We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Swanage

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Swanage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Swanage
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay frequently at this hostel with my son (8). Very friendly with great facilities for adults and kids. Always make friends and the lounges allow kids and teens to play whilst the adults can relax quietly elsewhere. They are slowly doing up the hostel. It could do with small pieces of furniture in each room as found in other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and as always it was great to welcome you both back. It is also good to see recognition for all the hard word everyone is putting in to improve standards. I am also pleased to inform you that YHA are investing in YHA Swanage and we are scheduled for a major refurbishment this...

UK
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Being an old house, the hostel is spacious. Going out of season, just before Easter, it seemed almost empty so had excellent lounge, cooking, showering and sleeping facilities. I had one evening meal there, which was very good. It is up a bit of a steep hill so you need to be fit, if walking. There is plenty of parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank active_traveller_UK
About Property's Favourite Review
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, which was a pleasure to read. YHA Swanage is a beautiful Victorian house & the oak panelling in the lounge give it a sense of grandeur. It is as you mentioned a fantastic location for walking this end of the South West coastal path and exploring the chocolate box villages, like Corfe Castle. Sorry that...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed yesterday for my annual visit with my son. As always, a friendly check in and nice clean room. Evening meal was good and well priced. Breakfast also good. My only complaint with here, which is the same every time I stay, is the noise from the doors opening and closing - they seem to be designed to slam shut...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sen862017
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and it was great welcoming you back to YHA Swanage. We apologise for the doors, we have a look adjust the door closures so that they close slower. However they will probably all be changed during our refurbishment that is scheduled to take place this winter & look forward to welcoming hostel next spring.

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having booked my room a month in advance i turned up on Saturday night(may 6)only to be told i had booked a wrong room,despite having my email confirmation with me there was no room for me they had a month to advise me of my booking error leaving me 120 miles from home and nowhere to stay at 8.30 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken47500
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologised at check-in, however ultimately you did book a female dorm bed, which was allocated as per your booking & that it was only on arrival that we discovered you were male. I am sorry that we did not realise that it was a male name when allocating your booking, but we often get...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the YHA in Swanage after a glorious weekend in Wareham for our friends wedding. We were in a delicate place emotionally but that's where you guys stepped in with your accommodating nature, comfortable dorms and grand sized shared areas which we made full use of. Needless to say, the three of us lads felt right at home. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshooaah
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

I am really pleased that you all had a fantastic stay and enjoyable weekend with us. The Kashuae king made the staff laugh, and his antic will be remembered by Toni for forever. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you all back, but this time we expect you all to be wearing your kashuae jumpers. We will also...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this YHA as four of us were walking the Coastal Path and we wanted somewhere cheap to stay. Before our trip the manager phoned me to say that 80 teenagers were staying at the same time and it may impact upon our experience. I agreed that it might but decided to go ahead with the reservation. The upshot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaiters
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write us a review. I am very pleased to read that you all had an enjoyable stay. I will pass on your compliments to all at tomorrows team brief. I hope you all also enjoyed walking this section of the SW coastal path. The walk from Studland to Chapmans pool and back...

Wigan
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I recently visited Swanage for a two night break with my husband and son. We wanted a fairly inexpensive place to stay but one which was central to Swanage so that we could park the car and walk. We were able to book a family room which had 6 bunks even though there were only 3 of us. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiganAlison
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay and quality of our the service we provided, its always very much appreciated. I hope that being on the top floor with your disability did not pose to many problems but the fine views across the bay are a joy to wake up to. We very much look...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

An excellent location for all your field work needs. Excellent breakfast to start the day, packed lunches were just what we needed and a great evening meal to round things off. Accommodation is very comfortable and clean. Classrooms are also available to seat up to 50. There is also nice living spaces for a relax and wind down. I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cla1re9
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is very pleasing when guests return after first experiencing YHA as a student. Especially when they then bring student who themselves have probably experienced YHA for their first time. Sorry about the floorboards but hopefully this will be addressed during some refurbishment work next winter.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The Swanage YHA provided an excellent venue for our purpose, the food was plentiful, the accommodation clean and comfortable. Whilst our party was a little noisy at times, this didn't cause undue issue and we made use of the class room facilities in order to cause as little upset as possible to other residents. I would recommend this to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ben1bath
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review & your reccommendation. It's great to read that you all had a great time and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We had room 16 which had amazing views of the sea to wake up to! Had evening food and breakfast all of which was lovely and we'll priced. Relaxed in the lounge and children loved the games room. Hope to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah R
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Great to see you all had an amazing time and enjoyed the stunning views across Swanage Bay, as well as our new menus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
901 reviews
1.7 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 48 in Swanage
228 reviews
1.5 km away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
607 reviews
0.8 km away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This large, sea facing, Victorian villa is situated 5 minutes walking distance from the blue flag awarded beach of Swanage. Our hilltop location gives the front facing room's spectacular panoramic views of Swanage town and bay. Swanage town often holds music festivals, Art weeks and the Swanage Carnival every year. The town is a classic British sea side resort, and the gateway to the Jurassic coast, a world heritage site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Swanage

Address: 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: ₹ 1,616 - ₹ 6,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Swanage Isle Of Purbeck
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Swanage staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Dover, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Swanage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid this flea pit at all costs”
ken47500, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“there is only a single plug socket in every room - bring an extension lead for multiplugs”
cla1re9, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea views at the front!”
bobbitybobbob, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A little difficult to choose a room with a view - but I travelled at a busy period. Views are at the front.”
SilentPartner777, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are sea view rooms but you need to ask for one.”
Rosie401, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates