We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,866: English reviews
Ufford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

i was attracted by the newly revamped public rooms but the bedrooms are really run down and not the same standard at all. the manager did warn that beach side rooms would be noisy at night and this was fine and expected, but the views were limited. the venue rooms were quite good but the layout is really confusing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanng2013
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I attended this hotel on a one night, dinner, bed and breakfast Wowcher deal. We often use these deals in hotels all over the UK and thought we would try The Old Ship Hotel having always fancied staying in a seafront hotel. We paid for parking at the hotel which is expensive but the location of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dicksoncl
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dicksoncl, thank you for your review and all your comments are passed to all departments and team members. As we are located right at the sea front and Brighton is such a vibrant city, can caused the noise, however if reported we deal with each noise complaint individually and with care. Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just come back from a lovely weekend away. We thought we give the old ship a try, as we always stay at the waterfront. On arrival we was offered a upgrade to a bigger room with sea views from the side. This costing a further forty pounds on top of the two hundred and eighty pounds paid. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue B, I'm sorry, that you sleep was disturbed on this occasion. Our guest's comfort is our priority, and therefore each bedroom has a disclaimer advising guest what to do, if sleep is disturbed. We offer very competitive prices for central Brighton, with higher prices over the weekend. I do hope you would reconsider and return to us. Kind...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Old Ship for the weekend as we were going to the theatre and decided to make the visit into a mini break. The hotel is 4* , centrally located for the Lanes and the Pavilion and has great sea views. The public rooms and reception are well presented. The lifts however, are from the earliest days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selgris
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Selgris, thank you for your review and we are sorry that we have not met your expectation. All your comments have been passed to correct department and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to our newly refurbished rooms soon. Thank you and my best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

enfield
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just stayed 2 nights at the old ship hotel in Brighton. Been meaning to stay here for years but for various reasons never got round to it. We have previously stayed at the grand and the metropole. I prefer the old ship to the metropole. Location is just perfect. Obviously it's on the seafront and near the edge of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asilon
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear asilon, thank you for the kind review and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reception team offers room upgrades to bigger rooms and it is based upon availability, hopefully for your next stay we will be able to do offer for you. Thank you and my best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of the House Manager

Overton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had an overnight stay and 2 day work conference based at this hotel. My room was large with partial sea views, I was very impressed. Breakfast was very good and staff extremely friendly. Brighton is a great place to visit and would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel M, Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased were impressed with your stay and that all staff members was helpful, I will make sure your comments are passed on to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton on your next visit. Kind regards Tommy Merrington Duty Manager

Kent England
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is a Brighton classic but is very tired and the service is not good A premier sea view room had thread bear carpets and filthy windows. The bar food was very poor waiting over 45 minutes to receive dried up sandwiches. The hotel parking at £25 was well worth the cost and the service was first class. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham1Kent
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham1Kent, thank you for your review and all you comments were passed on to Food and Beverage department. We are glad that you found our garage team to provide first class service during your stay. We hoping to welcoming you back again. Thank you and my regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in straight forward enough, but without much cheer, other than a welcome stick of rock. Room on top floor, elevator felt like you were taking a bit of a chance, but was probably the most exciting thing about the place. Room, facing the side street with the car park entrance and featuring a heavily restricted view towards the sea,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank king_of_muffins
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear king_of_muffins, thank you for your review and we are sorry that we have not met your expectation. All you comment are passed to each department to be revised and addressed further. Thank you and my best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked an August bank holiday weekend stay here with my girlfriend. The price wasn't cheap, but also not excessive for a bank holiday stay. When we arrived they upgraded us to a deluxe with sea view, and they really wowed with the selection. We didn't eat at the hotel, choosing instead to eat out, so I can't comment on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mglinearart
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mglinearart, It was great to learn, that we were able to accommodate you with an upgrade to one of our Deluxe sea view bedrooms. I was very pleased, that the hotel met your expectations and that you would return. Thank you for this great review. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we always book this room but have stayed in another. we book sea view with a door that opens with a small balcony that you cant use just for dors to open onto. great in summer obviously nor needed in winter. fan in room. little dated but clean an all that's required. unfortunately sea front is rather noisy ,very busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank june m
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear june m, Thank you for your review. It was great to learn, that you had a lovely time while you'd stayed. Unfortunately hurricane Angus did caused a lot distraction all around the country, with winds reaching 80 mph. Being in prime position on the seafront this could be expected. I hope this didn't caused you to much trouble, and...

867 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (577)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (236)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,178 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,039 reviews
2.9 km away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 44 in Brighton
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 5,364 - ₹ 14,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors and newly decorated rooms best choice”
  • One of the best sea view rooms
 of 5 bubbles leanng2013, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is very noisy with traffic and people walking past”
 of 5 bubbles dicksoncl, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose a room with a sea view”
  • cracked window frames
  • Cracked window frames
  • broken door handles
  • scroll in to see the cracks
  • replacement door lock
  • scroll in to see wallpaper peeling
 of 5 bubbles Selgris, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book an upgrade from standard room”
 of 5 bubbles asilon, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are well worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles Graham1Kent, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay