We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,896: English reviews
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Myself and my mother stayed for one night in February - the staff on reception were very helpful and the same during the breakfast service! The room however was very run down, the floorboards were so squeaky throughout the room you could not move without alerting half the hotel, the bathroom was also very rundown and the door did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serena B
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Serena B, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your stay with us was disturbed on this occasion, we do deal with each noise complaint as it reported to us. We do plan to announce refurbishment plans to our rooms soon, I do hope you would reconsider and return to us again in the future. Kind regards, Tommy Merrington...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We drove down to Brighton on a Friday after work for a 1 night stay which was lovely, the location was great and the rooms very comfy. The only thing I'd suggest is parking in the Lanes car park if you are staying over night as it £25 for 24 hours where as the hotel charges £25 from once you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniella D, Thank you for your great review. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. We try everything we can to keep you informed of our services, I'm sorry if you was not aware of our parking rates, this information will be available at the time of booking. We look forward to welcoming you back on...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Situated on the seafront, rooms were so comfortable. Staff so friendly and nice. Breakfast was fantastic with so many choices. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Wonderful place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Potterlad
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Potterlad, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your good comments to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kindest regards, Tommy Merrington Duty Manager

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay at The Old Ship Hotel. Superb location for central Brighton. Room was lovely and spacious with all the things you need. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Lovely breakfast. Will definately be coming back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mick b
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mike b, Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brighton. Kindest regards, Tommy Merrington Duty Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Valet parking was very good. The room was clean and inviting, very comfortable bed. On suit was clean but lacked an extractor fan. The complimentary shower gel, shampoo and hand cream was not to my liking as fragrance was very bland. The food was excellent but someone had put black pepper corn in the salt pot which ruin the meal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane W, Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my colleagues for not replacing your dinner. I'll make sure this will be passed on to the Food and Beverage manager. I was really pleased, that you found our location convenient for your stay. With warm wishes, Miriam, Guest Relations

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was full of great historic character, staff excellent, food excellent, location excellent. I know our coach party enjoyed the stay whilst going to the 2017 Ice Show a few minutes walk away. I hope personally that I am able to visit this hotel again whilst visiting Brighton. Maybe a lick of paint would help on making the bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeandrobin1
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janeandrobin1, thank you very much for a lovely review and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Hotel is planning refurbishment in future so I believe your next stay can be in one of the new rooms. Thank you and my regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bit worried about the parking, but shouldn't have been, valet parking was an excellent start to our stay. The hotel is old but has had a face-lift. The room we had was very nice, clean and roomy. The only downside was the noise, not from residents just outside noise, it was quite noisy so in the summer i can imagine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alistair k
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alistair k, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff first class as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. My best regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

Walmer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over for a night with business. Room was clean and well presented although carpet was clearly stained and window frame was dirty on the inside. Linen was fresh but overall aesthetics were lovely. Breakfast was average, lunch was lovely as was dinner, except could have had a few more waiting staff as such a long wait for delivery of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire H H
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire HH, thank you for your review and thank you for bringing to our attention your dinner experience. All your comments are passed to relevant department. Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you soon again and we will meet your expectation. Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night over the weekend, the hotel was good value for money. We were staying in a standard double with a sea view. The room was good sized and well equipped. The window was large and the view was great. Only negative was that we got an unwanted wake up call at 5am which wasn't ideal. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom M, thank you for your lovely review and apology for wake up call which has not been scheduled for you. We hope you have enjoyed your stay and we will welcoming you back again soon. Thank you and my regards, Katarina Dobociova Front of House Manager

Wombourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a great few days with friends. We were on a three night package which proved to be excellent value for money The staff were impeccable and couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent from the breakfasts to the lunches to the evening meals People have been detrimental about the hotel well let's put in perspective...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda D, Thank you for this amazing review. I'm really glad, that you had discovered and appreciate the charm of this incredible, historical building, dating back to 1559. We strongly hope we will be your next chosen hotel in Brighton on your next visit. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

874 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (584)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (241)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,237 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,059 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 5,456 - ₹ 13,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For views ask for a room at the front but beware its a student down and so can be very loud!”
 of 5 bubbles serenab491, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view, the front of the building, would be perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles janeandrobin1, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and get an inside facing room the roadside was noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 739alistairk, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have great sea views but are very noisy - take your pick!”
 of 5 bubbles Londonsage, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a table at restaurant for your meal to save any confusion.”
 of 5 bubbles NorthLondonBarney, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay