We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Steine Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Steine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for New Steine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 563: English reviews
austria, vienna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

we were nicely welcomed in the new steine otel by a very ambitious and helpful concierce. we booked over splendia.com and got a free upgrade to a seaview room which was really great. the room was on the second floor and my poor boyfriend had to carry the heavy bags over the steap and narrow stairs. the room number 107... More 

Helpful?
Thank corrinska
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments with regards our property. I am so sorry if you were not offered assistance with your luggage - I will speak to the General Manager about this, and I do not hope it spoiled your first impressions. With regards the bathroom, I have passed on your comments... More 

Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Very dissapointed with this hotels attitude to young children. When we booked which was admitedly last minute due to london to brighton cycle ride, we booked a "family room". We were never told that they do not accept young children in the restaurant, this we learned to our embarassment the following morning in front of fellow guests, after having struggled... More 

Helpful?
Thank brit26
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your disappointment during your stay and I apologise if our policy was not explained to you prior to you booking or at check in. As our restaurant is only a small intimate bistro, we do ask that any families with very young children or babies take breakfast in their rooms, which we happily offer... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Just stayed at The New Steine hotel, & we really enjoyed it. Communications via email with the hotel prior to our arrival were simple & hassle free. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Brighton Pier & about 15 minutes walk to The Lanes, & we found this an ideal chance to stroll through Brighton. The weather was horrendous... More 

Helpful?
Thank beauty-on-the-fire
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - shame about the weather - I have passed on your comments with regards Breakfast to our Management team to look into it. We do hope we have the pleasure of inviting you back to stay again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My Wife and I booked this hotel based on the reviews and Iv got to say I am suprised how Average this Hotel was.We booked the junior suite that meant we were unlucky put down in the basement it had a patio that the staff would come and go to the managers office via a gate this meant our bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank CATFORD1971
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Nice and friendly staff and in a good central location. 5 minutes from The Pier and The Lanes. Its more of a guest house than a hotel but the rooms were finished nicely and were very clean. The restaurant/bar area was very well decorated. Good value for money too. Wouldn't recommend booking dinner though as there are so many local... More 

Helpful?
Thank helenmag
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Staff were totally helpful A+++++ service. Breakfast Woooow out of this world. Best location, because every services is just 5 mins away (Shops,restaurants, etc). Most important it is spotless clean.

Helpful?
Thank Ztribe
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will pass onto the team how happy you were with the service, the cleanliness and the breakfast. We always like to ensure our guest's have a perfect stay and I do hope you will come back to us soon. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel was very easy to find and in a really good location not far from the pier. Room was not ready when we got there which was fine as it was 11.00 and got told it would be ready by 3pm. When we got to our rooms they were clean tidy but not over big. We had a view... More 

Helpful?
Thank Huntsalt
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are sorry if you did not feel it was up to standard. We have a selection of room types within the Hotel and try and upgrade people when we can, as I see that one of your party was. The bathrooms in some of the rooms are unfortunately small but being... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We went as a party of 11 and had a fab time in Brighton the location of this hotel was brilliant. Our quad room was a big basement flat which was very clean the other quad room was on the top floor it was a bit squashed in there for four people but they were happy as it was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMR75
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed 2 nights with my son and we thoroghly enjoyed it. We stayed in a superior twin with plenty of room and en suite shower. It is ideally situated, the prom is at the end of the street and bars etc close by on St James st. Will definitely stay there again

Helpful?
Thank gazruss
Harlow
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My Sister booked this Hotel on the internet from Switzerland for my Husband and me to meet her in Brighton. We didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to find this small but immaculate Hotel conveniently close to the City Centre. All the staff were very attentive and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank dondieharlow
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We always do our utmost to ensure guests have a great stay with us and I am so glad that this was your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Management More 

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,168 reviews
0.2 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#25 of 44 in Brighton
387 reviews
0.0 km away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#73 of 99 in Brighton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 99 in Brighton
323 reviews
0.0 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#38 of 99 in Brighton
230 reviews
1.3 km away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 99 in Brighton
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 4,209 - ₹ 9,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Steine Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from New Steine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxury prices but at best Mid-range”
 of 5 bubbles earley61, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles swills503903, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you go for a Superior you have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles F691DCchristinec, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A lower level room.”
 of 5 bubbles 216suzannef, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for an upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles downlandsWorthing, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay