We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Courtlands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Courtlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 449: English reviews
Start your review of The Courtlands Hotel
 Click to rate
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in Hove to see friends and to enjoy the great restaurants and bars in Hove. This hotel was great in terms of location with nearby brassieres and bars within a 5-10 minute walk. If you book direct car parking is included otherwise a £10 per day charge is applied. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryfenn
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn you felt let down by the breakfast but hope this did mar what looked to be an enjoyable stay overall. As you say, the Courtlands is well located and benefits from a spacious private car park The building has great age and such history; important works are going on busily behind the scenes [such as...

Gt Yarmouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 nights for the Brighton Marathon and we were really disappointed ... The room was fairly clean but very shabby with an uncomfortable bed,rotten window frames, mold in the bathroom and a filthy pull on bathroom light that I wouldn't touch. The bathroom fittings once were gold but now are tarnished and the shower head was clogged and water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare O
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

To be sure, the Marathon is one of the highlights of the year with the Courtlands relishing the opportunity it can play in this City wide event Our Marathon rates are market driven and as we have said many times before, we believe it is about the right guest choosing the right hotel to meet their particular needs; as such...

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely room looking out over the Drive, Free parking when booked direct with the Hotel. Location is excellent and the bus service from thye stops 200 300 meteres away in both directs is frequent. I stay room only and I am out and about most of the day never use the car again until I leave so the Courtlands suits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review and for visiting us from lovely Devon. There can be no higher honour for an hotelier than that of a returning guest and especially one as loyal as you, so we are very grateful Needless to say Nik and his team are looking forward to your next visit and meanwhile, renewed thanks for...

Dorset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfriendly, unhelpful owners and dirty rooms. Centrally-ish located and a huge empty car park for the other people who wouldn't think twice about staying here. Cue response from owner how wrong I am, despite the other reviews of how bad this place is... I wasn't ill from here, at least!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lordjimbob
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This review dates back months and as such we have no idea what this so called guest is talking about or whether they even stayed. With no substantive details of the room and suchlike we are at a complete loss Rightly our loyal guests have viewed this as no more than writing for the file. Of course we would encourage...

Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Working in Hove for the week and needed a hotel with a car park. If you know anything about the area you will know it is very very hard to find a hotel which offers parking. The criteria for the hotel search this week were "does it have a car park?" This was the only hotel with one and based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a super review, one of the best and so detailed. Needless to say we are very much hoping you will be able to visit the City again before too long, either for business or pleasure but either way, please book direct. Apart from securing you a great rate, as you rightly say the car park will be complimentary We...

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

A shabby hotel offering low quality food. Well positioned on The Drive close to the seafront but lacking in atmosphere, not a place at which I would want to stay too long. Bump into the owner and it becomes a Fawlty Towers experience

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve E
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

With no substantive details of when this individual may have stayed, even a room number, we are at a complete loss. Chef Gregory is rightly up in arms about what appears to be some throw away remark - did this guest even eat at the hotel? Also, we have no idea about what they are talking about in terms of...

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Unfortunately nearing mid-night our car broke down after leaving Newhaven, our breakdown company sourced this hotel. While I dealt with the recovery truck my wife booked us in, the night porter gave me our room number and I went to join my wife who I found wandering the corridors looking for our room, by this time it was 1.30am, we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank max s
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Apart from the important fact that this alleged reservation was in early 2016 [so why the delay if this guest felt as strongly as they are now suggesting] we have no idea what they are talking abut - example our car park is in the best of order From our reading of the situation these so called guests suffered a...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We usually pick 4 or 5 star hotels but this was close to where the kids have just moved and so we went with this one. We were not disappointed. We went with the executive room which had a large comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with jacuzzi. The room had large windows which opened (always a plus !) The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustPosh
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - an early Christmas present to be sure! As you rightly say the Courtlands is a traditional seaside type hotel sitting contentedly along The Drive. We were so glad your stay hit all the right notes. With your family now in the area, hopefully we can see you again as you were delightful...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed here one night with my partner in December. Very quiet hotel, was out of season. You have to pay £10 extra if you want to use the car park. Although the web site quotes 'free WiFi and parking'. Never mind! Anyway the Wifi worked and was fast enough. Room was a bit tired, bed hard and shower an antique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl O
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

In thanking you for this review, the hotel website makes it clear we hope that parking is free for those patrons booking direct. As you came to us through a well known online travel agent, a charge is payable Overall we were glad you felt the hotel offered value for money and hopefully we can see you back in the...

london
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I did not like this hotel I'm afraid. Stayed there because of location but did not like it as very old and tired. Shame as was a lovely building and probably lovely in its day. Breakfast was poor no fresh fruit and scrambled eggs seemed like they were made from powdered egg or something - strange texture. Child on reception!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank randombirdpr
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly this guest made a conscious decision to chose the Courtlands [though no substantive details are provided] and as an experienced TripAdvisor contributor would have been well aware of previous reviews. As such this review constitutes no more than writing for the file We find the remarks about a "child on reception" to be unsettling as even if this were...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 km away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
443 reviews
0.5 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
541 reviews
1.2 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
316 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 5,311 - ₹ 20,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms not facing the street have pigeons waking you up”
terryfenn, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book direct and ahead and ask for executive room.”
gordonb190, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If after my revue you decide to try this hotel, ask to see the room before committing.”
maxs766, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you view room first and also accessibility. Despite lifts, many rooms involve stairs.”
mbrycestafford, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
959sarahg, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5