We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maon Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Maon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I can only base my experience on their customer service; i was unable to attend my booking due to physical limitations thus had to cancel. The hotel not only accepted my cancelation but also waived the cancelation fee. They were very helpful from the start and sent me emails to ensure i'll be welcome when i arrive. Based on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j c
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

If you are looking for a luxury Hotel, then the Maon Hotel is not for you. If you are looking for good value, then I can strongly recommend it. The breakfast is a good indicator of the quallity of a hotel, and the full breakfast at the Maon is outstanding, with good bacon and sausages, fresh tomatoes, and and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon_travellor
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed there recently very dated although looks like they have tried to update shared bathroom and toilets appalling toilet almost fell over in one closet walls very thin can hear ever word in next room,staff friendly breakfast was ok ish but all in all price of £95.00 per night would have expected better all round

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoggy20132
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Have just spent another week at the Maon and what a great time we had. Went down to see Pride in Brighton and well worth the effort. Maureen and Les, Kirsty and Sandy makes us most welcome as they always do as we have stayed here before. Stayed in one of the new refurbished rooms and it was very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my sister over pride weekend, Friday-Monday morning in a twin room, having booked in January. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given the keys to our room. I don't understand why people have been complaining about breakfast having an allocated time in previous reviews; It's a family business and these ladies work very hard, I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debz94
MaonHotel, Manager at Maon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Maon Hotel. We're pleased to hear you had such a great time and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived here a bit earlier than he check in time but the room was ready and the lady was very friendly and helpful. Think we had the only room with an ensuite shower. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside to this room was the shower, not very powerful, and a small cubicle for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyndiLouise
MaonHotel, Manager at Maon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Maon Hotel.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I stayed at the Maon Hotel for a couple of nights for a work trip, and found the staff to be friendly, helpful and welcoming. My journey down to Brighton was delayed, so I arrived an hour after check in was supposed to end (7pm) but this was no problem for them at all, which I was very grateful for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
MaonHotel, Manager at Maon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Maon Hotel. We take all of your comments on board and hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Went with my partner on the last Bank Holiday in May. Prices inflated somewhat... but that is Brighton for you. Room was OK ( but stank of paint) but the décor was somewhat dated. needs a refit. Staff nice and friendly but it wasn't what I would have accepted as a hotel, more like a hostel. sorry guys you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

The beds are comfy enough but that's about it. Avoid the breakfast it was foul and only served for 45 minutes at an ungodly hour for a Sunday morning. The cleaning is done between 10 and 11. Ahem. But not while we stayed, those vacuum cleaners were like that when we arrived and when we left two days later. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
MaonHotel, Manager at Maon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. It's very unfortunate that you couldn't mention any of this to us whilst you were here. You did mention the shower being too hot, and somebody straight away went up to check it to see what the problem was and adjusted the thermostat, which is free for anybody who uses it...

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Location is quite close to the beach and the city centre. The room itself was fine, comfortable bed, though quite a cramped room, and there are 4 rooms CRAMPED onto each floor-with a 4x4' entry space. Also toilets/showers etc are on the landings below. Not convenient. The entry to the hotel is cramped too, but then we're talking cheaper range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Altair108
MaonHotel, Manager at Maon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Maon Hotel. I wanted to comment on a few of the points that you have made. Firstly, you booked the room Saturday afternoon, to stay that night for one night only, so it was a very last minute booking. You took the last room that we had available, which...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#3 of 99 in Brighton
1,170 reviews
0.3 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 99 in Brighton
325 reviews
0.1 km away
Boydens
Boydens
#42 of 99 in Brighton
99 reviews
0.1 km away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#52 of 99 in Brighton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Maon Hotel

Address: 26 Upper Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 4,628 - ₹ 8,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not recommended if you have poor mobility. The toilets and showers have quite tricky steps from the level of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Simon_travellor, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road can be quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 930emilyh, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 excellent king size bed with en suite”
 of 5 bubbles brendal89, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Try and avoid a room at the front as the windows aren't double glazed and traffic is fairly constant till the early hours”
 of 5 bubbles 19MGD2266, 22 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Room 7 is great!”
 of 5 bubbles BethanyM535, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay