We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gullivers Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 94*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 94*
US$ 94*
US$ 94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Start your review of Gullivers Hotel
 Click to rate
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Gulliver's is a complete dive with dirty rooms, cold showers, horrible burned breakfast, broken lights, rude staff, uncomfy beds wonky floors. I've stayed in nicer hostels and can't believe how this place stays open. The room we were given backed onto a busy street with bars so we hardly slept. The dodgie windows mean you hear drunk people, cars and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

silva and I were here Saturday night, we booked into gullivers but when we arrived(20 mins after booking) they said all the rooms were taken and we were going to their sister hotel just around the corner. we walked to the alternative hotel and shown to our room. They told us it was a gold standard room worth £150 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve n
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice staff, but I did not realize that "shower in the room" did not imply that there was also a toilet in the room. The toilet was down the hall, and I had to walk past a stairway that led down to the front (glass!) door. My shower drain was also so slow that I had to stop in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted with broken and cracked steps outside the hotel, not a good first impression. We checked in and were told that we must eat breakfast in our bedroom as children were not permitted in the dining room, if I had known this when booking I would have looked elsewhere. We were shown to our triple room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte Y
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte Y, Thank you for your visit recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are sincerely apologetic for the issues encountered with your first room and are truly sorry to hear that you were likewise dissatisfied with your second room, especially in light of our discussion whereby you informed me that you...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is smelly all day long. Terrible smell, sometimes of food and sometimes of sewage. This is extremely unacceptable. Had also to remove tv to be able to use the mirror. Bathroom door has no lock. Room door had to be locked by key, otherwise u can just push it and walk in. Stayed for 4 nights and never again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kareemdahawy
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kareemdahawy, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit. Having read through your feedback, we sincerely regret that we were not aware of your discontent during your stay, especially as you stayed with us for quite a few days. Please be assured that our 24...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here again last weekend. Have stayed here many times now over the years and always enjoy coming back. The hotel is perfectly situated and boasts helpful, friendly staff. Upon our most recent stay we opted to book a family room simply for extra space. We weren't disappointed. Recommend highly no matter what season you make your visit. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominator_91
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dominator_91, Thank you for staying with us recently, it was a pleasure to see you again! Your feedback is very generous and it is always a delight when we are able to fulfil expectations time and again. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here for others. Indeed we always advise guests to enquire about our...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night with my partner. Location is good - close to lots of restaurants, and fifteen minute walk if you want The Lanes. Our room was clean and warm but very dated, and in need of an upgrade. Tucked at the back of the hotel, it had it's own bathroom and separate toilet, with a single bedroom attached. Impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacky M, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel as your place of residence during your visit to Brighton. We are very grateful for the feedback offered, which has been passed directly onto the Proprietor of the hotel and our heads of department so that they can be taken on board and rectified where necessary. We are happy nonetheless...

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here last night. The room was spotless and so comfortable it's probably the best nights sleep I've had in a while! Water could do with being a degree or two hotter in the bathroom but that's personal preference. Lovely staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey N
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynsey N, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Not least of all your high praise regarding the quality of sleep offered. We hope to see you again in the future and please don't hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings, so as to benefit...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Booked a room to accommodate my mum and my nephew as I live nearby. They were very friendly and helpful as I ask for a room on the lowest floor possible with my mum being an OAP. Although there is no lift, the stairs are very manageable. Room was at the back (but then price in midst of summer for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain D
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alain D, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel and for your kind feedback. We are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay with us and that we were able to both accommodate your needs and make them feel welcome away from home. We hope that they had a safe trip following their departure and that you...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this Hotel through LateRooms, the hotel itself had a 'Good' Rating with 4/6. The room was cheap at £60 a night, so I booked after looking through the photos. The hotel is split into two buildings situated a couple of doors away from each other on the same street. The rooms seemed Ok, but it's evident that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to comment on your visit. We are very sorry to see that you were not wholly satisfied with your stay and hope to address some of your concerns below. Please be advised that the hotel is not split into two - however we...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#45 of 97 in Brighton
617 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
342 reviews
0.0 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Marine View Hotel Brighton
#59 of 97 in Brighton
198 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#22 of 97 in Brighton
487 reviews
0.2 km away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 97 in Brighton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 3,970 - ₹ 9,511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had room no 5 but close the windows as the sea gulls are up early.”
steven150, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that your room has a bathroom with a toilet.”
972karene, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms can have sea views. Lower floors can suffer from noise from bar and people coming in and out but less street noise at back.”
, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to a Travelodge instead”
spyr088, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in the front and very noisy.”
anno787, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 94* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 94
PricelineUS$ 94
TripAdvisorUS$ 94
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates