotel certain areas are being done first the pool has been retiled as well as the spa bath the pool side has been redecorated and weight room has been redecorated and new carpet. Our regular customers...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the day here with a friend, we had looked up the reviews the day before going and were convinced it was going to be awful but it wasn't! We were welcomed at the main reception desk and the spa reception, we were given towels, not the size of a tea towel as another person has said! The changing rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review Sarah as you can we have made a couple of changes from other people's reviews and nice to see customers are noticing a change to the hotel hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading the reviews I must admit I was a bit worried about my Spa day with my friend but we were very surprised. We have lovely day and our bubbley afternoon tea was the best we have eaten The Hotel is old so what do people expect. The steam room and sauna were amazing one of the best ive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaxed117
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review I fully understand that we do need more chairs in the leisure area when we have busy days. I hope to get this issue resolved very soon thank you and hope to see you again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bought a night's stay with breakfast and evening meal on Groupon. Hotel perfectly situated in Lewis with it's own car park. Hotel, although in need of a little updating , is very comfortable. The meal we had as part of the deal was excellent and the staff were delightful especially the young lady serving in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review regarding the white hart. we are under a refurbishment at the hotel and hope to have this fully resolved before the end of the year I will pass on the lovely review to Lucy who was serving in the restaurant that evening. Once again thank you and hope to see you again soon

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a room with breakfast for hubby and me through wowcher. It was a pretty good deal compared to the prices I have seen elsewhere for one night with breakfast. However, after booking the wowcher I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and became worried. I needn't have been, we had a fab stay! The room itself was cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank behappie
GAC380, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. beautiful review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the White Hart hotel. we aim to give everybody a good nights sleep and feel we have achieved this so thank you hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had given my mum a groupon voucher for afternoon tea with bubbly, and access to the spa for her birthday. We arrived and could not believe how awful it was. First of all, the smell which hit us (musty and mouldy) The carpets were thread bare, and the windows were filthy. We started with a cream tea.. the tea...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darecy
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

sorry you did not enjoy the afternoon tea. as the general manager I thrive myself on customer service yet non of this was reported to myself or the duty manager on site that day. I find it odd that customers such as yourself would not report this to the duty manager on site, yet complain to trip advisor who cannot...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
737 reviews
0.4 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
361 reviews
3.7 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,138 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
8.9 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: ₹ 5,779 - ₹ 8,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on top levels will have better views of the South Downs than those at lower levels as it is in a built up area”
barbaralY8619EF, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask to stay in the hotel rather than in the rooms in the grounds”
138suer, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The four poster Pelham room”
Tedwestie1, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with four poster.Rooms overlooking High Street resulted in traffic and other noise nuisance.”
AlanW567, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check where your room is”
weller_katrina, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 105* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 105
TravelocityUS$ 107
Expedia.comUS$ 107
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates