We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Home Brighton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Home Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Home Brighton
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hostel is at a quiet ish street, near to the beach and to the shops / train station. Lady with good hair at the bar was very friendly upon check in / check out. There's also a shop that opens till wee hours in the morning right by the hostel. The four of us stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanlow
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Greetings Joan, Thank you for the lovely review, your party was a pleasure to host. Please feel free to pop in and sample a drink of your choice when your next in the area. We aim to make the hostel experience as enjoyable as possible for all of our guests and we're glad you were satisfied. From all the staff...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel itself was very good for the money you pay (includes breakfast), very friendly staff, clean rooms, some with en suite. The pub downstairs had a very good atmosphere, and is open til 2am (but isn't so loud it keeps the whole hostel awake). Only minus point is that the room was very hot during the night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Homebackpacker, Front Office Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments :)

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Had a great 2 night weekend stay (Fri & Sat) away from London at the newly branded Home backpackers in Brighton.... all the staff really friendly, especially Poppy the cat! Great pancakes at Breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Homebackpacker, Front Office Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. Come and visit us (and Poppy) again soon :)

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

great place to stay , centrally located, i am aware it has had mixed reviews but it's due to reviews about a previous management. staff helpful and recommend local places to eat. ideally located. only complaint, no really a complaint but advice would be the self catering kitchen should have an extractor fan . having been disrupted twice due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lara996
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Lara and Chris, Thanks for your honest and kind response, it's important to connect with our guests and keep them happy. We do in fact have an extractor above the hob in our kitchen so there shouldn't be need for a new one, it's just making sure everyone knows it's there. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

I know this place has had some mixed reviews, but I think this is because trip advisor doesn't delete reviews even if was previously a different company (which is the case here). Home Brighton is vibrant, as you enter there's a fully stocked bar with amazing draughts and great cocktails (way more than I expected for £8.99 - including hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erie12017
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind response, it's great to have our guests on board with helping our reputation and improving on things suggested. We look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards, Erin James, Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed so far. I think it's one of the most important reasons why guests choose this hostel. The staff were brilliant, especially dear Sarah is very friendly and helpful. It's central located with a nice park and shops nearby. You may have a nice breakfast and feel the home atmosphere in the communual area. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yasinguven6
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and taking the time to leave us positive feedback! The transition to Home Brighton seems to have had great, positive responses and we only hope to improve more in the future. Come visit us again soon! Many thanks, Erin James. Home Brighton.

Belgium
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay on a budget, friendly staff, great wifi and well located approximately 15 min walk from the coach station and pier. Even closer to the shops. On the downside the 3 storage metal bunkbeds aren't the most stable and can shake quite heavily when the person on top is turning/crawling about (woke up a couple of times...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dirk S
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Dirk, Thankyou so much for your review, guest satisfaction is always important to us and we are always eager to improve on anything we can. We hope to see you again soon! Erin James. Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

He estado en otros hostales aquí en Brighton y la verdad que Home Brighton ha sido el mejor, el staff es bien buena onda y estan disponibles todo el tiempo para ayudarte en cualquier cosa (por ejemplo me recomendaron excelentes lugares para comer rico y barato, ayer necesitaba un adaptador para mi celular y solamente pregunté en recepción y la...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erick R
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Erick! Thanks for your fabulous review, it's always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and I'm glad you found our staff so accommodating and our prices fair. Come stay any time, All the best, Erin James. Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Let me start by saying I read some of the reviews on this page and was rather dubious about what I was letting myself in for but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. This is after all a hostel and not a 5 star hotel and I feel that some people leaving negative comments are used to more 'luxurious'...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan D
Homebackpacker, Shift Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thanks for leaving such a lovely review! We always try to make our guests feel at home and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come and stay again soon! Best, Claudia

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Turned up to stay at Journeys to find it has closed now and new management have taken over. Wow what a breath of fresh air. its called Home Brighton and they have made loads of changes already from what it was like before. There is new door locks with swipe cards for entry it made it feel really safe. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matbrown991
Management response:

Hi Mat, Thanks for your review. Indeed Journeys has closed and been replaced with Home brighton. We are dedicated to making sure the traveler has a good experience and working with a team to improve the hostel. It has a 200 meg fibre internet line and new swipe card door locks through out to improve security . We only accept...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,346 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 24 in Brighton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reception hours: Sun - Wed 8am - 2am Thu Fri Sat 24hrs Guests have 24-hour access to their rooms during their stay. We provide stylish backpacker’s accommodation that is centrally located just a short walk from Brighton Bus/Train Stations on the site of the old Richmond Pub which stood for over 150 years, and Pressure Point club, which was well known for hosting bands such as Radiohead, and DJs such as Carl Cox. Our vibrant social area is ideal for meeting like-minded travellers as we only accept genuine backpackers. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and comfy sofas. Brighton is exciting and vibrant with lots to offer, the beach, Royal Pavilion, North Laines for shopping and the famous Brighton Pier all within walking distance. Also nearby there are a variety of bars and nightclubs, which our staff will be happy to recommend. Skydiving, bungee jumping, beach volleyball, Scuba diving, surfing and sea fishing trips are also readily available. Our dorm beds each come with their own power socket and linen included. We also have lockers and towels available for hire. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double rooms have a large, comfy double bed. Free high speed 200 meg WiFi is provided throughout the whole building Homebackpackers is the only British hostel group to offer free pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: A variety of cereals. Unlimited toast and jams, honey, Nutella Orange juice Pancakes Tea and coffee We only accept bona fide backpackers at Brighton and London Home Backpackers Home Brighton Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms between 2pm and 11pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home Backpackers however; we do require that a valid photo identification is presented upon check in, Passport, I.D. card or driving license along with a credit or debit card in the same name. We will require a cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, driver's licenses, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys and towels back to reception. Late checkout or lost items are subject to charges. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests’ aged between 18 and 35 years. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old traveling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Brighton

Address: 33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 1,047 - ₹ 5,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Brighton 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Home Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Brighton staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Belgium
2 months ago
Ross-on-wye, United Kingdom
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Home Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“double ensuite room”
 of 5 bubbles andysS1464WW, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lifts, ensuite room on 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles lara996, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 2nd floor has lovely big windows.. The double rooms which I stayed in previously are nothing short of 5 star hotel standard.”
 of 5 bubbles erie12017, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“double ensuite has a massive tv and nice shower room,”
 of 5 bubbles matbrown991, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good location, easy access to train station, restaurant and bar”
 of 5 bubbles jv20162016, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5