We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Palace Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Palace Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here in September 2016, the location was perfect just a few minutes walk from the beach. There were 3 of us and although the bathroom was very small it was fine. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was next door but very tasty and staff very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doreen F
Reviewed 19 September 2016

While the Bed is Ok. The rest of it is horrid. The bathroom is tiny and the shower area is even smaller, can barely move in it. the room has feels dated. my room door looks like it has been forced a few times. While the there is tea and coffe facilites in my room i would not use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matan D
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Matan we have done all we could to make your stay better but we couldn't, you told us you came for the conference so you had the have breakfast early we even made it early for you to make you happy but no, you weren't happy since the beginning. My staff were everywhere, we do check ins and check...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently for my birthday but had to leave after one night due to no running cold water and dangerous electrics. Tried to complain but manager became verbally aggressive. Terrible place and very over priced

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

hi there, your tap was broken which was working before as we use them for cleaning, that was the reason cold water wasn't coming from your tap. but shower was working. i have told you politely with smiling, if you were going out i was going to have a look what was wrong with it and fix it. But you...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Triple room was good value with a small en-suite gave us what we needed for the night. Great location to the beach, pier, Kemp Town and the Lanes. Breakfast is actually at the hotel next door, which only has a small room and is only available between 8.45 and 9.45am. We had to wait outside for about 15 minutes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lachkeira
switzerland
Reviewed 17 August 2016

we loved this place! we were 3 girlfriends on a 3day w-end and wanted to be close to the sea and town. ideal situation here, with several restaurants, attractions, hop on bus and the beach all within minutes. the hotel is an old town house, so obviously not modern - the age is starting to show, but the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serena99
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We stayed here during Pride weekend so I fully appreciate that prices are raised. however £200 B&B a night was too much! The double room (top floor, no lift) was small and the shower tiny, though hot water was plentiful. We had to go next door for a breakfast which was not very exciting. The coffee and tea especially were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iwan t
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice and polite staff. Rooms clean and tidy and very close to water front. Only thing to point is that they should have the WiFi password somewhere by the door or on the rooms because if you get to the hotel quite late no one will be around. Apart from that, lovely

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ECastroC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This place is by no means the Ritz. I booked in here mainly for the price. I was greeted first by Lauwra (not sure the spelling, sorry) very pleasant and courteous, helped me with my luggage and explained breakfast arrangements. The room was very small and basic, but fine for my needs. The view from the window is a courtyard,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 11ses
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 30th-31st with my younger sister and brother in the triple room. It was fantastic value for the money with sea view and I was pleasantly surprised to have a double bed and two singles. Very comfy beds! Small bathroom and shower but perfect for a short stay! Very friendly and kept our case before check...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cs10dpage1
Hampshire
Reviewed 25 April 2016

my two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy.The property is dated but we could not fault the staff,Noemi, Borja, Bayse,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!Breakfast was scrummy too.Ideal location.Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank southamptonsunshine

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 97 in Brighton
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 97 in Brighton
135 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.0 km away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#54 of 97 in Brighton
147 reviews
0.3 km away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#47 of 97 in Brighton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 4,897 - ₹ 10,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Palace Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just do not book here”
, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2 triples, one on ground floor but probably more noisy!”
serena99, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift so if you have trouble with stairs ask for the ground floor when booking.”
216iwant, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on fourth floor facing front. Sideways view of ocean and ferris wheel. Bay window. very small bathroom.”
Fornowsky, 25 May 2015 | Read review
“Narrow staircase made it difficult to carry bulky luggage, however, the host helped us. Sash windows rattled at night.”
tracieo129, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5