We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Home Brighton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Home Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Home Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

Failed to point out a cancellation fee and conditions, so I ended up paying £100. The "manager" is rude and doesn't even understand English or speak it fluently. Didn't introduce himself on the phone, very blunt and unwelcoming. The place is disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shayneechap
journeysbrighton, Owner at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Mason, According to our cancellation policy, any cancellations made at a minimum of 24 hrs before the arrival date are fully refunded if paid for or not chargeable at all. The deposit is not refundable in any case. Since you called us on the day of arrival which is clearly less than 24 hrs, we had to mark your...

Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Overall, it was handy to count on this hostel to stay but this time round, flaws outweighed good sides. The atmosphere is still relaxed and friendly, however cleanliness has become a problem and some member of staff act as if it wasn't theirs. Bins in rooms or kitchen are often overwhelmed by trash, toilets and bathrooms are dirty. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fred W
journeysbrighton, Owner at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Fred, Thank you for your review and your feedback, Feedback about how we run our business is very important and we do our best to action and resolve the issues and areas of improvement to the best of our abilities. Since your review, we have had the following changes implemented: 1) Rigorous Housekeeping checks in place to make sure...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2015

This must be the cheapest hostel I've ever stayed in, brilliant. You'd easily pay triple the price elsewhere for the same quality. That said, you don't get much for your money. The bedrooms are very stuffy, warm and a bit stinky, the mattresses are very thin, the bathrooms are quite unhygienic, the tables are sticky, but nothing a traveller won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjaaan
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the double room which started off bad as the room smelt, no curtains in the windows, radiator does not work you have a tiny little heater that makes the room smell like its burning, tv does not work, bed is very uncomfortable and squeaky. In my room there was a shower which did not work was full...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank melissa b
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Please, please, do not visit this hostel. The whole place is filthy and run down. The rooms are unbelievably hot and smell like the socks of someone who has been on an exercise bike for three hours. These metal contraptions that form triple bunk beds are barely big enough to fit an average sized person and the risk they will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben C
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I get that you can't expect luxury when hostelling but you have to keep some standards and this place just didn't. There was no curtain on the window, the double duvet had a single duvet cover on it and the room wasn't clean (there was an old yoghurt pot in our room). Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hippo2015
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I found this hostel to be unnecessarily dirty. Everything could do with a good scrub and the hostel room smelt overwhelmingly stale. The bunk beds were very rickety and sleeping on the top bunk felt like a real health and safety hazard. In addition to this, the free breakfast is so bad its quite funny. All you get is bread...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Francesca B
Reviewed 30 March 2015

The staff are pretty friendly and the common room is ok. It's also pretty cheap. However, the shower room is akin to a cesspit: human hair and God knows what else floats around on an inch of water, making it impossible to get dressed, should you manage to get as far as actually washing yourself. Be warned.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew W
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015

A putrid hell hole which had no form of cooling so the temperature got to over 40oC. Staff wandering in and out of out rooms in the early hours of the morning to shut our one tiny window did not help. Showers were disgusting. Staff were miserable. Never Ever Again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThreeSpoons
journeysbrighton, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time and write your review. We will investigate and take action about your comment. Since your last stay in June 2015, the hostel have a new management starting November 2015 and therefore they are improving areas which was having a poor review.

Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff very approachable 'helpful,amazing atmosphere during the evening it's like a party,nice people,good breakfast ,I enjoyed my trip in Brighton and I recommend this hostel to everyone who wants something good,the prices are ok as well not so high not so cheap just medium . Very good overall

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moldo A

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,182 reviews
0.4 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,039 reviews
0.5 km away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 23 in Brighton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reception hours: Sun - Wed 8am - 2am Thu Fri Sat 24hrs Guests have 24-hour access to their rooms during their stay. We provide stylish backpacker’s accommodation that is centrally located just a short walk from Brighton Bus/Train Stations on the site of the old Richmond Pub which stood for over 150 years, and Pressure Point club, which was well known for hosting bands such as Radiohead, and DJs such as Carl Cox. Our vibrant social area is ideal for meeting like-minded travellers as we only accept genuine backpackers. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and comfy sofas. Brighton is exciting and vibrant with lots to offer, the beach, Royal Pavilion, North Laines for shopping and the famous Brighton Pier all within walking distance. Also nearby there are a variety of bars and nightclubs, which our staff will be happy to recommend. Skydiving, bungee jumping, beach volleyball, Scuba diving, surfing and sea fishing trips are also readily available. Our dorm beds each come with their own power socket and linen included. We also have lockers and towels available for hire. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double rooms have a large, comfy double bed. Free high speed 200 meg WiFi is provided throughout the whole building Homebackpackers is the only British hostel group to offer free pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: A variety of cereals. Unlimited toast and jams, honey, Nutella Orange juice Pancakes Tea and coffee We only accept bona fide backpackers at Brighton and London Home Backpackers Home Brighton Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms between 2pm and 11pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home Backpackers however; we do require that a valid photo identification is presented upon check in, Passport, I.D. card or driving license along with a credit or debit card in the same name. We will require a cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, driver's licenses, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys and towels back to reception. Late checkout or lost items are subject to charges. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests’ aged between 18 and 35 years. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old traveling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Brighton

Address: 33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 1,222 - ₹ 9,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Brighton 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Home Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Brighton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Home Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double ensuite has a massive tv and nice shower room,”
 of 5 bubbles matbrown991, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good location, easy access to train station, restaurant and bar”
 of 5 bubbles jv20162016, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floor. 6 bed dorms or fewer. Not fab for sleepwalkers. Don't be too picky”
 of 5 bubbles 511jessiem, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in a 6 bed dorm and found that there was little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles lukem891, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“choose a room at another hostel!!”
 of 5 bubbles anona872, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay